OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Cf Card, Changing the type II for I
sdjf
post May 2 2007, 09:57 AM
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



Also, if your file browser is open, you may be unable to eject the CF data card because the file browser/manager will be accessing it's files.

I'm not sure about this, I think I have been able to eject cards when file manager is open, but you are having so much trouble that I think you should close all apps you can before trying to eject, so we can track down the problem(s) more easily.

Awaiting more data. wink.gif

sdjf

NOTE: original post said "able", I meant unable and have corrected the typo.

This post has been edited by sdjf: May 2 2007, 12:56 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
baptista
post May 2 2007, 11:55 AM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 21-July 03
Member No.: 283



Hi sdj: Ok it is also many things for me..but in April 30 you said:

"Another thing to do is run "ps ax | more" to get a full list of everything that is running. Do you see anything that might be holding on to the card? If you are not sure, then paste the output here."

Stageone is a program type iqnotes, kapi and kopi are programs for pim data,installed on SF card so I have it duplicated, and are more efficient than the zaurus one,( zautrix) is the name of the developper.

With the file manager open I cant eject the card.

sdj, excuse me, but in all this time im speaking about CF data card. Everything began when you said that Type I or II is a matter of thickness, and really I could copy all the data of the ancient card type II with 500Mb to this one that we are speaking of 1GB. My ROM is 3.13
Ill hope that you will not worry with me....and many thanks for everythings that Im learning.

My best regards
baptista
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post May 2 2007, 12:03 PM
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



Okay, first close the file manager.

Second, try to eject the CF card from the GUI, the one that is at an angle, not the one that says SD on it. You do that by pressing hard where it says "Eject card". Then wait a few seconds and run your stylus over your screen...you will be able to tell (I hope) if your z is frozen while it detaches the files, or it is ignoring the request. Also write down everything that happens and report it in detail, and make another "ps ax|more" again just before this in case anything changed.

Third, if that didn't work, from your console, enter "carctl ident; cardctl status; cardctl eject" and post the command(s) you entered and the results.

sdjf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post May 2 2007, 12:06 PM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



OMG, another thing. Do:

cat /var/lock/LCK..ttyS3

If there is a lock file there (which there should not be, then do

rm /var/lock/LCK..ttyS3
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post May 2 2007, 12:54 PM
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



Also, you mentioned both modem and wifi cards. Do you have both? What do you use to connect to the web or a network? IRDA, dialup, or what?

If you use Opera browser at all, it could make trouble with ejecting the CF card too, so that's why I ask. I'm interested if you found a lock file. Lock files are usually only placed on ttyS3 by networking programs or programs that use the internet such as Opera.

sdjf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post May 3 2007, 05:44 AM
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



Oh no, wait, I just noticed you said you installed kapi and kopi on SF card. Is that the "CF" card or the "SD" card? If it is the CF card, you must uninstall them if you wish to eject your CF card.

Which card are they installed on? Is anything installed to the CF card using the GUI Installer? I hope not!

I know it can get confusing. I understand if you use "ipkg" from commandline instead of the GUI Installer (however you invoked it doesn't matter, what matters is that it is the qtopia GUI one), that ejecting the card an app is installed to is okay if you did not use the GUI to install it, but do you remember how you installed the apps?

sdjf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
baptista
post May 4 2007, 07:08 AM
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 21-July 03
Member No.: 283



Hi sdjf: Somethings more: The modem car( Targus ) is for receiving mails from a fone line , the WiFi card (D-link Air, DCF 660 W,Wireless Compact Flash 802.11b) is for connecting to the web in places where are wifi signal, them I need to know the Wep key in the networking configuration. I have used the two ones without problems.
And now the most foolish thing: I observed that the new CF data card 1Gb about we are speaking, appears ( I dont remember if I said to you) in the collie as
CODE
card 0/pmcia: ATA/IDE  Fixed Disk)
the pmcia is a card por notebooks. So I decided with the collie off change the new for the older CF card, put the collie on and the machine begins to function normally, of course without the new books and other things I that charged in tis mid time. Them I try to eject the card via applet, and was ejected without problem!, them I entered the new card that was recgnized as card 0: ATA/IDE Fixe4d Disk, That is the
CODE
pmcia not appearing
and begin to use it normally, everything were there and made the test of eject it many times. I dont no why....may you understand?...
Thankyou for you help, and wait for anything you want to say me.
My best regards
baptista
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post May 4 2007, 08:55 AM
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



My best guess is that something was open on the old card and since you changed card with the collie asleep originally, when you put back the card that the collie expected, it allowed it to figure out how to close that file and let go of the card. When things are functioning normally, I would never yank out a card that the applet does not work correctly with because later on there can be problems. So next time there is such a problem, I hope we can talk and figure out how to "cleanly" correct the problem before more things are done that make it impossible to figure out what the true source of the problem is.

