OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

44 Pages V  « < 41 42 43 44 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Htc Universal, ... running Debian EABI
ShiroiKuma
post Oct 31 2008, 12:56 AM
Post #631





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



I'm experiencing strange behavior with titchy-phoneui-glossy.

If I send an SMS using the commandline with titchy-phone-daemon, it is sent, and then the glossy UI pops up for the confirmation, but the confirmation is not displayed in alerts.

If I send an SMS from the phonebook section of the glossy UI, it kills titchy-phone-daemon and doesn't send anything. What could the problem be?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
datathief
post Nov 4 2008, 02:06 AM
Post #632





Group: Members
Posts: 206
Joined: 21-January 08
Member No.: 21,231



QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ Oct 31 2008, 08:56 AM) *
I'm experiencing strange behavior with titchy-phoneui-glossy.

If I send an SMS using the commandline with titchy-phone-daemon, it is sent, and then the glossy UI pops up for the confirmation, but the confirmation is not displayed in alerts.

If I send an SMS from the phonebook section of the glossy UI, it kills titchy-phone-daemon and doesn't send anything. What could the problem be?


Message statuses are displayed next to the sent messages (lit blue arrow is pending, unlit blue arrow is delivered, red arrow is failed).

Is there an error message in /var/log/titchy-phoneui-shiny after the crash?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post Nov 4 2008, 06:17 AM
Post #633





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



QUOTE(datathief @ Nov 4 2008, 11:06 AM) *
Message statuses are displayed next to the sent messages (lit blue arrow is pending, unlit blue arrow is delivered, red arrow is failed).

Oh well, so then this would partly explain the absence. Since I send SMS's from my Emacs UI, in the keitai package that I've put together, the sent message is not displayed in the glossy UI, as you've made it to only show messages that are sent from the UI. So no message, no message status next to it.

Wouldn't it make more sense, since you already do logging of all calls and SMS's to log files, for the UI to not only show new messages and calls etc. that it records since it comes on. But to actually read the logs and display the full history, of calls, SMS's etc?
QUOTE
Is there an error message in /var/log/titchy-phoneui-shiny after the crash?

I'll check it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post Nov 16 2008, 01:56 PM
Post #634





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



I'd like to remap the OK key as right shift, but can't figure out to do this. Have tried
CODE
keycode 0x43 = Shift
in /etc/console/boottime.kmap.gz and
CODE
keycode 75 = Shift_R
add Shift = Shift_R
in .xmodmaprc and various combinations of the two, but the OK doesn't work as shift in these two instances. At best it only shifts a couple of keys and that's it.

Anyone know how I can achieve the remap?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kitor
post Jan 1 2009, 12:30 PM
Post #635





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 25-June 08
From: Wieluń, Poland
Member No.: 21,972



Not all about linux, but I found interesting info about USB host in PXA27x devices. Here it is:
http://hhtinker.blogspot.com/2008/10/usb-h...n-treo-650.html
In shortcut, if we were lucky, we get USB host on sync port of our Uni's (only on Linux). But somebody must check it, I currently didn't have uni...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
alge
post Jan 4 2009, 02:11 PM
Post #636





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 16-December 04
Member No.: 5,936



Hi,

after a while a tried today to start again with my titchy installation from scratch, as in my first try half a year ago the phone applications did not work.

I was wondering a little bit that the initial installation using /sbin/titchybootstrap2 and /etc/rcS.d/S99titchybootstrap3 did not work. I fixed the calls to dpkg there, added some missing debs (net-utils, sed, module-init-tools if I remember all) and mainly installed everything manually. Afterwards I recognized that this may be due to the fact, that the jigdo file and apt/sources.list refer to debian testing, which was something different last year.

Well, I managed to setup a basic Debian testing now, with usb networking and ssh.

But now I cannot find any titchy-* package. The Packages file from debian.neilandtheresa.co.uk is empty. Has anyone mirrors of these packages or even the source packages to rebuild them?

Some posts above contain already some questions regarding the repository not beeing accessible, is this still the same?

Thanks

Albrecht
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
domi007
post Jan 13 2009, 09:31 AM
Post #637





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 18-June 08
Member No.: 21,942



Hi guys,
Sorry, because my post doesn't connect to this topic, but it is related with the Universal, so:
I am trying to run Android on the Universal. But if I compile the linux_2.6.25_Android for the universal (using the htcuniversal_defconf, which i get from the net) it could be compiled without any problem, but on the PDA Haret says jumping to kernel, and then nothing happens....
If i use the kernel from shiroikuma (zImage.128MB) and the normal rootfs, grabbed from the emulator i get a Segmentation fault when it tries to run the init script of the Android.
I think, the kernel which i use, is uncompatible with the Android.

Has someone any idea? Is there any reason, why my kernel doesn't boot, but shiroikuma's does?

