OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Mplayer Codecs?
bkudria
post Sep 27 2005, 06:07 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 66
Joined: 29-October 04
Member No.: 5,269



I have (finally) gotten mplayer and kino2 working, but I can only seem to play vanilla mpeg files...even though I downloaded the codec pack from mplayerhq.hu (was this a good or bad idea)? When I try to play a wmv file, it complains about the codec (wmv9mod something something) What should i do?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jfs.w
post Sep 27 2005, 06:18 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 26-September 05
Member No.: 8,194



QUOTE(bkudria @ Sep 28 2005, 10:07 AM)
I have (finally) gotten mplayer and kino2 working, but I can only seem to play vanilla mpeg files...even though I downloaded the codec pack from mplayerhq.hu (was this a good or bad idea)?  When I try to play a wmv file, it complains about the codec (wmv9mod something something) What should i do?
*


i think the codecs are meant for i386 machines, but can someone confirm this?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bkudria
post Sep 28 2005, 02:24 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 66
Joined: 29-October 04
Member No.: 5,269



That was my suspicion too...but everyone else seems to be able to play movies fine, I extensively searched the forums before asking this. I would like to know where everyone else is getting their codecs!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Sep 28 2005, 04:55 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



they have always been part of mplayer afaik. never had to install a codec on my z
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Borealid
post Sep 28 2005, 06:04 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 28-August 05
Member No.: 7,967



Mplayer plays most of its files through the ffmpeg library, which is normally built with it.

WMV9, however, requires a Windows-only codec DLL. You won't be able to get that to work on your ARM processor without using qemu, bochs, or the like.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Sep 28 2005, 10:45 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



easier to transcode stuff for the z, then
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bkudria
post Sep 30 2005, 03:21 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 66
Joined: 29-October 04
Member No.: 5,269



Aha. Ok, thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th November 2014 - 04:31 PM