OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Wireless 3.5.4.2 Tosa Gpe, (yes, I checked the wiki-)
adf
post Nov 24 2006, 12:33 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



as root:

ifup wlan0
no such file or directory

ifdown
route: SIDC[ADD|DEL]RT No such process

iwconfig set essid #####
SET failed on device wlan0 : operation not suported.

I have put in a static config, as I do with all my home wireless. No wep, no wpa. I just have mac address filtering and don't broadcast my ssid. The mac list is fine, this 6000 has been used on this network before.

for lack of a better way to express it, my 6000L is acting like it's in denial about having wireless. The green light blinks....iwconfig says there is a device there which cannot be configured. Ifup gets nowhere... ifdown says there isn't a process to stop ( I think).

This is in GPE. OPIE has a nice config applet that I assume is accomplishing about the same thing behind the scenes, as all I ever got was the dreaded blinkiing light.

Hopefully this is something simple? I really don't want to go back to sharprom......
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hrw
post Nov 25 2006, 03:47 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,376
Joined: 11-January 04
From: Poznań, Poland
Member No.: 1,413



under GPE you have to configure wifi by hand in editor - wlan-ng driver needs special care which is absent in GPE network settings.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Nov 25 2006, 01:26 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



QUOTE(Hrw @ Nov 25 2006, 11:47 AM)
under GPE you have to configure wifi by hand in editor - wlan-ng driver needs special care which is absent in GPE network settings.
*

ok. I had configured /etc/network/interfaces in the text editor, at least to the extent of specifying the static address stuff. I had the same basic issues in opie, it seeed. I'll reflash to opie and describe what happens. I suspect there will be a problem. Is there anyting inparticular I should be looking for, or does this seem like some unusual probem i'm causing that you haven't really seen yourself?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Nov 26 2006, 04:11 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



works fine in opie. Looks like something I did wrong on my setup. Still putting opie together on the 6k.... But I assume gpe will work just fine too.

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
unplug
post Jan 17 2007, 09:19 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 3-December 04
Member No.: 5,742



QUOTE(adf @ Nov 27 2006, 12:11 AM)
works fine in opie.  Looks like something I did wrong on my setup. Still putting opie together on the 6k.... But I assume gpe will work just fine too.

Thanks.
*


I am trying to enable my wifi for OZ/GPE but with no luck.

Is there information that I can use to enable wifi on my tosa? I checked wiki and it doesn't work. Maybe it's the way I specified the WEP password. In the wiki, it says:
wlan_ng_key0 aa:aa:aa:aa:aa:aa:aa:aa:aa:aa:aa:aa:aa

Now, my home network is setup to use 64bit Hex, how do I setup wlan_ng_key0?

Also in the wiki, it says to change wireless_mode from managed to ad_hoc, does that means I need to change my router's setting as well? Thanks.

Martin
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xjqian
post Jan 17 2007, 08:17 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-January 04
From: St. Louis, USA
Member No.: 1,478



the instruction in the wiki page worked for me

QUOTE
my home network is setup to use 64bit Hex, how do I setup wlan_ng_key0?

just use half of aa:aa:aa:aa:aa:aa:aa:aa:aa:aa:aa:aa:aa

QUOTE
Also in the wiki, it says to change wireless_mode from managed to ad_hoc, does that means I need to change my router's setting as well? Thanks.
use the first half of the instruction "managed mode"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st December 2014 - 08:34 AM