OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> connecting my SL-6000 to a (Debian) linux box
lking
post Apr 25 2004, 09:27 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 25-April 04
Member No.: 3,000



I posted this over at the Zaurus Message Board but originally meant to ask here:

I have my new SL-6000 sitting here, plugged into my Debian linux (2.6.4 kernel, all the needed usb stuff compiled in or in as modules, I believe) home machine via USB, but I'm having no luck actually getting access to it. I've followed the several how-tos, one of which suggests that with a 2.6.* kernel this should be a piece of cake, but I seem to be missing something obvious? either that or I'm even less competent with this linux stuff than I'd previously thought. A major problem I have is that, when the Z is turned on, it is recognized by usbnet, but inevitably it somehow hangs my entire desktop machine and I have to do a hard reset.

But before that disasterous inevitability, I get the following from dmesg:

usb 2-1: new full speed USB device using address 2
usb 2-1: new device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=0
drivers/usb/core/message.c: USB device number 2 default language ID 0x409
usb 2-1: Product: SL-6000
usb 2-1: Manufacturer: Sharp
drivers/usb/core/usb.c: usb_hotplug
usb 2-1: registering 2-1:1.0 (config #1, interface 0)
drivers/usb/core/usb.c: usb_hotplug
usbnet 2-1:1.0: usb_probe_interface
usbnet 2-1:1.0: usb_probe_interface - got id
usb0: register usbnet at usb-0000:00:02.0-1, Sharp Zaurus, PXA-2xx based

and from ifconfig -a

usb0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 1A:60:19:07:1A:F0
BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 cool.gif TX bytes:0 (0.0 cool.gif

but (and here's were my fragile knowledge of this stuff will become
painfully evident) what does all this tell me? I try setting PCLink on
the Z to USB-TCP/IP, but cannot seem to telnet or ssh to
192.168.129.201 from my Debian box (I previously installed all the
openSSH stuff on my Z from my Win2000 desktop at work).

but an even more basic question: where is my Z now, once it's plugged
in and recognized? How do I mount it?

I assume these are pretty obvious points I'm missing, but I cannot
seem to piece together answers from what I've found on the web so far,
so if anyone can offer some advice on the basics I'm clearly missing,
I'd be most appreciative!
Back to top
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Apr 25 2004, 09:57 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



QUOTE
How do I mount it?


You're using usb-net not usb-storage so you don't mount it, it just becomes a network device - usb0. I note that there's no IP address apparent for this device though but I'm not sure how to go about fixing this on debian but on my Mandrake box I used the graphical config tools and it remembered.

If you were using storage then it would probably be /dev/sda (with no number).


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
naanu
post Apr 30 2004, 06:25 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,412



What happens when you do
'ifconfig usb0 up'?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tumnus
post Apr 30 2004, 06:37 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,176
Joined: 3-October 03
From: UK
Member No.: 547



With regards to the desktop hangs, kernel 2.6.x is still notoriously buggy when it comes to inserting and removing USB devices. Kernels 2.4.21 and later have the same usbnet module and is quite sound in the USB department.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cvmiller
post Apr 30 2004, 08:04 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 242
Joined: 31-March 04
Member No.: 2,592



Probably not the answer you are looking for, but I use the internal WLAN on my SL-6000. Then the SL-6000 just becomes another machine on my house network, I can access it from any of the Linux (Mandrake or YDL) or MacOS (8, 9, X) machines.

I hope this helps,

Craig...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lking
post May 2 2004, 07:21 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 25-April 04
Member No.: 3,000



thanks everyone -- very helpful: used ifconfig and route and now I have it connected and can ssh and scp to it (still freezes my entire system periodically, but after all the work I cannot bring myself to go back to the 2.4.x kernel, although that may change very shortly; stubborn fool, I am.) Thanks again.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
usagi
post May 9 2004, 03:23 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 9-May 04
Member No.: 3,203



QUOTE
thanks everyone -- very helpful: used ifconfig and route and now I have it connected and can ssh and scp to it (still freezes my entire system periodically, but after all the work I cannot bring myself to go back to the 2.4.x kernel, although that may change very shortly; stubborn fool, I am.) Thanks again.


