OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Virtual Keyboard On Collie, how do i enter multi-keys like ctrl-c?
sdjf
post Jul 13 2008, 08:23 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



Does anyone know how to enter ctrl-c using on-screen data entry instead of the hardware keyboard? I'm running my sl5500 ROM 2.38 with access to the hardware keyboard blocked since it's plugged in to Sharp's serial cable that blocks keyboard access.

I need a way to use CTRL-C until I come up with a hardware solution and haven't been able to figure one out. It is to stop running jobs from inside my console, other than by closing the console.

thanks,
sdjf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jul 13 2008, 08:31 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



Isn't there an on-screen keyboard that you can use?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jocasmi
post Jul 14 2008, 12:35 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 99
Joined: 4-December 06
From: Barcelona, Spain
Member No.: 13,088



Hi, Ctrl-c works for me on the virtual keyboard, but without using the serial connection.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post Jul 14 2008, 02:36 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



yes, there is a virtual keyboard but I have not found a way to press (tap) two keys at once and get it to work. ctrl-c does not work. I also want ctrl-r which is quite helpful although not essential in bash.

for example, if I press ctrl and then c when in lynx, the browser asks if i want to send a comment. in bash, if I want to halt a process, such as, say, "find / -name xxxx", it fails to cancel the find, it just shows the letter c and will say "command not found" once the find is done searching for the nonexistant file.

those are the most important examples when I need to cancel something.

sdjf


This post has been edited by sdjf: Jul 14 2008, 02:47 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jocasmi
post Jul 14 2008, 03:42 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 99
Joined: 4-December 06
From: Barcelona, Spain
Member No.: 13,088



I haven't Lynx installed, but I've tried both Terminal and Qkonsole loading mutt.

Ctrl-C , using de virtual Keyboard, works for Qkonsole, but it doesn't work in Terminal.

That's a very strange behaviour. But I don't know the reason.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post Jul 14 2008, 05:06 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



probably because different apps interpret the signals differently. sigh. I'm just hoping that somebody else uses the Terminal and has stumbled upon how to get CTRL to work in it.

I really do not like other consoles but I wonder if an upgrade to next vers. would help.

I'm running qpe-terminal Version: 1.5.0-2. Which version do you have?

sdjf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jul 14 2008, 06:35 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



What about SSHing into your Z and doing stuff that way?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jfv
post Jul 14 2008, 11:29 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 438
Joined: 24-June 03
Member No.: 202



There is an app called custom input which allows you to map some key combinations to a given key and maybe you could use that.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post Jul 14 2008, 01:31 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



QUOTE(jfv @ Jul 14 2008, 12:29 PM) *
There is an app called custom input which allows you to map some key combinations to a given key and maybe you could use that.


hmm. I take it that is different from keyhelper?

can you guide me with where to find it and/or an ipk name? [EDIT: found it...see next post]

capn_fish, this is the only device on site. I use it too ssh to boxes that are off site. need to do the data entry from the collie.
sdjf


This post has been edited by sdjf: Jul 14 2008, 04:36 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post Jul 14 2008, 04:43 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



Okay, I found it at:

http://www.blackie.dk/Zaurus/custominput/

but write up makes me skeptical it will affect the virtual keyboard. author says it was written for customizing the hardware keyboard.

wish I'd known about this when I was trying to get keyhelper to work.

I doubt it will affect the virtual keyboard, but will try installing it when have time to work on it in a few days.

anyone with other ideas or successes or failures?

sdjf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th July 2014 - 03:02 PM