OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Stopping My Z Jumping Into Kanji Mode, Death to the red blocks!
rob_figlabs
post May 24 2005, 02:08 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 92
Joined: 20-May 05
From: London, UK
Member No.: 7,168



Has anyone managed to _completely_ prevent their Z from jumping into Kanji mode at various points. I have tried with and without the kanji applet installed, but I still have to manually switch back to western mode (using the kanji applet or the key next to the minus sign) to avoid red blocks appearing when I type. It seems some of the Qt applications have been altered so that certain fields, e.g. writing an email, naming a network connection, etc trigger it into Kanji mode.

I decided to leave the Kanji applet installed because at least I get some visual feedback when it's about to go red-block-tastic on me, but it's annoying and I'd rather get rid of it completely.

Cheers

Rob
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stubear
post May 24 2005, 04:25 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 17-December 03
From: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Member No.: 1,219



Most of the Sharp PIM apps are hard coded to change you to Kanji input mode when text fields are entered. The only way to stop this that I'm aware of is to stop using that app wink.gif

I see in a previous post that you are having trouble with sorting in the Sharp addressbook - have you tried Ko/Pi and Ka/Pi they will solve both of these problems

Stu
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rob_figlabs
post May 25 2005, 02:59 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 92
Joined: 20-May 05
From: London, UK
Member No.: 7,168



Hi,

I got some way by just deleting the kanji helper applet as the instructions on the Conics site state. At face value that step does prevent the Z from jumping to Kanji at all the hard coded fields. I'm keeping a watchful eye to see if it jumps into red block mode at any other point.

I looked at the Ko/Pi/Ka/Pi suite but it felt to me much like a large desktop app that had been squeezed onto a small device. Too many icons, menus, views etc for the screen real estate and capabilities of the device. Seems that a lot of people prefer it though, from reading the posts, so perhaps it's just me!

Cheers

Rob
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iamasmith
post May 25 2005, 05:44 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,248
Joined: 6-July 04
Member No.: 3,928



Hi, I had a lot of problems when sorting this out for Cacko3K, basically I needed to get rid of not just the applets but the CRIM libraries before this problem went away entirely.

Here's more (speculative) info, based upon my own conclusions.

Certain applications will use certain fonts and I believe that fonts are being requested by characteristic... if Qtopia has a font with those characteristics active then it will use that font in preference to loading another font.

One particular Mojibake issue (this is the term for the blocks) is when you enter the Network applet. Type in the name of a WLAN connection and it will appear in Mojibake go to the second page and the input fields are not effected. Return to the first page and the Mojibake issue is gone. Completely remove the Kanji stuff including libCRIM* and the problem goes away entirely.

- Andy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 2nd October 2014 - 08:29 AM