OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Pocketdebian With Xqt Or Keypeeble?
amdonati
post May 14 2005, 05:52 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 155
Joined: 14-January 04
Member No.: 1,434



ADF,
I have seen you are now using pocketdebian with keypeeble (VNC).

I am still using the Xqt solution, but I would be really interested in knowing your experience.
What are, in your opinion the pros and cons of the 2 solutions?

Is it only a matter of hving less packet installed with the VNC approach?

Thanks,
Ciao,
Adalberto
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post May 14 2005, 11:32 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



Pro

there is definietly a space saving issue smile.gif That matters to me because I'm using guylhem's rom and putting my whole qtopia setup in internal memory, and pocketworkstation on sd. It is really nice to have the whole qt rom internal like that btw.

Pros: I always had glitches in abiword on XQT.none on keypebble (a gtk thing, I think)
Keypebble is much easier to get into and out of-- set a "pw" bookmark and click click you're in. IF the pocketworkstation Vncserver is up, that is. That can be started by typing "Vncserver" in a prompt--and that could almost certainly be attached to an icon for simpilicty. with nothing up and the Vncserver icon made you'd be a max of 4 clicks out of debian. (or 4 clicks and typing a word without the icon)
XQT seems more complicated to chroot..no matter how I set it up

You can rotate on the fly in keypebble

You can resize (by changing the settings in pocketworkstation) your virtual screen and use the keypebble scroll bars to navigate. This way (I haven't tried it yet) you could do a double your virtual screen size and a scle 2 in vnc..... or disconnect vnc change scale to 1 (click) and reconnect and scroll (if you wanted)

You actually install Klaus's scripts (like debshrink) to make pocketworkstation more manageable and have the option of using his fbvnc without ever going near qtopia (and his fbnc is very snappy) ATM i am trying to get loadkeys and guylhem's tosa.map to give me useable keys in fbvnc-any help there would be appreciated.

keypebble doesn't seem as resource hungry as xqt.


Cons:

XQT will run some x stuff directly, vnc obviously won't.

Xqt is more popular, which make me wonder if I'm missing something( or if it is a leftover from the slow performance of the original vnc of the late 90's)

I don't know which is faster. It doesn't matter. If I want speed for a movie or a game, I do it in Qtopia. from keypebble, kino2 is a click away, and a click back.


Right now, I'm happier with Keypebble. dl opie-keypebble 1.0 (you will also need opie libs (they can be had from cacko, and I think the zaurus feed-- you can run wellenreiter with these libs, too) give it a shot and let me know what you think?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
amdonati
post May 14 2005, 02:34 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 155
Joined: 14-January 04
Member No.: 1,434



QUOTE(adf @ May 14 2005, 11:32 AM)
Right now, I'm happier with Keypebble.  dl opie-keypebble 1.0  (you will also need opie libs (they can be had from cacko, and I think the zaurus feed-- you can run wellenreiter with these libs, too) give it a shot and let me know what you think?
*



Thanks for the info!

Apparently I had some corruption issues on my CF and I am going to reinstall pocketdebian.

I suppose that in order to use the vnc approach I have to do things differently than for XQT (following Klaus instruction, right?)

Are VNC and XQT usable on the same chrooted env (ie, entering from one or the other) to test?

BTW I have keypeeble 1.0 and I usually install it without problems on the Sharp ROM

Adalberto
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post May 15 2005, 08:56 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(amdonati @ May 15 2005, 08:34 AM)
QUOTE(adf @ May 14 2005, 11:32 AM)
Right now, I'm happier with Keypebble.  dl opie-keypebble 1.0  (you will also need opie libs (they can be had from cacko, and I think the zaurus feed-- you can run wellenreiter with these libs, too) give it a shot and let me know what you think?
*



Thanks for the info!

Apparently I had some corruption issues on my CF and I am going to reinstall pocketdebian.

I suppose that in order to use the vnc approach I have to do things differently than for XQT (following Klaus instruction, right?)

