OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Olympus Digital Camera & My Z, How to use the Z as mass storage?
eji
post Feb 24 2005, 12:07 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 233
Joined: 29-November 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 5,659



With all the fuss over the newest iPods (they came out yesterday), I got to wondering whether it would be possible to download photos from my Olympus C-4000 to my Z. As I take quite a bit of photos while out and about, I had intended to do this from the beginning but quickly forgot with all the Z's other capabilities.

The Z, of course, already has a built-in image viewer, and so all the remains is getting it to recognize the camera as browsable USB mass storage. I have the USB cable and adaptor/connector and was able to plug the devices into one another yesterday, but no trick I could think of got them to shake hands. Do I need special drivers? Or is there a simpler solution?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eji
post Feb 24 2005, 01:27 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 233
Joined: 29-November 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 5,659



The interesting (to me, anyway) follow-up to this is that the brand and model number of the camera are recognized under the USB Mass Storage tab in the "System Info" display. But still no luck browsing the memory card and importing the files to the Z -- nothing I do seems to give me access or enable the devices to communicate.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Feb 24 2005, 03:49 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



My impression is that some cameras aren't truly mass storage devices - they require extra drivers to be recognised as such (this is what happens for my Pentax - it needs to install drivers from the CD before it starts acting like a mass storage device).

It may be possible to get around this (I'm not sure how much they differ from the standard, etc.), but I've not looked into it yet.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
craigtyson
post Feb 24 2005, 04:32 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 464
Joined: 15-June 04
Member No.: 3,698



Wouldnt you need to mount it befoer you could browse it?

If so what device would you mount it as?

On my Mandrake 10.1 PC Id have to mount a usb drive from the sda device

somthing like this

MD \mnt\mydrive 777
MOUNT -t vfat \dev\sda \mnt\mydrive

and ther you go. New USB stickdrive mounted ready to go.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eji
post Feb 24 2005, 04:41 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 233
Joined: 29-November 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 5,659



The issue was summed up well on this thread at PocketPC Junkies.com. The long and short of it is that if the camera is a slave and the Z is a slave, they are forever looking for a master.

But I did see something promising here on Saillard.org. He wrote a driver for a USB mass storage device using the hotplug subsystem, something I'm pretty sure the Z has.

I also found this crazy site and this one too. From what English appears on the page, I think they might relate to my problem. I'll test them out and see.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
craigtyson
post Feb 24 2005, 04:54 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 464
Joined: 15-June 04
Member No.: 3,698



I thought the 6000 was able to function as a USB Master also hence the ability to use a mouse ect....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eji
post Feb 24 2005, 05:08 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 233
Joined: 29-November 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 5,659



SUCCESS!

mount -t vfat /dev/sda1 /mnt/usbstorage

and later...

umount /mnt/usbstorage

Thanks ever so much for the terminal commands. It would have been years before I stumbled across those myself.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Feb 24 2005, 05:08 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



My usb key appeared to work with my ratoc card (I didn't get round to mounting it, but dmesg looked good).

I have a full set of drivers (but for the OZ kernel). The ones on this page may work for your Sharp kernel: http://paipai.org/~humorum/english/zaurus/cfu1-driver.html
(you just want the usb modules tarball, you don't need the cfu1 driver).


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eji
post Feb 24 2005, 05:22 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 233
Joined: 29-November 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 5,659



QUOTE(lardman @ Feb 24 2005, 01:08 PM)
I have a full set of drivers (but for the OZ kernel). The ones on this page may work for your Sharp kernel: http://paipai.org/~humorum/english/zaurus/cfu1-driver.html
(you just want the usb modules tarball, you don't need the cfu1 driver).
*

Thanks, Si. I had found the Japanese version of that page and linked it above as "this crazy site." The camera mounting seemed to work fine without installing anything, so I'll keep the additional USB drivers on the side in case of a similar situation that can't be remedied so easily.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
soundwave106
post Feb 24 2005, 09:21 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 108
Joined: 29-November 04
Member No.: 5,667



That's cool. smile.gif I have an Olympus with USB access as well. So now it's time to try viewing pictures taken with the Olympus on the Z using Sharp's newly released photo program... a 4" 640x480 screen is a heck of a lot better to see an image than that tiny Olympus camera screen! smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
suruaZ
post Feb 27 2005, 06:34 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 123
Joined: 12-April 04
Member No.: 2,809



eji,

I wonder the way you connected both devices (Z+camera). Did you used cradle?

QUOTE
I have the USB cable and adaptor/connector


Could you please describe how it works?

Thanks,
suruaZ
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eji
post Feb 27 2005, 07:00 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 233
Joined: 29-November 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 5,659



QUOTE(suruaZ @ Feb 27 2005, 02:34 PM)
eji,

I wonder the way you connected both devices (Z+camera). Did you used cradle?

QUOTE
I have the USB cable and adaptor/connector


Could you please describe how it works?

Thanks,
suruaZ
*



I bought a universal USB adapter in Target when I was back in the States for Christmas. It's a cable with a selection of different fittings, one of which plugs into the tiny USB 2.0 port on my SL-6000 and has a standard-sized "female" port on the other end. From here I just plugged it into my C4000 using its own cable.

I found it listed with an image here, and I'm a bit miffed because I paid ten bucks for it. This site has it for $6!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
suruaZ
post Feb 27 2005, 07:58 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 123
Joined: 12-April 04
Member No.: 2,809



QUOTE
It's a cable with a selection of different fittings, one of which plugs into the tiny USB 2.0 port on my SL-6000


Oh yes - I missed you own SL-6000. My 5500 has no USB hole in the body sad.gif

suruaZ
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
craigtyson
post Feb 27 2005, 04:56 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 464
Joined: 15-June 04
Member No.: 3,698



A 5500 is a USB SLAVE also so cannot be used to host devises. You can get a host card for the cf slot though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th December 2014 - 07:48 AM