Hi i am also trying to connect to my 6000 via USB I did the if config and the route, but the zaurus didn't accept ssh or anything else.

did you have to do anything else to get it working?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lking
post May 9 2004, 04:45 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 25-April 04
Member No.: 3,000



[quote]Hi i am also trying to connect to my 6000 via USB I did the if config and the route, but the zaurus didn't accept ssh or anything else. did you have to do anything else to get it working?[/quote]

I did set up a password for root user on the Zaurus itself.[/quote]
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Teletubbie
post May 9 2004, 05:15 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 252
Joined: 25-April 04
Member No.: 3,006



I dont have a root password, but the Zaurus (5500 with OZ 3.2) is accepted. I had to deal with ./ssh/known_hosts file. You can try to comment out the rsa key for the zaurus ip, if exist. Then you are able to accept the new rsa key, that you receive from the zaurus. The case that you have a not valid rsa key in your known_hosts file may occur for example, when you get a new Zaurus connected or flash a new rom on your Zaurus.
Hope this helps.
Cheers,
Sam
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
usagi
post May 9 2004, 02:38 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 9-May 04
Member No.: 3,203



My problem is that my zaurus is brand new and it does not come with a console application pre-installed. This means I can't do anything other than click(tap) on stuff.

Guess Ill have to take it to a windows computer to get it loaded with a minimum set of linux stuff.

Is there anyway around this?

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
padishah_emperor
post May 9 2004, 02:47 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 849
Joined: 6-March 04
Member No.: 2,180



usagi
Is there not an option in your PC link settings on your Z to user 'PC Link Setting' or 'Storage'? Then you can just use it as a external USB drive? I'm using a C860 but I thought the 6000 had the USB drive feature too.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
usagi
post May 9 2004, 04:18 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 9-May 04
Member No.: 3,203



No, unfortunately the pclink setting does not offer this option. That is a big dowgrade!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stubear
post May 9 2004, 04:33 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 17-December 03
From: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Member No.: 1,219



QUOTE
I posted this over at the Zaurus Message Board but originally meant to ask here:

I have my new SL-6000 sitting here, plugged into my Debian linux (2.6.4 kernel, all the needed usb stuff compiled in or in as modules, I believe) home machine via USB, but I'm having no luck actually getting access to it. I've followed the several how-tos, one of which suggests that with a 2.6.* kernel this should be a piece of cake, but I seem to be missing something obvious? either that or I'm even less competent with this linux stuff than I'd previously thought. A major problem I have is that, when the Z is turned on, it is recognized by usbnet, but inevitably it somehow hangs my entire desktop machine and I have to do a hard reset.


Never had a problem with desktop hanging - had problems with ssh hanging when the link to the zaurus went down, but it never crashed my desktop.

QUOTE
and from ifconfig -a

usb0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 1A:60:19:07:1A:F0
BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 cool.gif TX bytes:0 (0.0 cool.gif

but (and here's were my fragile knowledge of this stuff will become
painfully evident) what does all this tell me? I try setting PCLink on
the Z to USB-TCP/IP, but cannot seem to telnet or ssh to
192.168.129.201 from my Debian box (I previously installed all the
openSSH stuff on my Z from my Win2000 desktop at work).


From this it looks like your usb0 is not getting a ip address - is should be getting one from the zaurus (at least it does on the c760). Try running
CODE
ifconfig usb0 192.168.129.1

This should give usb0 the ip adddress 192.168.129.1 and you should be able to ssh (and ping to the Z)

Stu
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
padishah_emperor
post May 9 2004, 04:35 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 849
Joined: 6-March 04
Member No.: 2,180



cripes!

Yes it is (glad I got the 860!) ;-)

Give it time, someone will port the feature or incorporate in into a new ROM.

I too had enormous problems with USB networking, I found reliability varied from one PC to another and from one linux distro to another on a same PC.

This includes hardware freezes.

I found the USB storage ported to the 5500 and usbnet quite intermittent when I ran SuSE on my old PC, and on SuSE on my current PC. I now have a 860 and using USB Storage or USB networking is 100% stable so far (two months) with Debian (using a knoppix HD install). I also have other USB mass storage devices, ie. card readers that didn't work, some are still intermittent. I just put it down to USB being shite ;-)

-Francis
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lpotter
post May 9 2004, 10:11 PM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 451
Joined: 27-November 03
From: Brisbane, Australia
Member No.: 1,001



embeddedkonsole can be found on the cd, named qpe-terminal, as well as the filemanager, named qpe-filemanager.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st October 2014 - 09:16 AM