OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Predictive Text
highfell
post May 7 2004, 01:12 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 15-December 03
From: UK
Member No.: 1,185



Using the TKR (including their kernel), there is predictive text using the on screen keyboard.

I have switched to the Cacko Kernel to overcome communication issues with my sonyericsson mobile, but this predictive text feature appears to be missing.

Does anyone know if there is an IPK out there that can reintroduce this for me?

Many thanks


Nigel Bamber
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Qman
post May 25 2004, 09:04 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 29-March 04
Member No.: 2,546



Try installing the Sharp "Word Game" thats what I had to do after I upgraded from ROM 2.38 to 3.13. Do a search on Word matcher for more info. on it!



HTH
Qman....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post May 25 2004, 09:25 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



I use the Japanese software QPOBox.

It's for Japanese input, being predictive.

However it's predictive for anything, you can enter English text and it learns really fast, it monitors your writing habits, then offers the words that should be used right away, it takes into account the frequency of use of each word etc.

I think it's very good.

Later.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Qman
post May 25 2004, 11:35 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 29-March 04
Member No.: 2,546



QUOTE
I use the Japanese software QPOBox.

It's for Japanese input, being predictive.

However it's predictive for anything, you can enter English text and it learns really fast, it monitors your writing habits, then offers the words that should be used right away, it takes into account the frequency of use of each word etc.

I think it's very good.

Later.


Neat, where can you download it?



Regards,
Qman...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
alan
post May 25 2004, 11:57 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 221
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,411



Another great tool is Dasher. I don't know if it runs on a zaurus... and it is internationnal!

Gonna get this...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
alan
post May 25 2004, 12:01 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 221
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,411



infos available here :

http://www.inference.phy.cam.ac.uk/dasher/

there is a pocket pc version, so it might be usable on other pda's. Source code is availiable. Any volunteer ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
alan
post May 25 2004, 12:05 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 221
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,411



damm, i am stupid!!! you were talking about keaboard prediction... but still, any volunteer ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post May 25 2004, 03:02 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Dasher is available on the Z. I've used it.

Can't remember where it came from though - there's a dasher ipk in one of the OZ feeds, but I think I got it from someone's web site. Try a search.

Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post May 25 2004, 10:26 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



You can get QPOBox from here http://takahr.dhis.portside.net/cgi-bin/rw...iew;name=QPOBox

The site's all in Japanese, the direct link for the ipkg is http://www.asahi-net.or.jp/~cv8t-hdk/archi...x_0.4.2_arm.ipk

or an older version http://www.asahi-net.or.jp/~cv8t-hdk/archi...x_0.3.6_arm.ipk

You must also install POBoxServer from http://www.asahi-net.or.jp/~cv8t-hdk/archi..._1.25-4_arm.ipk

First install the POBOXServer then QPOBox, your Zaurus will reboot, if it doesn't reboot yourself. After a reboot you will have another input method at the lower lefthand side called QPOBox.

Just select it and go into some text entry app and start typing, when you select it a little text entry rectangle will appear at the bottom. You will have to enter first the whole word, then any time you type it again it will jump up. To see what I mean just type a couple of sentences, you'll see how fast it gets.

The way to type is start typing, below the text entry rectangle available choices will pop up, don't worry if some of them are Japanese, when you see the word you wanna type hit space as many times as you need to get to it, when it's highlighted just start typing the next word.

Later,
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
piotr
post May 25 2004, 11:22 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 69
Joined: 9-May 04
Member No.: 3,210



Does QPOBox works with pdaXrom (Xwindows)??
regards,
Piotr
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stubear
post May 26 2004, 01:26 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 17-December 03
From: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Member No.: 1,219



QUOTE
Does QPOBox works with pdaXrom (Xwindows)??
regards,
Piotr


Nope its for qtopia - you could probably port it across - but don't know how easy it would be.

Stu
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post May 26 2004, 02:20 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



So is there any Japanese input method for pdaXrom?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
alan
post May 26 2004, 11:19 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 221
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,411



QUOTE
So is there any Japanese input method for pdaXrom?
or any internationnal imput method for pdaxrom?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
henrysviper
post Aug 5 2004, 05:34 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 4-May 04
From: Athens, Greece
Member No.: 3,136



Qpobox is great, except for one little problem:
How do you add a normal space? I start typing a word, then when my desired word appears I press space to get to it and then I start typing the next word.
But then the next word appers directly after the previous one without any space in between. How do you solve this little problem?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post Aug 5 2004, 06:14 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



QUOTE
Qpobox is great, except for one little problem:
How do you add a normal space? I start typing a word, then when my desired word appears I press space to get to it and then I start typing the next word.
But then the next word appers directly after the previous one without any space in between. How do you solve this little problem?

You have to use the KeyHelper app in connection with QPOBox for this. You can get KeyHelper from http://yakty.s31.xrea.com/linuzau/keyhelper/ or if you use Cacko ROM it already has KeyHelper functionality built-in.

Then in both cases, do the following:

1. In the ~/Settings/qpobox.conf file in the [global] section, add

QUOTE
UseKeyHelper = 1


2. In the ~/Settings/keyhelper.xml file in the <mapping> section, add the following lines:

QUOTE
<define key="Space">
  <modifier Shift="On"/>
  <map key="Space"/>
  <map_modifier Shift="Off"/>
</define>


and reboot. After this, when you press Shift+Space, it'll enter a space into the text directly.

Also, you can do the following, which is great:

3. In the ~/Settings/keyhelper.conf file in the [Launch] section, add

QUOTE
F21 = @qcop  QPE/QPOBox show()


4. In the ~/Settings/keyhelper.xml file in the <extensions> section, add the following lines:

QUOTE
<define key="F21" kind="launch">
</define>


and reboot. This will then activate the original Japanese key (second to the right next to the Fn key) to be the QPOBox activator, i.e. you press it QPOBox comes up, no need to activate it via the stylus, you press the key again QPOBox goes down and so...

Later.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th April 2014 - 05:20 AM