OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Java For Oz 3.5.2, Any hints?
stringfellow
post Dec 24 2004, 04:00 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 29-November 04
Member No.: 5,656



Hey people,
having miserably failed with msn in gaim, i decided to try a web client...
But of course... they require Java, dont they!
Wondeful.
As I'm running OZ 3.5.2 (a la Hentges), the Jeode thingy doesnt work, as i need libsl.so.1.. which is Sharp only (i think)...
Erm, i would perform this ... rip ... type operation from the sharp ROM, however...
... Well its all working and i have flashed the Z about 15 times now... its getting boring.
wink.gif

So... basically i was wondering if there are any 'easy' ways to get Java working...
I looked into Kaffe, but seem to be missing the point or something.

Being a bit of a noob at this... so dont really know what i'm doing!

Any help would be appreciated!

-Steve
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
vdkuil
post Dec 26 2004, 04:33 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 9-September 04
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 4,514



Hi,

I have installed jeode on my (standard) openzaurus rom 3.5.2. The only thing "odd" is that you have to tell the libcompat layout the evm executable needs to be "emulated".
I cannot remember installing anything else for this rom.

Maybe there is a difference in default installation between hentges and the default one?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
stringfellow
post Dec 26 2004, 04:45 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 29-November 04
Member No.: 5,656



Hrm... Howdya mean the libcompat thing?
I tried running the libraries settings jobber on the evm binary (just by typing the filepath cos it wasnt anywhere in the list) but it didnt seem to do anything.
Christmas has sorta put a hold on all this so i shall rediscover it a bit later and see if i can figure anything out... BTW, where did you get your jeode ipk from?
-Steve
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Greg2
post Dec 26 2004, 01:15 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 790
Joined: 28-October 03
From: USA
Member No.: 792



QUOTE(stringfellow @ Dec 26 2004, 07:45 AM)
Hrm... Howdya mean the libcompat thing?
I tried running the libraries settings jobber on the evm binary (just by typing the filepath cos it wasnt anywhere in the list) but it didnt seem to do anything.
Christmas has sorta put a hold on all this so i shall rediscover it a bit later and see if i can figure anything out... BTW, where did you get your jeode ipk from?
-Steve

You will find a good 'jeode-for-oz.ipk.tar.gz' here:

http://me.256k.net/zaurus/jeode/

Unzip and untar the ipk and install with –force-depends from the command line.

Click on the compat-libs icon, and from the menu select file and add:

/opt/QtPalmtop/bin/evm

Click on OK and you have java. Now you can install any java app you need.

Greg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mahoro
post Jan 16 2005, 07:28 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 133
Joined: 8-July 04
Member No.: 3,947



How can I install a file that is not w/ the extension ipk ?
I tried doing installation on that, too bad it isn't work :/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Greg2
post Jan 17 2005, 07:16 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 790
Joined: 28-October 03
From: USA
Member No.: 792



QUOTE(Mahoro @ Jan 16 2005, 10:28 PM)
How can I install a file that is not w/ the extension ipk ?
I tried doing installation on that, too bad it isn't work :/
*


You have to extract the ipk from the archive... but in this particular case you can simply rename it from 'jeode-xxx.ipk.tar.gz' to 'jeode-xxx.ipk' then install it.

Greg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mahoro
post Jan 17 2005, 09:10 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 133
Joined: 8-July 04
Member No.: 3,947



Thanks guys biggrin.gif
It works tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ksignorini
post Jan 30 2005, 11:08 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 117
Joined: 9-October 04
Member No.: 4,936



If I install Jeode from this package, are the two sample apps that come with it (the icons are already installed as part of the package) supposed to work?

Because for me, they don't.

Thanks,
Kent!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rgodinez
post Jan 30 2005, 02:49 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 30-January 05
Member No.: 6,354



QUOTE(ksignorini @ Jan 30 2005, 09:08 PM)
If I install Jeode from this package, are the two sample apps that come with it (the icons are already installed as part of the package) supposed to work?

Because for me, they don't.

Thanks,
Kent!
*


I've found Jeode works better on OZ 3.5.x not to making compatible the binary executable 'evm', but running 'makecompat' on the script itself that launches the java app. Examples:

makecompat /opt/QtPalmtop/bin/runquasar
makecompat /opt/QtPalmtoo/bin/runprimtest

Everytime I install a java app I create one script based on the examples above mentioned which come with Jeode, and run makecompat on it.
Doing so, I have happily installed many java apps, like eps (GPS positional app), zaurus-sky-explorer (astronomical chart)...

(makecompat does the same thing as the green&purple icon "Libraries")

Hope this helps,
Rafa.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Greg2
post Jan 31 2005, 06:58 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 790
Joined: 28-October 03
From: USA
Member No.: 792



QUOTE(ksignorini @ Jan 30 2005, 02:08 PM)
If I install Jeode from this package, are the two sample apps that come with it (the icons are already installed as part of the package) supposed to work?

They work for me, and I also use the zaurus-sky-explorer with the icon.

Try running them from the terminal with:

# runprimtest

If it can't find it, and you have the icons showing you must have used ipkg-link? If not try that first. If you still have problems and I'm 'guessing' you have it installed to your SD-card? Ipkg-link may have missed them because they are parts of a single ipk?

So In that case you must symlink them:

ln -s /mnt/card/opt/QtPalmtop/bin/runprimtest /opt/QtPalmtop/bin/runprimtest


and the same for runquasar

You can however use rdodinez method, but I like to use the icons when I can.

Greg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ksignorini
post Jan 31 2005, 09:50 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 117
Joined: 9-October 04
Member No.: 4,936



Thanks,

That must be it. I'll try this later tonight.

Kent!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ksignorini
post Jan 31 2005, 01:28 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 117
Joined: 9-October 04
Member No.: 4,936



Yes, it looks like I need to makecompat (I used the libraries icon) each java application.

OK.

Thanks,
Kent!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2014 - 07:28 AM