Are VNC and XQT usable on the same chrooted env (ie, entering from one or the other) to test?

BTW I have keypeeble 1.0 and I usually install it without problems on the Sharp ROM

Adalberto
*



I got Debian installed under chroot with X/Qt but I am also able to access it via keypebble at the same time as well. In addition, I even can remotely connect to it via tightvnc from a browser. its quite neat.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
amdonati
post May 16 2005, 05:49 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 155
Joined: 14-January 04
Member No.: 1,434



Ok, Imanaged to access pocketdebian via Opie Keypeeble.
Some consideration:
1) It is noticeably way slower than XQT, especially on screen refresh and it runs at 8 bit only
2) If the CF card where I have the chrooted env is ejected and reinserted after suspend while the fbvc is running, the system tends to freeze
3) It is true that with vnc you can rotate "on the fly", ut with Xqt you can rotate before starting it and everythign would be fine (not the same but not so bad either...)
4)As pointed out in another thread, the on screen keyboard is not working (but it odes not work for me in XQT either)

I have a couple of questions too:
1) How can I change the output resolution?
2) in the vnc env. the clock in pocket debian is aligned with the one in QTOPIA, while this is not ture in XQT (it is always 2 hrs before my ETC settings, no matter if I ahve it set to UTC or ETC time), do you know how to solve this?
3) Does it make sense to delete the INSTALL.D dir after the vnc env is set up?

Thank you,

regards,
Adalberto
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post May 16 2005, 06:21 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



QUOTE(amdonati @ May 16 2005, 01:49 PM)
Ok, Imanaged to access pocketdebian via Opie Keypeeble.
Some consideration:
1) It is noticeably way slower than XQT, especially on screen refresh and it runs at 8 bit only
2) If the CF card where I have the chrooted env is ejected and reinserted after suspend while the fbvc is running, the system tends to freeze
3) It is true that with vnc you can rotate "on the fly", ut with Xqt you can rotate before starting it and everythign would be fine (not the same but not so bad either...)
4)As pointed out in another thread, the on screen keyboard is not working (but it odes not work for me in XQT either)

I have a couple of questions too:
1) How can I change the output resolution?
2) in the vnc env. the clock in pocket debian is aligned with the one in  QTOPIA, while this is not ture in XQT (it is always 2 hrs before my ETC settings, no matter if I ahve it set to UTC or ETC time), do you know how to solve this?
3) Does it make sense to delete the INSTALL.D dir after the vnc env is set up?

Thank you,

regards,
Adalberto
*



very quickly-- more as it comes to me.

I can d0 16 bit. just turn off the request 8-bit session. I wasn't sure if it was slower or did screen refresh differently. xqt was not too speedy redrawing windows either, if I recall correctly
ouput res can be changed by changing the scaling factor in keypebble and changingh the res in XF86 conf in debian.

I know nothing about the clock issue

you could remove the instll dir. I don't because I reflash a lot

Sounds like you like it less than I do.

btw it will speed uop if you turn off the encoding..I think it defaults to copyrec..uncheck that box you will see a marked improvement
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
amdonati
post May 16 2005, 07:11 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 155
Joined: 14-January 04
Member No.: 1,434



QUOTE(adf @ May 16 2005, 06:21 AM)
very quickly-- more as it comes to me.

I can d0 16 bit.  just turn off the request 8-bit session. I wasn't sure if it was slower or did screen refresh differently. xqt was not too speedy redrawing windows either, if I recall correctly
ouput res can be changed by changing the scaling factor in keypebble and changingh the res in XF86 conf in debian.

