OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

6 Pages V  « < 4 5 6  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> USB HD attached to Z!
xjqian
post Feb 25 2006, 02:39 AM
Post #76





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-January 04
From: St. Louis, USA
Member No.: 1,478



QUOTE(polito @ Jan 11 2005, 01:32 AM)
mount -t iso9660 -o ro /dev/??? /mnt/cdrom' to put my cd-rom's on my filesystem
*


Got a cheapo external usb CD-ROM.

Tried /dev/scd0 and /dev/scd1, both failed. What device should I use to mount my CD-ROM

dmesg

Initializing USB Mass Storage driver ...
usb.c: registered new driver usb-storage
scsi0 : SCSI emulation for USB Mass Storage devices
Vendor: TEAC Model: CD-224E Rev: 1.5A
Type: CD-ROM ANSI SCSI revision: 02
WARNING: USB Mass Storage data integrity not assured
USB Mass Storage device found at 1
USB Mass Storage device support registered

sys info

Vendor: Genesys Logic, Inc.
Product: USB TO IDE
Class: Mass-Storage
ID: 05e3/0701
Driver: usb-storage
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
the_oak
post Mar 8 2006, 02:56 PM
Post #77





Group: Members
Posts: 426
Joined: 10-February 04
From: Virginia, USA
Member No.: 1,794



Got the 40 GB 5400 rpm laptop hd installed in the hard drive enclosure I mentioned a few posts back. It is this one:
Link

Good news and bad news! I formatted it fat32 and it accepted a single 40 GB partition. It is very quick to copy to and from (the good news). But it seems to trickle-charge from the Z even though the internal battery is fully charged. I tried putting electrical tape on the 2 center plug contacts (in normal USB devices the center contacts carry the current, and outside pair is for data). This resulted in the device not being recognized at all. After checking the USB mini-B specs, I tried taping the 2 outside contacts. This resulted in the device being recognized and still charging from the Z.

So for now, I can only use the 40 GB drive in bursts or it will drain the Z's battery. sad.gif

At least I don't have to have a power cord to the wall. smile.gif

This is cheaper than figlabs USB hard drive IF you already have a spare 2.5 inch hd laying around. Otherwise it might be worth their price not to have your Z's battery drained.

One more option might be this battery-powered USB hub by CyberPower:
Link

(Not affiliated with any of these venders.)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
persona
post Sep 28 2006, 07:24 AM
Post #78





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 5-August 06
Member No.: 10,649



Hey guys.

I've got a Vosonic 3320. After reading thru all the posts, I believe I should be able to connect it up, and theoretically, it should be able to detect. I did it, and this is the output I get after I ran dmesg.

CODE
hub.c: USB new device connect on bus1/1, assigned device number 30
usb.c: USB device 30 (vend/prod 0xd7d/0x1670) is not claimed by any active driver.
Initializing USB Mass Storage driver...
usb.c: registered new driver usb-storage
scsi0 : SCSI emulation for USB Mass Storage devices
 Vendor:           Model: VP3320            Rev: 1.09
 Type:   Direct-Access                      ANSI SCSI revision: 02
Attached scsi removable disk sda at scsi0, channel 0, id 0, lun 0
sda : READ CAPACITY failed.
sda : status = 1, message = 00, host = 0, driver = 08
Current sd00:00: sns = 70  2
ASC=3a ASCQ= 0
Raw sense data:0x70 0x00 0x02 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x0a 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x3a 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00
sda : block size assumed to be 512 bytes, disk size 1GB.  
sda: I/O error: dev 08:00, sector 0
I/O error: dev 08:00, sector 0
unable to read partition table
WARNING: USB Mass Storage data integrity not assured
USB Mass Storage device found at 30
USB Mass Storage support registered.


I'm not too sure if I'm doing it correctly. Even if I were to try and do a mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/hdd I get an error. I tried it with sda0 and it refused to mount.