Thanks, and sorry for my off-topic post
DOMy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
p3t3r
post Jan 26 2009, 05:49 AM
Post #638





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 28-April 08
Member No.: 21,702



@domi007

I am no expert on such things (as I am no computer scientist), but as I have some experience with running Linux on devices like the Universal (Universal and Motorola A780/E680) I would like to ask you whether you applied some patches for HTC Universal to your kernel, as it isn't (again, AFAIK) supported by stock mainline linux. Bad thing is that (as you will know) the latest kernel for HTC Universal on handhelds.org is still 2.6.21-hh20, which won't work with ANDROID, unless you apply the patches.
Here is a ML post about patching 2.6.21-hh20 for BlueAngel for Android (please keep in mind that the Android version running is an older beta, AFAIR 0.8).

Hope that I could help you a little bit,

p3t3r

(Please feel free to contact me when you have ANDROID running on your Universal, I am keen on that, too wink.gif )
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
domi007
post Feb 24 2009, 11:59 AM
Post #639





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 18-June 08
Member No.: 21,942



With Android:

So far, so good:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...mp;postcount=31

Video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OYb2nZyC4nA

DOMy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post Mar 31 2009, 03:52 AM
Post #640





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



USB connection with a Mac

How do you use USB networking when connection the HTC Universal to Mac OS X?

I.e. in Linux after plugging in the USB cable, you'd on the PC
CODE
ifconfig usb0 192.168.0.1
echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
iptables -A FORWARD -j ACCEPT
iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -s 192.168.0.0/24 -o eth0 -j MASQUERADE


However on a Mac, I don't have the usb0 device after connecting the Universal with a cable, I've looked through dmesg and the contents of /dev/ and there doesn't seem to be a usb device, though it's no hardware problem, my Mac is brand new and USB flashdisks work when plugged in.

So where's the device to ifconfig?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sam Liddicott
post Apr 3 2009, 12:06 AM
Post #641





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 7-May 08
Member No.: 21,745



QUOTE(kitor @ Jan 1 2009, 09:30 PM) *
Not all about linux, but I found interesting info about USB host in PXA27x devices. Here it is:
http://hhtinker.blogspot.com/2008/10/usb-h...n-treo-650.html
In shortcut, if we were lucky, we get USB host on sync port of our Uni's (only on Linux). But somebody must check it, I currently didn't have uni...


Thats great news - it makes me think of this: http://www.dvd.co.uk/Hw/Kingston-DataTrave...2GB/product.htm

Big fat daddy storage for my universal!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sam Liddicott
post Apr 3 2009, 01:01 AM
Post #642





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 7-May 08
Member No.: 21,745



I've been given another black HTC Universal (O2 XDA exec).

It has a dent/kink in the touch-screen (not the LCD) and the display has been rotated too many times so that the display cable has snapped, but carphone warehouse say they can fix both these for 45.00

I'm short on cash to pay for a 128M upgrde, so I'm interested in doing a deal where somebody can have this in exchange for giving me the 128MB upgrade on my Universal.

Anyone interested - is it a fair deal? (I guess it is the same as swapping both these for one that has been upgraded?)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sam Liddicott
post Apr 15 2009, 08:07 AM
Post #643





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 7-May 08
Member No.: 21,745



QUOTE(Sam Liddicott @ Apr 3 2009, 10:01 AM) *
I've been given another black HTC Universal (O2 XDA exec).

It has a dent/kink in the touch-screen (not the LCD) and the display has been rotated too many times so that the display cable has snapped, but carphone warehouse say they can fix both these for 45.00

I'm short on cash to pay for a 128M upgrde, so I'm interested in doing a deal where somebody can have this in exchange for giving me the 128MB upgrade on my Universal.

Anyone interested - is it a fair deal? (I guess it is the same as swapping both these for one that has been upgraded?)


bah! I was a bit slow, CPW have stopped repairing the Universal just recenly, so I'm going to HTC for it. I'm trying to get them to do the RAM too - I might get lucky.

Sam
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sam Liddicott
post May 8 2009, 08:24 AM
Post #644





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 7-May 08
Member No.: 21,745



Is it game over then?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post Jun 16 2009, 06:33 AM
Post #645





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ Oct 1 2008, 12:18 PM) *
QUOTE(datathief @ Aug 27 2008, 11:33 AM) *
As far as I can tell, the following should give some kind of result:
CODE
titchy-phone-daemon atcmd 'at+cusd=1,"*104*#",15'

I get "+CUSD: 5"; I don't know what that means. If you get something more useful, I can add this functionality to the daemon.

I get:
CODE
+CUSD: 0,"XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX some hex text",15

So it seems, it's responding with the credit remaining and it's coding the answer, however doesn't ring any bells as far as deciphering is concerned...

It's the ASCII text response, hex encoded. To decipher you need to pass it through xxd -p -r, full instructions at http://sumoudou.org/index.php?cmd=%E7%9B%B...0in%20GNU/Linux
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

44 Pages V  « < 41 42 43 44 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th July 2014 - 06:35 PM