OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Problem with default media player on 5600
sloan_mclaughlin
post May 6 2004, 10:36 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 29-April 04
From: Charlotte NC USA
Member No.: 3,064



It plays the mp3s, but they're gibberish (a few seconds of random noises), then the player automatically closes after the file 'ends'. Any help would be appreciated.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post May 6 2004, 12:10 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Try running it from the command line to see what it complains about (look in /opt/QtPalmtop/bin for something that sounds like a media player binary).

Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
freizugheit
post May 6 2004, 07:14 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 409
Joined: 7-November 03
Member No.: 811



Recommend to use vlc and mplayer.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post May 7 2004, 01:40 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



I use mplayer (with xmms frontend) or opie-mediaplayer2, both of which handle more encodings than the standard Sharp player.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sloan_mclaughlin
post May 7 2004, 11:11 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 29-April 04
From: Charlotte NC USA
Member No.: 3,064



I've installed 3 different versions of mplayer and none worked. I want to use mplayer shell to control it if I can find a mplayer ipk that will actually work. But for now, I'd be happy w/default player and vorbis.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sloan_mclaughlin
post May 7 2004, 11:19 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 29-April 04
From: Charlotte NC USA
Member No.: 3,064



QUOTE
Try running it from the command line to see what it complains about (look in /opt/QtPalmtop/bin for something that sounds like a media player binary).

Si


I suck at linux. Unless someone writes it out like I need to enter it, I won't be able to.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post May 7 2004, 02:43 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



I can't really help as I'm running a different ROM.

But try pasting the results of the following:

cd /opt/QtPalmtop/bin
ls -rtl

Then I'll take a look and see which is the binary. I have a feeling it's probably that your mp3 is encoded in a way which the standard media player can't handle.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
freizugheit
post May 8 2004, 08:48 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 409
Joined: 7-November 03
Member No.: 811



sloan_mclaughlin,

Do not give up.
First, how old is your Zaurus with you?
Which modle and ROM Version in use?
Are you familiar with Unix? If yes, what level are you, ie normal, advanced and have system adminstration experience.

The mplayer comes with this version of Kino2, http://zaurus.spy.org/feeds/cacko/qt/24-FE...o2_0.22_arm.ipk, works perfectly with my SL-5600 with Sharp original Rom Version 1.32. Recommend to uninstall all other versions of mplayer and try installing Kino2 and use command line to activate mplayer.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sloan_mclaughlin
post May 10 2004, 07:32 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 29-April 04
From: Charlotte NC USA
Member No.: 3,064



I'm at work so I can't sync, but for the player I get...

lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 33 Feb 14 2003 mpegplayer - > /usr/QtPalmtop.rom/bin/mpegplayer

QUOTE
I can't really help as I'm running a different ROM.

But try pasting the results of the following:

cd /opt/QtPalmtop/bin
ls -rtl

Then I'll take a look and see which is the binary. I have a feeling it's probably that your mp3 is encoded in a way which the standard media player can't handle.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post May 10 2004, 08:00 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



In that case you could try starting it by typing the following on the command line:

/opt/QtPalmtop/bin/mpegplayer

then try running one of your files and see whether it has written any warnings to the console afterwards.

What are the mp3s? Do you have an example? Did you make them yourself? Encoding, etc?

The standard Sharp player doesn't support some of the non-standard (?) types of mp3 iirc.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sloan_mclaughlin
post May 12 2004, 04:27 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 29-April 04
From: Charlotte NC USA
Member No.: 3,064



QUOTE
In that case you could try starting it by typing the following on the command line:

/opt/QtPalmtop/bin/mpegplayer

then try running one of your files and see whether it has written any warnings to the console afterwards.

What are the mp3s? Do you have an example? Did you make them yourself? Encoding, etc?

The standard Sharp player doesn't support some of the non-standard (?) types of mp3 iirc.


Si


Okay, got the following before I tried any files...

4 decoders found

Then got this with each file I tried...

Using the Ippmp3Plugin decoder

It will play .wav Bitspersample: 8 Sampling rate: 8000 Hz, will not play .mp3 Bit rate: 56 kbps Sampling rate:16000Hz and up.

Files that would not play at all gave me...

Floating point exception

They were all different bit rates, sampling rates, and file types (all were mp3, but some were 1, some 2), but they were all converted in 1 session from the same CD. They play fine in Windows Media Player, though.

Go to...

http://www.bullship.com/lyric

and click on any song title for an example.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post May 13 2004, 02:52 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



I don't know, but looks like the codec may be unhappy? What did you use to rip the songs?

I'll try testing with what I use - mplayer and/or opie-mediaplayer2.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sloan_mclaughlin
post May 13 2004, 05:00 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 29-April 04
From: Charlotte NC USA
Member No.: 3,064



I used Adaptec's Easy CD Creator. It is crappy software - I wouldn't be surprised if it was part of the problem - but I converted 3 of these files previously and they played on my Z w/o a problem.

QUOTE
I don't know, but looks like the codec may be unhappy? What did you use to rip the songs?

I'll try testing with what I use - mplayer and/or opie-mediaplayer2.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wizzard
post May 13 2004, 09:22 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 154
Joined: 1-May 04
From: Discworld
Member No.: 3,089



I had the same problem as sloan_mclaughlin. I then installed OTR MP3 Audio Player and that in turn wanted madplay installed!
After installing both I can play mp3s now, but the sound quality can at best be described as "squeaky".
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd September 2014 - 02:19 PM