OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Syncing Problem - Z5600 And Outlook 2003
dcbpe
post Dec 28 2004, 09:06 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 26-February 04
From: New Jersey
Member No.: 1,906



Has anyone experienced problems syncing between Outlook 2003 and their Z's?

I've never had a problem before...but overnight my corporate IT group updated Outlook to 2003, and now sync doesn't work with my SL-5600. They won't fix the problem, because it's a personal PDA and not the companies. mad.gif

Is there an update to the syncing software, perhaps?

Just in case the info comes into play somehow...I have made no ROM changes (came with 1.32), and I'm using the sync software provided by Sharp. I'm simply not computer literate enough to tinker around with the stuff I read about up here smile.gif

thanks in advance!
-DCB
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dcbpe
post Dec 29 2004, 06:16 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 26-February 04
From: New Jersey
Member No.: 1,906



blink.gif

Well, I'm shocked no one has run into this problem before...but I did fix it!

Simply reinstalled all the Z software...

-DCB
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gsja_ent
post Dec 31 2004, 06:13 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 30-December 04
Member No.: 6,066



ph34r.gif I'm new, but this is an the issues I had with Outlook 2003. My SL5000d synched fine with Outlook 2002, but not 2003. I recall reading, either in the help database or on the MS site that 2003 did not support handhelds. This seemed odd, but MS is concentrating their efforts in cell phone software, so I wasn't surprised.

Anyway, I'll try reinstalling Qtopia. I love the new Outlook interface and it would be hard to go back to 2002. Right now, I update the Z on a different machine than the one I read E-Mail on.

An aside: I have an old Pentium 200 Mhz laptop (64 MB) running 98SE.
I love this machine (Amity CN) and have used it to compile C and JAVA programs while in school and when traveling. It actually runs C-Builder 5 very well. I'm composing this message on it using a Belkin PCMCIA wireless card.

Anyway, I'm unable to get my SL5000d to synch with it (using Qtopia (SL5500 version with Outlook 2000). The USB1.1 port works with a flash drive and with other devices. Also I've installed the same Qtopia version on a Cyrix 800 Mhz desktop with Windows ME and it works fine, although it has USB2.0.

I've also tried the other synchonize program that came with the
PDA. It also will not synch. With either program, I'm unable to
make a connection between the laptop and the SL5000d.

I know that my equipment might be a little old, hope that's not the problem.

Suggestions are appreciated.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dcbpe
post Jan 3 2005, 07:43 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 26-February 04
From: New Jersey
Member No.: 1,906



gsja_ent:

After I reinstalled the software (Intellisync only) I've had no problems at all. I surmise that when my IT group updated Outlook to 2003...it's an automated update that happened company wide one night...that whatever file facilitates the connection was overwritten.

Oddly, it was connecting (the transfer window was opening on the Z screen), but nothing would happen. Regardless, reinstalling did work. I do not have Qtopia loaded on my desktop...Inever use it.

My Z is syncing with two different machines...my corporate XP machine with Outlook 2003, and my personal win98 machine with Outlook 2000. I have no problems either way. I sync with the work PC daily, and then when I go home on the weekends I update the home machine.

The problems you describe aren't problems I have had. I've noted quite a fw people on these boards having syncing problems...I couldn't explain it. I do know that when I first purchased my Z, I couldn't get it to sync...my IT group had to give me administrative rights to my desktop PC. But, that problem took about a half hour to fix, and it worked nearly flawlessly until they upgraded to 2003.

I say nearly, because I've noted that the USB connection works better in some ports than others. My old work PC had 2 open at the rear...sync worked in one and not the other. My new work PC has 1 in the rear and 2 in the front, none of them give a problem. My home PC hase 2 in the keyboard and 1 in the rear, the one in the rear is a bit iffy at times but the keyboard works fine.

My point, after all of this drivel, is that maybe you have either bad USB ports or need to change your privaledges somehow. Note hat file transfer worked in the bad USB ports, just not sync.

Hope this all helps, and welcome to the boards!

-DCB
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
vanstrien
post Jan 12 2005, 12:57 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 22-August 03
From: Houston / London
Member No.: 374



Do you sync using the USB I/O or TCP/IP?

I've never been able to get my Z to sync since we moved to 2003. Now I'm at a different company, also running 2003, and I still can't sync.

I've installed the 860 drivers (because I have an 860, of course) from the ZUG download section, and the 5600 intellisync from http://www.myzaurus.com/ROMupdate6.asp which is Intellisync 3.2e.

Any suggestions?

(UPDATE: Isn't that they way it always happens? I switched over to USB I/O and it works. However my original question still stands as I would rather leave the Z in TCP/IP mode if possible.)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dcbpe
post Jan 12 2005, 01:07 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 26-February 04
From: New Jersey
Member No.: 1,906



I use the docking station that came with the Z...I guess that's USB, right?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
vanstrien
post Jan 17 2005, 01:54 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 22-August 03
From: Houston / London
Member No.: 374



QUOTE(dcbpe @ Jan 12 2005, 09:07 PM)
I use the docking station that came with the Z...I guess that's USB, right?
*


Yeah, that is a USB connection. However I now have noticed that I am much more likely to be able to sync if I don't use TCP/IP for the connection (not the default anyway). It still fails occasionally, but works much better if I do USB direct I/O.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th December 2014 - 06:27 AM