OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Usb To Eide & Sata Cable + Power Supply
mikew
post Apr 26 2006, 05:21 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 193
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,402



Has anyone tried this http://usb.brando.com.hk/prod_detail.php?prod_id=00002 it appears to allow you to connect just about any kind of disk drive via the USB host facility.

It even has its own 110-240v mains power suppy.

Says it can be used with Hard-disk, CD-ROM, DVD-ROM, CD-RW, COMBO device, DVD-RW.

I have the cable but I am waiting for delivery of my C3200.

Mike
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
alee16
post May 30 2006, 09:02 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 113
Joined: 30-May 06
Member No.: 10,009



Did it work?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mikew
post May 30 2006, 11:30 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 193
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,402



Not tried, been rather busy trying to get other things working on my C3200 before I go on holiday.

Hope to give it a go this week, assuming I can find a spare disk drive from an old PC.

Mike
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
alee16
post May 31 2006, 04:13 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 113
Joined: 30-May 06
Member No.: 10,009



QUOTE(mikew @ May 31 2006, 03:30 AM)
Not tried, been rather busy trying to get other things working on my C3200 before I go on holiday.

Hope to give it a go this week, assuming I can find a spare disk drive from an old PC.

Mike
*


My C1000 gets here tomorrow, and I will likewise try it, but also will be going on holiday soon, so it may be a while smile.gif .
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mikew
post May 31 2006, 06:00 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 193
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,402



Managed to get it to work, but had to manually mount it as it appears as /dev/sdb device, see attached.

As you can see it is an NTFS disk I borrowed from my Dell GX240 PC.

Mike
Attached File(s)
Attached File  scrn005.jpg ( 37.46K ) Number of downloads: 202
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Jun 1 2006, 06:37 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



http://linitx.com/product_info.php?products_id=945

For the Britons.

Hell, I'm getting one for my Desktops!

That will take alot of the pain out of System maintenance. . . .
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mikew
post Jun 1 2006, 11:36 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 193
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,402



Don't forget the NTFS drivers mount the drive as read only, so you can't write.

You may also experience problems writing to some disks using the built in file explorer, alternative file explorers such as TKCexplorer work.

Mike
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mikew
post Jun 2 2006, 01:13 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 193
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,402



Suggest that you keep a word document with the various mount & umount comands in it so that you can copy & paste into Qkonsole, saves a lot of typing as well as not having to remember the syntax.

You can also copy commands from Qkonsole into a document once you have perfected the syntax.

I keep mine in StageOne outliner along with all the other bits I need to remember.

Mike
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mars
post Jun 13 2006, 02:51 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 146
Joined: 5-October 04
Member No.: 4,881



For folks in the US, you can try this source for a similar product: http://www.newertech.com/products/products_univ_adptr.php

The price comes out a little less than the Brando one.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
desertrat
post Sep 27 2006, 04:06 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 742
Joined: 15-October 05
From: Gulag, Siberia
Member No.: 8,322



I've gotten myself one of these things (it's made by Unitek model Y-103, cost about USD20):

http://www.tech-top.com.hk/product_detail.php?product_id=293

It works nicely on my Z, I tried a 3.5" ide drive and also a cd writer (able write 4x speed on the fly without buffer under runs smile.gif).

My question is: using 2.5" ide disks it can be powered solely from the usb - I tried this plugged into my desktop - would my Z be able to supply enough power thru the usb? If not would it simply fail to work and not cause any lasting damage OR would my Z blow up if the drive tries to draw too much power?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mikew
post Sep 28 2006, 12:45 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 193
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,402



Doubt that it would work, Z battery would not last long if it did.

Suggest that you consider using a powered USB hub.

Mike
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
desertrat
post Oct 20 2006, 04:15 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 742
Joined: 15-October 05
From: Gulag, Siberia
Member No.: 8,322



QUOTE(mikew @ Sep 28 2006, 08:45 AM)
Doubt that it would work, Z battery would not last long if it did.

I'm not worried about battery life - my Z will be ac powered when using the HDD.

QUOTE
Suggest that you consider using a powered USB hub.

I tried plugging it directly into my Z, but as suspected it doesn't provide enough power. I guess I will have to try a powered hub next smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2014 - 10:35 AM