OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Archos Av500 Synchronisation Problem., Operating using "Windows Device" mode.
Cooldude
post Feb 16 2006, 06:31 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 16-February 06
Member No.: 9,146



Hi folks… This is my first post here.

I purchased the Archos AV500 two months ago. The device is in the default “Windows device” mode.

I rip my Audio Cds using Windows Media player 10 & DVDs using Xilisoft DVD ripper.

I synchronise both MP3 files & MP4 files onto the AV500 using Windows Media player 10. When synchronising MP3 audio files, the synchronising often gets stalled & after a long duration, I get an annoying message "The I/O operation has been aborted because of either a thread exit or an application request." mad.gif

This message appears & it holds up the entire synchronisation process for a long time before exiting the process finally. This happens only when uploading MP3 files ripped from CDs. & not when synchronising Mpeg4 files.

I sent an email to Archos Technical support seeking help and got the following reply:

QUOTE
Dear Customer,

Connect your device to the PC, and then defragment its hard drive.
After that run a scandisk on the hard drive of the device, and also perform
a "chkdsk" on it from the PC command box. You can have more informations
about this on the device's manual.

Kind Regards,
Archos Technical Support


I did the above but to no avail. I even formatted my player using the format option within the player & again tried resynchronising all the data. The problem still perisits. If I switch the device to “Hard Drive” mode, the synchronisation takes place smoothly, but I don’t get the Album picture displayed on the LCD screen during playback. sad.gif

Please help me with a suitable solution.

Thanks in advance.

Below: The AV500 during MP3 playback. (Synchronised in the “Windows device” mode).
The album cover on the right doesn't appear when the device is synchronised using the "Hard Drive" mode.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  DSC00345.JPG ( 83.99K ) Number of downloads: 114
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
and-E-See
post Feb 16 2006, 01:46 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 16-February 06
Member No.: 9,152



I use the Hard Drive mode, the Windows Mode seemed like hard work to me.

You can get the Album Picture by using the advanced tag editor in Windows Media Player 10 and adding the JPEG in the 'Pictures' section.

Hope this helps....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cooldude
post Feb 17 2006, 09:23 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 16-February 06
Member No.: 9,146



QUOTE(and-E-See @ Feb 17 2006, 04:16 AM)
I use the Hard Drive mode, the Windows Mode seemed like hard work to me.

You can get the Album Picture by using the advanced tag editor in Windows Media Player 10 and adding the JPEG in the 'Pictures' section.

Hope this helps....
*


Dude... that was very useful....Thanks a bunch. cool.gif

Man I never used this advanced tag editor in Windows Media Player 10.

I'll now switch the AV500 setting to "the hard drive mode" & then copy & paste the albums from the PC onto the AV500. Then add the image using the advanced tag editor.

Will post the outcome.

Thanks again... wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th September 2014 - 01:32 AM