I do want to check something now, though, for future reference. Do you use the Sharp Serial I/O Port at the bottom of your Collie for anything at all? If you do not use it at all, you may be able to benefit from halting respawning of ttyS0, which keeps that tty open all the time. See my writeup on this:

http://www.sdjf.esmartdesign.com/respawn.html

hth,
sdjf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
baptista
post May 4 2007, 11:39 AM
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 21-July 03
Member No.: 283



Hi sdjf: Thans again and again, with your link you open to me a new world of possibilities for a newbie. Im going out this weekend. At my return i`ll read all your site, I just begin now. Ill be in contact with you.
In fact I use yhe I/O port for making syncronization with my notebook (windows xp).
Let me ask you why you did not have the last zaurus ROM 3.13?
Cheers
baptista
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post May 4 2007, 12:47 PM
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



QUOTE(baptista)
Let me ask you why you did not have
  the last zaurus ROM 3.13?


Too much time and energy with no guaranteed results, for one reason. For more reasons, read what I wrote at http://sdjf.wordpress.com/life

If you use that port all the time, you do not want to stop respawning. If it's just occasionally, you could experiment with changing the respawning and see if it really matters.

I could not get card ejection under control until I stopped the respawning, but I also do not have any current use for that port, either.

I'm busy too. Have a good weekend.

sdjf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
baptista
post May 7 2007, 03:03 PM
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 21-July 03
Member No.: 283



Hi sdj: I return from my "weekend" that its a kind o work that I make some months helping in some way to others, as you do, not properly nothing to do.
Im surprise reading the link you send, and I thank you once more for your help that will not end here, I hope. I begin to study your site, and certainly I must have many things to ask about zaurus.
Thankyou once more, and excuse my poor english..
My best regards from
baptista
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post May 7 2007, 03:35 PM
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



You're welcome again. I know a little Spanish, and your English is much better than my Spanish. smile.gif

I am very interested in seeing what happens the next time you need to eject a card. I also want to know what you think about respawning since you use ttyS0 for connecting to your Windows box.

take care,
sdjf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
baptista
post May 14 2007, 11:25 AM
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 21-July 03
Member No.: 283



Hi sdjf,
thanks by the mail you posted to me, I answer by the Forums site as you like,
I have many things to learn, so I entered many times in your site. The time here in So Paulo (Brazil) now 14 of may 2007 is 4h 25m PM, when Im posting this mail.
You must to explain me what is respawn ( more or less I can imagine ) but is better to hear from you. Also woul like to know what is an IRC client....if it is better to go to tyranozaurus site explain me better. You see how newbie I am..at least in Zaurus.
Another thing, really you were with all the reason in everything you said to me. Now not ever I can eject the CF card. When I can the collie recognize the Targus as a serial or modem card. But it now dont function. I set the modem with the same conditions I have in the account of my provider. I suppose that it where funtioning when I had the ancient ROM, then of course I took various mails.
Really I dont use the collie ever for mails, the normal is to use the desktop at home. But would like to have it ok for if I travel or so. The WiFi card that I said to you is functioning, I prove it in a WiFi point, nevertheless it is no easy the navigation with the opera, and the battery goes on rapidly. I have for this cases an battery extender.
I remember you say to me somethings about tty. May you repeat it for me if you dont bore too much. Of course I will make a review of all your mails, till now.
Excuse me for take many of your time.
Cheers from
baptista
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post May 14 2007, 01:13 PM
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



Can we just focus on one problem at a time? It get's too confusing otherwise. Which problem is the most important?

About IRC, you can download an IRC client (internet relay chat) or go to chat with the link at http://tyrannozaurus.com, and that may be easier for you.

I need to know which question is most important, and then we can work on that one.

It's too confusing for me to try to fix all the problems at once.
sdjf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post May 14 2007, 05:13 PM
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



Well, I will comment on your respawning question. See this document here at oesf: http://www.oesf.org/index.php?title=Serial...ial_port_access

From what they say there, maybe respawning does not make any difference on 3.10. Remember I have 2.38, and they work a little differently. I will ask my friend who has a 3.1 if he has stopped respawning. I don't know if it is wise for you.

To respawn the connection means, in simple terms, it just keeps starting up again if you try to stop it. I know on my ROM the ttyS0 (I/O port) respawning creates difficulties for ttyS3 (CF slot), but I don't know about your rom for this issue.

I will ask my friend for advice since no one else has jumped in here yet.
sdjf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st October 2014 - 12:46 AM