OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Package Manager Freezes Oz 3.5.4
sconfrms
post Apr 4 2006, 01:59 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 4-April 06
Member No.: 9,532



The Package Manager in OZ 3.5.4 will freeze everytime you attempt to install all of the 'ssh' packages (set a filter for all packages with 'ssh' in the name). This is regardless of whether dropbear has been removed or not.

The result is a hung Zaurus that needs to be rebooted.

This is on the SL-5500, or collie.

--
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Apr 5 2006, 04:14 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Try installing it from the command line using 'ipkg install'

I wonder if you've run out of space, where are you trying to install it and how much space do you have left?

Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sconfrms
post Apr 5 2006, 10:05 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 4-April 06
Member No.: 9,532



I am installing the SSH packages to SD. This is on a fresh installation of OZ 3.5.4, and it never fails to hang every time... I know it works with ipkg because I have to complete the installation using it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
EzerchE
post Apr 5 2006, 01:16 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 5-February 06
Member No.: 9,077



QUOTE(sconfrms @ Apr 4 2006, 01:59 PM)
The Package Manager in OZ 3.5.4 will freeze everytime you attempt to install all of the 'ssh' packages (set a filter for all packages with 'ssh' in the name).  This is regardless of whether dropbear has been removed or not.

The result is a hung Zaurus that needs to be rebooted.

This is on the SL-5500, or collie.

--
*


i have sl-5600 , its freezes everytime too. And i cant install packages, it gives Error linkling when installing to the home...

and now its freezed again when i enter to the macromedia.com with kde sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
x86Daddy
post Apr 21 2006, 09:52 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 27-January 04
From: Memphis
Member No.: 1,558



I'm using altboot to SD on my 5500, and when I try to install opie-today-weatherplugin it goes boom in a similar manner.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Apr 23 2006, 06:51 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



As you're using ssh, can you post the output of the ipkg install command?

Try running it using the -V flag so that it gives us more info.

Cheers,


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DaveRowntree
post May 2 2006, 05:49 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 2-May 06
Member No.: 9,748



I'm seeing this problem too, but with pretty much any package. I have a sl5500, with a kingston 1Gig SD card (which I have formatted to ext2 and moved /home and /opt to to make space for apps)
I'm running the 64/0 collie kernel, with OZ3.5.4/OPIE. I setup USBNET on my linux box, and the package manager can happily update its' lists. I select a bunch of random apps - say download - it does stuff for a while, then will randomly freeze.

When this happens it needs a soft reboot to get out - very annoying.

I've also tried installing local apps from a CF card, with the same lockups.

I'm pretty much going to give up on the release, unless someone can please offer a solution? Hardware bug (dodgy SD card)? Dodgy kernel? Dodgy package manager (is it the same as aqpg?)

Any ideas?

Dave.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DaveRowntree
post May 3 2006, 03:01 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 2-May 06
Member No.: 9,748



All,
I scanned through a few threads, and tried changing my installation server from NL to Germany, uninstalled package-manager, and installed the old opie-aqpkg and I've had no lockups since (and boy did I try to get it to lock!)

One gripe tho - ipkg froze when uninstalling packge-manager, so I had to interrupt it (after 30 minutes) and just hoped it would be OK :-/

Looks like it's all OK for me for now .... now, what shall I break next :-?

Ta,

Dave.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gepeto
post May 9 2006, 03:14 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 23-May 05
Member No.: 7,193



QUOTE(DaveRowntree @ May 2 2006, 08:49 AM)
I'm seeing this problem too, but with pretty much any package.  I have a sl5500, with a kingston 1Gig SD card (which I have formatted to ext2 and moved /home and /opt to to make space for apps)
*


I had similar problems, then found out after much playing around, my SD's fs was corrupted. I unmounted it, fscked it, fixed all the errors, remounted it, and ipkg has been working fine so far !
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd July 2014 - 09:49 PM