OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Idea To Replace 6000 Touchscreen
guylhem
post Nov 15 2005, 12:34 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



Hello

IIRc someone here broke his touchscreen
Please read http://www.depega.net/Lab05_SL6000.htm

I don't have a e800 nearby to confirm, but it looks very close. You simply need a 4" touchscreen, and a e800 or a hp4700 one may work. Moreover, since these pocket- pcs are common, it should be cheaper.

I'd suggest a x50v even if it's only a 3.7" screen : http://www.gethightech.com/Merchant2/merch...tegory_Code=DIG

Ideally, you need a 4" touch panel alone, but I don't know which PDAs have one.

If you manage to get one, please tell me - I'd be happy to purchase a spare one.

Guylhem
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Dec 6 2005, 01:24 PM
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(guylhem @ Nov 15 2005, 09:34 PM)
IIRc someone here broke his touchscreen
Please read http://www.depega.net/Lab05_SL6000.htm
I'd suggest a x50v even if it's only a 3.7" screen : http://www.gethightech.com/Merchant2/merch...tegory_Code=DIG


would this make a better donor for implanting a big screen into a 3100?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
seed
post Dec 6 2005, 10:25 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 88
Joined: 8-January 05
Member No.: 6,156



hummm i try the link but the page seem to be in japanese and my windows seem not to suppport it and most impotant i dont speak japanese
but i have some question
i have done sone research and as far as i know the touch is not seperable from the the screen i saw on some site that i have to change the all screen even if only the touch panel is broken
i know that some pda (sony clie...) have a screen where the part are separable ...
am i correct ? or is it possible to only change the touch screen... do sharp sell spare screen ?
thank
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TRIsoft
post Dec 7 2005, 01:09 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 332
Joined: 6-June 04
From: Hannover, Germany
Member No.: 3,587



Seed,
QUOTE(seed @ Dec 7 2005, 07:25 AM)
... or is it possible to only change the touch screen... do sharp sell spare screen ?
*

SHARP sells the complete "display unit". This is the combination of
backlight, LCD and touchpanel.
It is possible to get the SL-6000 display unit via the spare parts
service. The part # is : VVLS040V7DD01
The price is about 280,-- EUR + VAT.

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
neuroshock
post Dec 7 2005, 04:39 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 269
Joined: 12-September 04
From: North Carolina, USA
Member No.: 4,562



QUOTE(TRIsoft @ Dec 7 2005, 09:09 AM)
Seed,
QUOTE(seed @ Dec 7 2005, 07:25 AM)
... or is it possible to only change the touch screen... do sharp sell spare screen ?
*

SHARP sells the complete "display unit". This is the combination of
backlight, LCD and touchpanel.
It is possible to get the SL-6000 display unit via the spare parts
service. The part # is : VVLS040V7DD01
The price is about 280,-- EUR + VAT.

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
*




That roughly comes out to $327 usd just in case anyone was wondering. Plus whatever amount the VAT adds up to.

-NeuroShock
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Dec 7 2005, 05:22 AM
Post #6





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(TRIsoft @ Dec 7 2005, 10:09 AM)
SHARP sells the complete "display unit". This is the combination of backlight, LCD and touchpanel. It is possible to get the SL-6000 display unit via the spare parts service. The part # is : VVLS040V7DD01
The price is about 280,-- EUR + VAT.
///TRIsoft - Marc


Whilst this might sound expensive, if you're implanting this into a c3000/3100/1000, then you'll end up with the original screen spare, which is definitely worth *something* as a spare.

Marc, how often do people need screen repairs on their Zauruses, and would you be willing to do a part-ex from a 3100 screen to a 6000 screen, assuming it was in perfect condition and fully working?

(that is to say, I am looking for find a way to make the 3100 upgrade cheaper).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TRIsoft
post Dec 7 2005, 07:19 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 332
Joined: 6-June 04
From: Hannover, Germany
Member No.: 3,587



Speculatrix,
QUOTE(speculatrix @ Dec 7 2005, 02:22 PM)
Marc, how often do people need screen repairs on their Zauruses, and would you be willing to do a part-ex from a 3100 screen to a 6000 screen, assuming it was in perfect condition and fully working?

it's not easy to answer. It looks like last year there were 8-10 weeks
where people tried to sit on their Zauris or threw it out of windows etc.
So we had about a dozen display replacements in 2004.

This year we had one time an SL-6000 and one C-Series Zaurus with
cracked displays. It seems that putting them into cases really helps laugh.gif

Also we can't mount a display unit from another model because we will
definitely run into EMV trouble here.

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Dec 7 2005, 12:02 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Dec 7 2005, 01:22 PM)
QUOTE(TRIsoft @ Dec 7 2005, 10:09 AM)
SHARP sells the complete "display unit". This is the combination of backlight, LCD and touchpanel. It is possible to get the SL-6000 display unit via the spare parts service. The part # is : VVLS040V7DD01
The price is about 280,-- EUR + VAT.
///TRIsoft - Marc


Whilst this might sound expensive, if you're implanting this into a c3000/3100/1000, then you'll end up with the original screen spare, which is definitely worth *something* as a spare.

Marc, how often do people need screen repairs on their Zauruses, and would you be willing to do a part-ex from a 3100 screen to a 6000 screen, assuming it was in perfect condition and fully working?

(that is to say, I am looking for find a way to make the 3100 upgrade cheaper).
*


more potential upgrades???? aieeeee.... I might endup with a $1000 zaurus.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Dec 8 2005, 01:52 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



Regarding LCD/touchscreen being not separable - there's nothing a knife can't do :-)

I have a 6000 screen waiting to be transplanted into a clamshell (waiting for the clamshell part !)

Guylhem
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th December 2014 - 01:34 PM