OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

12 Pages V  « < 6 7 8 9 10 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Zubuntu 1.0 Rc1, Start your downloads now
Jon_J
post Jan 3 2009, 09:18 AM
Post #106





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Jan 3 2009, 07:41 AM) *
QUOTE(Jon_J @ Jan 2 2009, 10:00 PM) *
QUOTE(cortez @ Jan 2 2009, 04:28 PM) *
QUOTE(Jon_J @ Jan 2 2009, 10:48 PM) *
One other thing which has been mentioned here: tskeys consumes 89% and up to 92% of CPU according to "top"
When first booting, I launch the console (which takes awhile) and use "top" to kill it. Once its killed response is greatly improved.

tskeys is responsible for the "selected device is not a touchscreen i understand". It tries to use the device used for the offscreen keys (home, mail, contacts etc) which is configured for Akita on default (sorry, my fault). Try to delete the files /etc/zaurusd/mach-config-funcs and /etc/zaurusd/mach-config-vars and reboot. With a bit of luck the message is gone wink.gif

I deleted both files and I still get the error message upon reboot. It doesn't seem to effect performance, I still need to kill tskeys to get "snappy" performance in the window manager.
I looked in /etc/zaurusd/ and these two files have been re-created.

Try commenting out the lines for tskeys in /etc/init.d/zaurusd

That stopped tskeys from loading. I'm not sure if I edited this file correctly. I had to comment out a couple commands: "fi", because I was getting syntax errors.
/etc/init.d/zaurusd
CODE
#!/bin/sh

killproc() {            # kill the named process(es)
        pid=`/bin/ps -e x |
             /bin/grep $1 |
             /bin/grep -v grep |
             /bin/sed -e 's/^  *//' -e 's/ .*//'`
        [ "$pid" != "" ] && kill $pid
}

. /etc/zaurusd/config

case "$1" in
    start)
        echo "Starting Zaurusd"

    if [ "x$HAVE_ALSA_MIXER" != "x" ]; then
        /usr/sbin/alsactl restore
    fi

        if [ "x$HAVE_INPUT_SWITCHES" != "x" -a -x /usr/bin/switchevd ]; then
            /usr/bin/switchevd $SWITCH_EVENT_DEVICE &
        fi

#        if [ "x$HAVE_TSKEYS" != "x" -a -x /usr/bin/tskeys ]; then
#            modprobe uinput    
            if [ -x /usr/bin/setleds ]; then
            /usr/bin/setleds +num < /dev/tty0
        fi
        if [ -e /etc/profile.d/tslib.sh ]; then
            . /etc/profile.d/tslib.sh
        fi
#            if [ -e /etc/pointercal ]; then
#                /usr/bin/tskeys $TSKEYS_CONF $TSKEYS_DEVICE &
#            fi
#        fi
;;

    stop)
        echo "Stopping Zaurusd"
    if [ -x /usr/bin/switchevd ]; then
            killproc /usr/bin/switchevd
    fi
    if [ -x /usr/bin/tskeys ]; then
            killproc /usr/bin/tskeys
    fi
    if [ "x$HAVE_ALSA_MIXER" != "x" ]; then
        /usr/sbin/alsactl store
    fi
;;

    restart)
        $0 stop
        sleep 1
        $0 start
;;

    *)
        echo "usage: $0 { start | stop }"
        exit 1
;;
esac

exit 0
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jan 3 2009, 12:37 PM
Post #107





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



I just commented out the whole block, IIRC.

I managed to get Kdrive built, no idea if it has XKB support or not. I'll get to testing it eventually.

The dhclient issue seems to be kernel-related, since when I boot with the 2.6.24-Yonggun kernel it works fine (still get the unknown hardware message, but it works).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Wildherb
post Jan 4 2009, 05:09 AM
Post #108





Group: Members
Posts: 92
Joined: 9-January 06
Member No.: 8,887



QUOTE
OK, thanks, I'll do a completely fresh install with all the latest files and make sure my card is Ext2 at the same time. Will report back later this evening...


Cortez. I've done a fresh install using the spitz tar file in your link an the other files from your blog - I trust that will give me the latest kernel. I've also made sure my SD card is formatted ext2 this time. I still cannot see any CF devices and hence cant even manually configure a network interface. My symptoms are:
no /dev/hdx devices listed at all
no output from pccardctl ident

Here is my dmesg | tail output:
CODE
logger created 64k log 'log_radio'
TCP cubic registered
Xscale iWMMXt coprocessor detected
sa1100-rtc sa1100-rtc: setting systen clock to 1970-01-02 etc
Waiting for root device /dev/mmcblkp01..
mmc new SD card at address b368
mmblk0: mmc0:b368 SD      1960448K1B
mmcblk0: p1 p2
VFS: mounted root (ext2 filesystel) readonly
Freeing init memory: 80K


What now?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ofels
post Jan 4 2009, 11:36 AM
Post #109





Group: Members
Posts: 142
Joined: 4-December 06
From: Lake Constance, Germany
Member No.: 13,087



QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Jan 3 2009, 03:03 AM) *
-Orinoco/hermes is modprobed by default (I think there's something that can be done with making a list of card IDs or something similar)


Blacklist the orinoco modules in /etc/modprobe.d/

Oliver
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Jan 4 2009, 03:16 PM
Post #110





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



Has anyone mapped the menu key on the clamshell zaurus to zubuntu's menu yet? If so how?
I have tried xbindkeys-config, but it wants a two key combination when making new shortcuts.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jan 4 2009, 05:44 PM
Post #111





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



Using Fluxbox makes it easy. I don't know if there's a way to switch Openbox out for it (I didn't see anything obvious, ln -s should work tongue.gif), but you could disable the Fluxbox panel and it should act the same (and eliminate the need for xbindkeys).