On hindsight, my vosonic comes with 2 card slots built in. I guess when I plugged my drive in, my zaurus was trying to read one of the card slots? Since there wasn't any card in the slot, that explains the I/O error. Just a thought.

Anyone encountered this before? How about mounting a card reader? I guess if I manage to mount everything correctly, I'll probably end up with 2 card reader slots and a hdd.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Oct 2 2006, 01:32 PM
Post #79





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



I've also observed odd problems with multi-slot USB card readers, not only on linux but occasionally on windows too.

have you tried putting a card into the slots and mounting /dev/sda1 to see if it's the card and not the drive?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
persona
post Oct 4 2006, 04:55 AM
Post #80





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 5-August 06
Member No.: 10,649



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Oct 3 2006, 05:32 AM)
I've also observed odd problems with multi-slot USB card readers, not only on linux but occasionally on windows too.

have you tried putting a card into the slots and mounting /dev/sda1 to see if it's the card and not the drive?
*


Tried it, and still no luck. I even placed a SD card in one slot, and a microdrive into the other slot. Both have been verified to be readable by the drive itself, before connecting to my Z. Still refused to mount.

unsure.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pelrun
post Dec 1 2006, 06:13 AM
Post #81





Group: Members
Posts: 369
Joined: 6-September 04
From: Brisbane, Australia
Member No.: 4,488



I've just been playing with my old X'sDrivePro on my newly acquired (it's not really "new") 3100, and it readily mounted the HD without incident but it wouldn't let me mount an SD card inserted in it.

So I did a little digging.

Multi-card/HD devices show up as scsi devices in linux, which is good, and they give each separate slot a different LUN. Linux only attaches to the first LUN automatically. Which is bad. My device has the HD as LUN 0, so I have no problem getting it without further intervention, but I guess the vosonic has one of the card slots as LUN 0 instead.

So, the magic incantation to attach another LUN is:

CODE
echo 'scsi add-single-device 0 0 0 1' > /proc/scsi/scsi


where the "0 0 0 1" is host, channel, id, lun. Do a 'cat /proc/scsi/scsi' to get the first three numbers (probably 0 0 0 anyway), you should already have an entry with LUN 0. You would then keep incrementing the last number until they stopped working.

Or, you could do it the simple way and use the script I've attached. biggrin.gif It comes from http://www.garloff.de/kurt/linux/scsidev/, and I've modified it slightly to avoid problems with busybox. Unzip it, chmod +x it, then:

CODE
./rescan_scsi_bus.sh -l


It will then scan and attach to whatever it can (the -l is important! it wont scan LUNs >0 otherwise!)

Doing a "cat /proc/scsi/scsi" now should show you several new devices, which you can mount using /dev/sdb1, /dev/sdc1 etc.

My X'sDrivePro had devices on 4 LUNs, meaning /dev/sda1, /dev/sdb1, /dev/sdc1, /dev/sdd1. pdaXrom doesn't have the /dev/sddX devices, and guess which one my SD card was mapped to! dry.gif If you need them, creating the devices is easy.

CODE
mknod /dev/sdd b 8 48
mknod /dev/sdd1 b 8 49
mknod /dev/sdd2 b 8 50
mknod /dev/sdd3 b 8 51
mknod /dev/sdd4 b 8 52
mknod /dev/sdd5 b 8 53
mknod /dev/sdd6 b 8 54
mknod /dev/sdd7 b 8 55
mknod /dev/sdd8 b 8 56
mknod /dev/sdd9 b 8 57


The numbers are important. The first is always 8, the second starts at a multiple of 16 (sda is 0, sdb is 16, sdc is 32, sdd is 48 etc) and the numbered devices go up incrementally from there. I only actually needed sdd and sdd1, but it's better to be complete smile.gif

This post has been edited by pelrun: Dec 1 2006, 06:41 AM
Attached File(s)
Attached File  rescan_scsi_bus.zip ( 4.03K ) Number of downloads: 29
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

6 Pages V  « < 4 5 6
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th August 2014 - 07:31 PM