OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Problems Connecting 5500 To Wpa Lan, not sure where to enter password details
Zub
post Feb 2 2006, 09:43 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 21-January 06
Member No.: 8,966



I have a 5500 running OZ 3.5.3 with OPIE 1.2.0 (hentges)

I have a Symbol Spectrum wifi card and i'm trying to connect to the wireless network I am running at home (my router is a Netgear DG834G).
The network uses WPA encryption.

When I plug in the wifi card, I can see the surrounding networks ok but cannot connect to my wirless network. I am unsure which settings to select in OPIE's network configuration tool to enable me to join my wireless lan.

In the netowkr tool, the connection appears on the list as 802.11b (eth0).
IP is listed as 0.0.0.0 as DHCP has not taken effect (since i'm not on the nw yet)

When I go to configure mode I have the following settings:-

Mode: Auto
SSID: NETGEAR - yes, i know I need to change this for security reasons! smile.gif
Specify access point (checked)
Specify channel (checked)

The main problem seems to be how I can enter the network key to join the wlan, not sure where to enter this (I tried entering the key is the "encrytion" tab but not sure if this is the right screen.

Any help much appreciated,

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kellyharding
post Feb 2 2006, 06:08 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 94
Joined: 23-December 05
From: Warwickshire, UK
Member No.: 8,777



QUOTE(Zub @ Feb 2 2006, 06:43 PM)
I have a 5500 running OZ 3.5.3 with OPIE 1.2.0 (hentges)

I have a Symbol Spectrum wifi card and i'm trying to connect to the wireless network I am running at home (my router is a Netgear DG834G).
The network uses WPA encryption.

When I plug in the wifi card, I can see the surrounding networks ok but cannot connect to my wirless network. I am unsure which settings to select in OPIE's network configuration tool to enable me to join my wireless lan.

In the netowkr tool, the connection appears on the list as 802.11b (eth0).
IP is listed as 0.0.0.0 as DHCP has not taken effect (since i'm not on the nw yet)

When I go to configure mode I have the following settings:-

Mode: Auto
SSID: NETGEAR - yes, i know I need to change this for security reasons! smile.gif
Specify access point (checked)
Specify channel (checked)

The main problem seems to be how I can enter the network key to join the wlan, not sure where to enter this (I tried entering the key is the "encrytion" tab but not sure if this is the right screen.

Any help much appreciated,

Thanks
*


I've the same card (Rev F) and zaurus.

I've not managed to get it to work with WPA at all, even having use wpa_supplicant.conf entries.

I asked on #openzaurus on irc.freenode.com and was told 3.5.3 of OZ didn't support WPA in the kernel? that maybe 3.5.4 will?

I'm not sure myself of the answer, will wait I think till 3.5.4 is out of testing and switch to that and see if I can get it working.

I know the card works ok mind as I've tried it with encryption off and it works fine.

Kelly
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zub
post Feb 2 2006, 08:37 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 21-January 06
Member No.: 8,966



Hey Kelly, thanks for the info. Hopefully 3.5.4 will support it, or perhaps another rom.

I'll keep looking, if I find an answer, i'll send you a message.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hrw
post Feb 2 2006, 11:49 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,376
Joined: 11-January 04
From: Poznań, Poland
Member No.: 1,413



OZ 3.5.4 will support WPA on all Zaurus models. Older releases does not support WE18 (Wireless Extensions) so no WPA.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zub
post Feb 3 2006, 09:03 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 21-January 06
Member No.: 8,966



Thanks Hrw - I have seen 3.5.4 RC available for dowload via openzaurus.org.

Would this version support WPA? If so , would you recommend downloading version 5.4 or is it likely to be very unstable?

Thanks,
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hrw
post Feb 3 2006, 09:13 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,376
Joined: 11-January 04
From: Poznań, Poland
Member No.: 1,413



I rather suggest to go http://openzaurus.org/wordpress/2006/01/09...-release-plans/ and register in my 3.5.4-test program.

OpenZaurus 3.5.4 will be best release of all OZ versions.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zub
post Feb 3 2006, 02:27 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 21-January 06
Member No.: 8,966



ok, thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kellyharding
post Feb 3 2006, 04:01 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 94
Joined: 23-December 05
From: Warwickshire, UK
Member No.: 8,777



I may well reflash my SL-5500 next week sometime. My head is far far too groggy right now to try to flash it due to horrible cold sad.gif

Will register for the test program if I do do so obviously.

Best thing I bought was this little Zaurus, who needs a iPod when you've a Zaurus wink.gif

Kelly
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2014 - 03:11 PM