HTH
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Wildherb
post Jan 5 2009, 02:29 PM
Post #112





Group: Members
Posts: 92
Joined: 9-January 06
Member No.: 8,887



Just a quick post to say that I'm now up and running with my C3000! Wifi is running just fine and the microdrive is recognised. apt-get seems to work fine. Thanks Cortez and everybody else!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cortez
post Jan 5 2009, 10:13 PM
Post #113





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



QUOTE(Jon_J @ Jan 5 2009, 12:16 AM) *
Has anyone mapped the menu key on the clamshell zaurus to zubuntu's menu yet? If so how?
I have tried xbindkeys-config, but it wants a two key combination when making new shortcuts.

Zubuntu uses LXDE, which is based on Openbox. For instructions on how to change mouse and keyboard mappings in Openbox, see here
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zmike
post Jan 12 2009, 08:03 PM
Post #114





Group: Members
Posts: 77
Joined: 15-January 04
Member No.: 1,206



Hi Cortez,
This looks like a promising release but I haven't had any luck with my SL-C860. I went through changing the event2 to event1 for the touchscreen but when startx runs, it opens a window in "portrait" mode but upside-down. I have the zaurus open for the keyboard.

Mouse clicks are far off the mark.

At bootup I get

/usr/sbin/alsactl: load_state:1313: Cannot open /var/lib/alsa/asound.state for reading: No such file or directory
Can't open display :0
/usr/sbin/alsactl: save_state:1251: No soundcards found...

I hope to get it running to see how it does but have only command line for now.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zmike
post Jan 12 2009, 08:15 PM
Post #115





Group: Members
Posts: 77
Joined: 15-January 04
Member No.: 1,206



Some progress - I edited .xinitrc and it helped but the mouse is way off. Is there a way to calibrate it?
Thanks!
mike

I do get an error "Extended Input Devices not yet supported. when I abort startx

ts_calibrate does the trick. Now I have to figure out how to configure networking with a symbol technologies card I guess.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jan 13 2009, 06:26 AM
Post #116





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(zmike @ Jan 13 2009, 04:15 AM) *
Now I have to figure out how to configure networking with a symbol technologies card I guess.


the socket/symbol wifi card is soft-mac, so you have to have a firmware uploader for it - spectrum24 chipset IIRC. I think it was posted to this forum a while back, let me know if you don't find it as I can probably dig out a copy (I had one once, but traded up to a prism2-based zonet/mercury zcf1100).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fatty
post Jan 13 2009, 07:33 AM
Post #117





Group: Members
Posts: 94
Joined: 22-September 05
From: Hong Kong
Member No.: 8,168



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Jan 13 2009, 10:26 PM) *
QUOTE(zmike @ Jan 13 2009, 04:15 AM) *
Now I have to figure out how to configure networking with a symbol technologies card I guess.

the socket/symbol wifi card is soft-mac, so you have to have a firmware uploader for it - spectrum24 chipset IIRC. I think it was posted to this forum a while back, let me know if you don't find it as I can probably dig out a copy (I had one once, but traded up to a prism2-based zonet/mercury zcf1100).


My Socket Low Power Wifi CF works.

Initially, it complaints for fw. I goes to /lib/firmware and find nothing there. As I have Debian installed also, I copy all files from there to Zubuntu's and the interface comes up at eth0. Of course, I have to configure the /etc/network/interface manually beforehand. Now my ugly Pretec (works with both Debian & Zubuntu) can now goes to Akita tongue.gif

I also replaced the internal 16G CF (which replaced the original MD long long time ago) to a Socket bluetooth CF (works when dual-booting to Debian, yet to figure out how to set up a ppp connection with my HTC Touch Pro). If everything goes right, I will have a dual wireless Z laugh.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zmike
post Jan 13 2009, 05:19 PM
Post #118





Group: Members
Posts: 77
Joined: 15-January 04
Member No.: 1,206



Thanks for the reply. I hope I don't have to update the firmware. It works with Cacko and Angstrom - not sure what is different. I searched and didn't see anything for the firmware so if you have it I could try it. Not sure how I would upgrade it since I have mainly Apples or Linux desktop-wise.

I wasn't getting any response to the card at first but after searching, I ran:

modprobe pxa2xx_cs

Looks like something to do with firmware because I get the message:

spectrum_cs: Cannot find firmwared: symbol_sp24t_prim_fw
spectrum_cs: Firmware download failed
hermes @ c4880000: Timeout waiting for card to reset (reg=0x0000)!
eth0: failed to initialize firmware (err = -110)
spectrum_cs: register_netdev() failed


Thanks!
Mike
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fatty
post Jan 13 2009, 05:48 PM
Post #119





Group: Members
Posts: 94
Joined: 22-September 05
From: Hong Kong
Member No.: 8,168



QUOTE(zmike @ Jan 14 2009, 09:19 AM) *
spectrum_cs: Cannot find firmwared: symbol_sp24t_prim_fw
spectrum_cs: Firmware download failed


I don't mean you have to update firmware in your card. I mean you don't have the firmware (driver) in Zubuntu's /lib/firmware. (In fact the rootfs of Zubuntu release doesn't contain the firmware)

I've sent you the files which are from Andromeda Debian in case you don't have. It work for me.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zmike
post Jan 13 2009, 05:58 PM
Post #120





Group: Members
Posts: 77
Joined: 15-January 04
Member No.: 1,206



Thanks! Got the file and put it onto the SD card. The symbol is now blinking so that probably does it!
Now to wrestle with iwconfig.

Thanks again!
Mike
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

12 Pages V  « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th November 2014 - 09:13 PM