OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Looking For Friendly Testers With Mac And Sharprom, New build of QuantumSTEP (Build 62)
dhns
post Jun 5 2005, 01:47 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 699
Joined: 26-February 04
From: near Munich, Germany
Member No.: 2,043



Dear all Mac&Zaurus users,

we have uploaded a new build of QuantumSTEP, the Mac-compatible GUI and Application Suite for the Zaurus (making it a real "MacPDA" with "OS X Lite")

It becomes more and more complete, stable and functional, and ou can test drive many of the applications directly on MacOS X (where you have to imagine the smaller Zaurus screen of course). Here is a download of the most recent Application suite: http://www.dsitri.de/download/myApps-1.5.tar.gz

Note: It is for the original Sharp ROMs only! Don't try to install on Cacko or OpenZaurus!

* To install, download the "Latest Build" from http://www.quantum-step.com/wiki.php?page=Downloads.
* Unpack and go to the Directory 'Install on Zaurus/Sharp ROM/Install_Files'.
* Copy the files QuantumSTEP_DR6_arm.ipk and QuantumSTEP-ZED-DR6.mypkg to the Zaurus (or a CF/SD card and plug into the Zaurus).
* Use the File manager on the zaurus to locate the file and double tap. This will open the Qtopia installer.
* Select Install QuantumSTEP.
* Install to "Internal Memory". If you don't have enough space, you can try a procedure to install on SD card as described here: http://www.quantum-step.com/wiki.php?page=TN003 but note that execution might be very slow.
* It takes 1-2 minutes to install.
* Close the installer.

To launch, go to the QuantumSTEP Application in Qtopia and tap. After some seconds, the X-Server should appear. After some additional seconds the System Menu and the palmtop should come. To calibrate the pen, just move to the 4 corners or edges of the screen.

You should find yourself in an environment similar to MacOS X Aqua. And since we have tried to even resemble the Menu structure and the general operation of the MacOS X applications (squeezed into a Zaurus screen), you should find operation very familiar. The myPalmtop applications allows you to quick-launch Mail, Calendar, Addresses, Notes/Stickies etc. by tapping on the top row of icons.

To reboot back to Qtopia, select Reboot in the golden delicious menu. Note, that on C3000 the machine hangs and needs a press on the button behind the battery lid.

Before you complain, there are still some unsolved issues in the current Build 62:
* The screen does not rotate and is fixed to 320x240 pixels (which will become possible when we integrate some Tiger extensions in AppKit)
* myFinder crashes shortly after popping up its window
* mySettings, myDate is not found
* on some models you have to tap on the screen before the windows of an application pops up
* the Web browser myAfrica does not work
* you can't store addresses in myAddresses
* integration of WLAN, GPRS and GPS is not yet complete (although it recognizes CF cards)
* myPhone does not dial into GSM...

We would be happy if you would give us general and specific feedback and questions through e-mail: mailto:feedback@quantum-step.com

Thank you very much,
-- hns
DSITRI
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Jun 5 2005, 12:38 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,026
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Sounds interesting and would like to try it out, hns. It would a nice addition to your ZMacSync app I'm using.

However, I'm recently installed Cacko b1.23 on my SL-C3000. Since Cacko is based upon the Sharp ROM, is there a reason why I can't try QuantumStep?

Thanks,

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dhns
post Jun 5 2005, 10:06 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 699
Joined: 26-February 04
From: near Munich, Germany
Member No.: 2,043



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Jun 5 2005, 09:38 PM)
However, I'm recently installed Cacko b1.23 on my SL-C3000. Since Cacko is based upon the Sharp ROM, is there a reason why I can't try QuantumStep?

QuantumSTEP uses some very special tricks to shut down Qtopia (telinit to change the run level and a setpgrp/sudo like wrapper) and we have had reports that this is not compatible with Cacko. But if you would like to help making it run properly, please send a PM.

-- hns
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dhns
post Jun 14 2005, 12:26 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 699
Joined: 26-February 04
From: near Munich, Germany
Member No.: 2,043



QUOTE(dhns @ Jun 6 2005, 07:06 AM)
QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Jun 5 2005, 09:38 PM)
However, I'm recently installed Cacko b1.23 on my SL-C3000. Since Cacko is based upon the Sharp ROM, is there a reason why I can't try QuantumStep?


We tried it out - and ArchiMark reports that it really works on Cacko b1.23! So, if you have problems with Cacko please upgrade to this version.

Thanks to ArchiMark!

-- hns
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eji
post Jun 14 2005, 03:34 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 233
Joined: 29-November 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 5,659



I knew I shouldn't have even touched this...

I followed the above instructions and installed on my 6000L. The installation seemed to go without a hitch, but upon exiting the Add/Remove software application the "QuantumSTEP" launcher app was nowhere to be seen. A myPDA directory does exist in /home but I see no way to access it through the Qtopia GUI.

