OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Uh-oh, Wiped My /dev/mtdblock1 Device, ..woohoo! fixed!
speculatrix
post May 8 2007, 02:13 AM
Post #1





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



I installed Angstrom spitz on my 3100 (which uses the microdrive for most things) and wanted to make use of unused flash and I think I'd committed a massive cockup!

I accidentally formatted /dev/mtdblock1, which I think is the emergency recovery partition.

My Z is alive, running Angstrom OK, so I can put the data back into the partitions. I'm going to keep it powered up on charge so it won't try and reboot!

Can anyone confirm which partitions are which - mtdblock0 to 3, and perhaps let me have the data that should go into the critical ones!

thanks in desperation
sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
koen
post May 8 2007, 02:41 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,014
Joined: 4-January 05
From: Enschede, The Netherlands
Member No.: 6,107



QUOTE(speculatrix @ May 8 2007, 10:13 AM)
I installed Angstrom spitz on my 3100 (which uses the microdrive for most things) and wanted to make use of unused flash and I think I'd committed a massive cockup!

I accidentally formatted /dev/mtdblock1, which I think is the emergency recovery partition.

My Z is alive, running Angstrom OK, so I can put the data back into the partitions. I'm going to keep it powered up on charge so it won't try and reboot!

Can anyone confirm which partitions are which - mtdblock0 to 3, and perhaps let me have the data that should go into the critical ones!

thanks in desperation
sad.gif
*


In case anyone is wondering how to get that to speculatrix:

CODE
dd if=/dev/mtdblock1 of=outfile; gzip outfile


and put outfile.gz online somewhere
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post May 8 2007, 03:44 AM
Post #3





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(koen @ May 8 2007, 11:41 AM)
In case anyone is wondering how to get that to speculatrix:

CODE
dd if=/dev/mtdblock1 of=outfile; gzip outfile


and put outfile.gz online somewhere
*


nice one, thanks.

BTW, on the 3100, which mtdblock partitions are which? I've googled around and there's no one definitive place... where is the power-on-self-test stuff and maybe the D+M menu and OK menu stuff? Didn't some older Zauruses have some NOR memory where the Arm CPU starts up?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post May 8 2007, 03:52 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



Does it matter if I have pdaXrom with uBoot? If it's OK, I'll post it ASAP.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post May 8 2007, 03:59 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



Here it is. No idea if it will help, but hey.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  mtdblock.tar.gz ( 5.69MB ) Number of downloads: 7
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post May 8 2007, 05:50 AM
Post #6





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ May 8 2007, 12:59 PM)
Here it is. No idea if it will help, but hey.
*


thanks for that... I'll grab a copy... whatever happens I'd rather put that on my Z than leave it as it is, at least if it resets there'll be something there, I'm panicky that something will crash and my Z will be totally bricked.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post May 8 2007, 06:11 AM
Post #7





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



ah yes, your mtdblock1 file is u-boot...
CODE
strings /home/paulm/download/zaurus/mtdblock1.pdax | more
@ #!
@c P
TSIL
0a0,0
0b0,
0n0
@ c!
!1C "
U-Boot 1.1.4 (Sep 15 2006 - 11:38:19)
nand
e03f<ij??ji<f30ef30e?ji<<ij?e03f


I'll put it there anyway... scary!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post May 8 2007, 07:44 AM
Post #8





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



CODE
root@c3100:/media/card/zaurus/rescue$ wc -c /dev/mtdblock1
7340032 /dev/mtdblock1
root@c3100:/media/card/zaurus/rescue$ ll
drwxr-xr-x    2 root     root         4096 Jun  7 15:00 ./
drwxr-xr-x    6 root     root         4096 Jun  7 14:59 ../
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root      7340032 Jun  7 15:16 mtdblock1.pdax
root@c3100:/media/card/zaurus/rescue$ cat mtdblock1.pdax > /dev/mtdblock1
root@c3100:/media/card/zaurus/rescue$ md5sum mtdblock1.pdax
da5d4d27561e0ccd8288333191440aba  mtdblock1.pdax
root@c3100:/media/card/zaurus/rescue$ md5sum /dev/mtdblock1
da5d4d27561e0ccd8288333191440aba  /dev/mtdblock1


well, this is much safer. does Angstrom install replace contents of mtdblock1? I suspect my Z is now an odd mix of pdaX boot with Angstrom runtime.

--edit--
still hoping someone with Sharp or Cacko on C3100 can supply their mtdblock1.gz file, thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post May 8 2007, 08:37 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



CODE
dd if=/dev/mtdblock1 of=outfile; gzip outfile
14336+0 records in
14336+0 records out

This is from my Sharp/Cacko C3100 (outfile.gz is inside outfile.zip)

EDIT:
I'm not sure how this will work, but I followed koen's instructions exactly, "as root" in konsole.
Looking at Capn_Fish's file with winrar, it contains
.\outfile
Mine is slightly different, as it contains
outfile

This post has been edited by Jon_J: May 8 2007, 09:07 AM
Attached File(s)
Attached File  outfile.zip ( 5.58MB ) Number of downloads: 13
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post May 8 2007, 02:39 PM
Post #10





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(Jon_J @ May 8 2007, 05:37 PM)
I'm not sure how this will work, but I followed koen's instructions exactly, "as root" in konsole.
Looking at Capn_Fish's file with winrar, it contains
.\outfile
Mine is slightly different, as it contains
outfile
*


thanks for that, I will give it a go. I might even dare try rebooting my Z then.
ph34r.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post May 10 2007, 04:29 AM
Post #11





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



uh-oh, I needed to reboot my Z and now it is totally dead... not even the charge light comes on, removed the battery and left it for a long time too. I am really scared that I have bricked it completely... feelings of panic and fear, like WTF do I do next (and nervous about making things worse).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pelrun
post May 10 2007, 04:41 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 369
Joined: 6-September 04
From: Brisbane, Australia
Member No.: 4,488



Can you get into the Fn+D+M menu? I think we were pretty certain it was in rom, so it shouldn't get toasted if the flash was wiped...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post May 10 2007, 05:25 AM
Post #13





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(pelrun @ May 10 2007, 01:41 PM)
Can you get into the Fn+D+M menu? I think we were pretty certain it was in rom, so it shouldn't get toasted if the flash was wiped...
*


YES, thank God... and thank you Trisoft for providing a convenient SYSTC310.dbk.zip file!!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post May 10 2007, 05:33 AM
Post #14





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



restoring now... oh well, bye bye Angstrom, hello Sharp ROM :-)
--edit-- Bye bye Sharp, hello OpenZaurus 3541! Now I hope to try getting TomTomGo to work on it.


BTW, I do not think the zaurus has a separate ROM.

I've googled around a lot to try and understand the 3x00 memory layout but what exists is a bit patchy.

My guess is that the CPU initialisation stuff, zaurus power-on-self and D+M menus etc are in a locked flash segment at the beginning of flash (hopefully it's hard-wired as read only), then there's the OK menu in mtdblock0, the user kernel and initrd (uboot on pda, altboot on OZ/Angstrom etc) in mtdblock1, then root in block2 and home in block3?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pelrun
post May 10 2007, 06:55 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 369
Joined: 6-September 04
From: Brisbane, Australia
Member No.: 4,488



Woo! It lives again!

QUOTE(speculatrix @ May 10 2007, 01:33 PM)
BTW, I do not think the zaurus has a separate ROM.
*

I'm looking at the 64mbit P2ROM on the schematic right now. biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th July 2014 - 07:45 PM