I know nothing about the clock issue

you could remove the instll dir.  I don't because I reflash a lot

Sounds like you like it less than I do.

btw it will speed uop if you turn off the encoding..I think it defaults to copyrec..uncheck that box you will see a marked improvement
*


Yes, removing the request 8bit session and the copyrec encoding improves the situation, still slower than Xqt but manageable. woudl ahve said tat encoding would have improved speed, but rethinking on tht I suppose that encoding just amkes packet smaller to send through a network, but asks more power to de-encode them.
huh.gif

My problem is now the eject of the CF card on suspend.
I have vnc starting at reboot, but when I suspend and the CF is ejectd, the session is closed, and this happens almost every time I suspend.
Is there a workaround for this?
What is the command to start the chrooted env for the VNC connection?

Adalberto
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post May 16 2005, 07:29 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



Vncserver is the command to start the chroot environment. it is a script (as you probably noticed) can be started in the qt console. takes a few seconds to load. not too bad. you could whip up startdeb.desktop that launches it from an icon, i bet

Is there a workaround for the cf/suspend/eject issue?

I have debian on a 1 gig sd, i don' run into this, and haven't had a need to fix it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
amdonati
post May 16 2005, 08:21 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 155
Joined: 14-January 04
Member No.: 1,434



QUOTE(adf @ May 16 2005, 07:29 AM)
Is there a workaround for the cf/suspend/eject issue?

I have debian on a 1 gig sd, i don' run into this, and haven't had a need to fix it.
*


Good for you! smile.gif

Let's hope then that the 2.6 kernel will arrive soon as it solves this "suspend/resume" issue!

Thanks for the info!

Adalberto
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
malik
post Jun 8 2005, 03:27 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 150
Joined: 8-December 04
Member No.: 5,839



hello,

@adf> can you answer me following questions:

i tried pocketworkstation following smuelas "howto". then i tried the vnc approach.
so i started the postinstall script, entered a password and started the Vncserver
form a terminal, which told me more or less a desktop name (x11 resp. zaurus:1)
and a port number. then i ran opie-keypebble with host name "zaurus", display "1"
and my chosen password. "could not find host" was the answer.
thanx for your help.

malik.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jaimgüino
post Jun 8 2005, 05:27 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 20-September 04
Member No.: 4,670



QUOTE(malik @ Jun 8 2005, 11:27 AM)
then i ran opie-keypebble with host name "zaurus",.... "could not find host" was the answer.


"zaurus" doesn´t work for me. Try with "localhost" as hostname.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Jun 8 2005, 10:59 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



QUOTE(Jaimgüino @ Jun 8 2005, 01:27 PM)
QUOTE(malik @ Jun 8 2005, 11:27 AM)
then i ran opie-keypebble with host name "zaurus",.... "could not find host" was the answer.


"zaurus" doesn´t work for me. Try with "localhost" as hostname.
*


yeah.. or 127.0.0.1:1 (loclahost display 1)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
malik
post Jun 9 2005, 01:58 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 150
Joined: 8-December 04
Member No.: 5,839



hello,


thanx, now it works.

@adf> above you wrote something about changing the resolution in some X
configuration files and the scaling factor. which file you modified and with which
entries? does the bothering scrollbar of keypebble disappear?

i think that on a stock rom X/Qt is the better choice for me. i reinstalled some
packages of the internal flash to my sd card to be able to install X/Qt
packages. maybe a faster kernel/rom solves the speed problems of drawing
windows...

@adf> smuelas says: dont run the postinstall script, why? X/Qt+debian works
also after running the script...

thanx
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Jun 9 2005, 07:44 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



I think the main thing with smuelas warning was that there was no 6000 support until the latest version of pocketworkstation. Afaik when he wrote his how to the fbvncserver would cause problems, seems ok now.
the keypebble scroll bar stays there, but I prefer it to the stuff that goes off screen in xqt--it also allowas higher res desktops, that can be scaled and scrolled.
There is, of course, also the pocketwokstation vnc (loded with no other gui) very very nice,Very snappy-- if your keyboard maps correctly. It did not w/ the last guylhem kernel. probably will w/ sharp, and we will have to wait and see the next guylhem version
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th December 2014 - 09:56 AM