Now my internal WiFi doesn't work in Qtopia: "Cannot process system file. /etc/pcmcia/network.opts-qpe-newcreation error".

And there's also no easy way to uninstall this. Do I simply delete the myPDA directory? Are there other associated files hiding elsewhere? Will that resolve my WiFi problems? Any advice would be useful.

Not ready for prime time. Not even ready for the late, late movie.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eji
post Jun 14 2005, 03:42 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 233
Joined: 29-November 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 5,659



Ah, well. Website says:

Supported Models

SL5500G
SL5600
SL-C7xx/8xx series
SL-C1000/C3000
SL6000L

But the INSTALL.rtf says:

Requirements to check before starting installation
• this package
• a Sharp Zaurus
- SL-5500 with ROM 3.10 (or 3.13)
- SL-C860 (tested with ROM 1.4)
- SL-C3000 (tested with ROM 1.0)

That might explain why I ran into problems. But it doesn't help me get back my WiFi and get this off my Z.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Jun 14 2005, 10:12 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



Probably be easier to reflash... It didn't work too well on my Z either. If someone could figure out how to port the newton os over that would rock!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eji
post Jun 14 2005, 10:27 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 233
Joined: 29-November 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 5,659



I deleted the myPDA folder using File Manager and it solved my problem. After rebooting I was able to connect via WiFi and there have been no nasty side effects. So far.

Sorry, dhns, but I'm going to continue to give QuantumSTEP a miss for a little while longer.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dhns
post Jun 15 2005, 02:32 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 699
Joined: 26-February 04
From: near Munich, Germany
Member No.: 2,043



QUOTE(eji @ Jun 14 2005, 07:27 PM)
I deleted the myPDA folder using File Manager and it solved my problem. After rebooting I was able to connect via WiFi and there have been no nasty side effects. So far.

Sorry, dhns, but I'm going to continue to give QuantumSTEP a miss for a little while longer.
*

Ok,
did not work on your SL6000L. We do not have all Sharp devices to test the latest versions and the statement that it works on the SL6000 comes from earlier reports by users. It definitively has been tested last week to work on SL5500, C860, C3000 with Sharp ROM and on a C3000 with Cacko b1.23.

Regarding WiFi, I have no idea what goes on since we simply install a large set of files to /home/myPDA - and do not touch WiFi. The nasty tricks begin when launching QS. We have to shut down Qtopia to get enough free process and shared library space from a process that needs to survive this shutdown procedure.

So, can you please help to find out what is going wrong?

-- hns
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dhns
post Jun 15 2005, 02:40 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 699
Joined: 26-February 04
From: near Munich, Germany
Member No.: 2,043



QUOTE(BarryW @ Jun 14 2005, 07:12 PM)
Probably be easier to reflash...  It didn't work too well on my Z either.

Which model did you try?
QUOTE
If someone could figure out how to port the newton os over that would rock!
*

What would be the benefit of porting a system which does not support the developments of the last years (e.g. some file formats) and has only a small developer community?

-- hns
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dhns
post Jun 15 2005, 02:42 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 699
Joined: 26-February 04
From: near Munich, Germany
Member No.: 2,043



QUOTE(eji @ Jun 14 2005, 07:27 PM)
I deleted the myPDA folder using File Manager and it solved my problem.

That can be a symptom of that your /home might have become 100% full - which leads to very strange effects.

Deletion can be done as with any package by using the Uninstall of the Qt package manager.

There is only one special thing: it does not delete the /home/myPDA/Users/zaurus folder in case you have stored something important there.

-- hns
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eji
post Jun 22 2005, 02:03 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 233
Joined: 29-November 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 5,659



For the benefit of potential testers:

I talked to hns via PM and came to the conclusion that my problems stemmed from too little internal flash space. So before writing off QS on the 6000 as incompatible, I'd say that amble flash memory would probably have had things running as smoothly as possible. I hope my sour comments don't discourage more capable folks from testing QS.

That said, I'm not (yet) up for resetting my Z to recover internal flash space. I had a few scares when trying to flash to pdaXrom, and I'm content to leave things as they are for the time bring. Maybe I'll get a bit more brave. Maybe I'll just get an MDA IV.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Jun 22 2005, 11:19 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



QUOTE(dhns @ Jun 15 2005, 01:40 AM)
QUOTE(BarryW @ Jun 14 2005, 07:12 PM)
Probably be easier to reflash...  It didn't work too well on my Z either.

Which model did you try?
QUOTE
If someone could figure out how to port the newton os over that would rock!
*

What would be the benefit of porting a system which does not support the developments of the last years (e.g. some file formats) and has only a small developer community?

-- hns
*


6000, just like in my sig. I don't know, I just liked my Newton... biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th October 2014 - 11:02 PM