OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> White Screen On Install!? Help
DaemonsGR
post May 4 2006, 11:19 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 237
Joined: 28-December 05
Member No.: 8,801



Hello,
I tried to install the latest snap but when I do cp bsd.rd /proc/zboot I get 1-2 fades from black to white and then only white screen! I have to remove the battery to boot linux!

I have c3100 with pdaxrom beta3 and I run the install from the console (no X loaded).

thnx
Tasos
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DaemonsGR
post May 5 2006, 03:23 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 237
Joined: 28-December 05
Member No.: 8,801



No one had any bad luck with OpenBSD? The loader keep crashing after insmod and cp bsd.rd /proc/zboot!!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iamasmith
post May 8 2006, 05:09 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,248
Joined: 6-July 04
Member No.: 3,928



I haven't come across this although I only have an SL-C3000.

I have used OpenBSD with Cacko 1.23b1 and now use my mini rootfs that allows me to use the whole disk. I suspect that there is some kernel tweak that the boot loader has some problems with.

During boot the Zaurus boot loader attempts to clear MMU and memory effectively returning the device to a clear memory state before booting the OpenBSD kernel. It may be that some extra initialization is being performed in the PDAXROM kernel that is not being handled by the OpenBSD boot loader.

I suggest that you try posting to arm@openbsd.org and see if anyone has an answer for this..

-Andy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bruce
post May 9 2006, 10:39 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 18-September 04
Member No.: 4,638



I saw this behavior exactly once (for what its worth) the first time I loaded -current on my sl-3200 (which I boot using -beta3 pdaxrom).

The only obvious difference from all the other times where I have loaded openbsd with "cp /bsd.rd /proc/zboot" without problem was that I happen to do it from an xterm while the system was running a lot of other applications instead of from the console on an unloaded system.

I've never seen any kind of lockup booting via zboot.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DaemonsGR
post May 9 2006, 11:25 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 237
Joined: 28-December 05
Member No.: 8,801



I "fixed" it by using 3.9 release kernel to boot(install) and tgz from snapshot! smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st November 2014 - 03:17 AM