OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> 5000 Won't Install New Os, Stuck in diag mode
ZuluWhiskeyFox
post Mar 24 2007, 09:49 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 19-March 07
From: Ottawa,Ont.,Canada
Member No.: 15,287



I recently bought a 5000 off ebay. It had a flaky version on OZ on it that continually crashed. So I elected to install the latest OZ-Opie with card-fs. I downloaded the appropriate files from Henges. Copied them to a cf, changed their names, followed all the instructions to the letter. It wouldn't get past the two lights being on for more than a couple of seconds. So I tried an alternate method. By pressing I think it was the G and P and reset button to enter the diag mode. From there I went about installing from the CF. The two leds stayed on for near 2 minutes then it went back to the diag display. That is where I am now. Don't know how to get out this diag mode. I have tried leaving it unpluged from power for several days with no battery in it, hunted through every menu in that diag mode. No different. At this point I'm at a loss. This newbie needs help. I have a paper weight that has sharp written on it.

cheers,

zwf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Greg2
post Mar 26 2007, 04:25 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 790
Joined: 28-October 03
From: USA
Member No.: 792



QUOTE(ZuluWhiskeyFox @ Mar 24 2007, 01:49 PM)
So I tried an alternate method. By pressing I think it was the G and P and reset button to enter the diag mode. From there I went about installing from the CF. The two leds stayed on for near 2 minutes then it went back to the diag display. That is where I am now. Don't know how to get out this diag mode.

If you could not flash your Z using the standard procedure, you most likely had a corrupt file system on your CF-card or corrupt files to flash with. Now that you have forced a flash with this existing problem you may not be able to boot your system until you flash it again with a good set of files.

You 'may' be able to get out of the diag menu by simply using the cancel/on/off button... if you haven't damaged anything.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZuluWhiskeyFox
post Mar 26 2007, 02:08 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 19-March 07
From: Ottawa,Ont.,Canada
Member No.: 15,287



You 'may' be able to get out of the diag menu by simply using the cancel/on/off button... if you haven't damaged anything.
*

[/quote]

I tried the cancel/on/off button and it merely turns it off and on. When it comes on it is still in that diag mode. Would the fact that I'm writing these files to the cf with a windowsXP computer cause this? The cf is formated to FAT. If I were to download the files directly to the cf card using a window98 computer be any better? Or must I do all this in a linux shell?

zwf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Mar 26 2007, 02:17 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



I don't know if this effecting you, but do you have "hide extensions" check marked on your windows machine?
Open a windows folder > tools > folder options > View tab
If the extensions are hidden, your filenames may not be correct.
I'm fairly sure that the filenames for the files on the CF card have to be exactly as stated in the instructions when flashing.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZuluWhiskeyFox
post Mar 26 2007, 06:05 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 19-March 07
From: Ottawa,Ont.,Canada
Member No.: 15,287



Jon J, Thanks, Got that one covered. File extentions are not hidden. The file names on the cf are exactly as in the instructions.

zwf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
matrixcore
post Feb 3 2008, 08:27 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 18-May 06
Member No.: 9,906



QUOTE(ZuluWhiskeyFox @ Mar 26 2007, 08:05 PM) *
Jon J, Thanks, Got that one covered. File extentions are not hidden. The file names on the cf are exactly as in the instructions.

zwf


sorry if it's a bit late, but i'm a newcomer to the zaurii world.
have you tried the "clear diag boot flag" option or something like that in the manteinance menu.
select that option and then, make a full reset.

hope it works
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jocasmi
post Feb 10 2008, 05:03 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 99
Joined: 4-December 06
From: Barcelona, Spain
Member No.: 13,088



Well, I don't know for sure if this can help, but I'd try to do the flashing procedure with the basic sharp rom for your machine, and see what happens. If the machine could be able to boot the sharp rom, then I'd go with OZ.

It looks like a bootloader problem. Just an impression. I'm not a pro.

Good luck.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post Apr 13 2008, 08:54 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



ZuluWhiskeyFox was last here Oct 2007, and has started other related threads as well. Look at the year on the posts? wink.gif

sdjf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th December 2014 - 03:02 PM