OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Cell Phone + Zaurus
Legodude522
post Mar 11 2006, 03:42 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 130
Joined: 8-February 06
From: Jackson, NJ
Member No.: 9,097



Is it possible to use bluetooth cell phone with Zaurus[BT card] and use it for internet?

I got a clean slate, my cell phone[Cingular] contract expired.

The Cingular guy told me that it probably won't work but told me to check what people have done because my handheld runs Linux. Open source rocks smile.gif He was saying something how it needed a certain chip in the handheld which I dobut hte Zaurus has but hopefully there is some sort of way to emulate this chip.

I went to Verizon Wireless store, I talked to the salesman about data plans and using internet with devices and he said you can't unless I got a Treo or Blackberry and tethered. He was a freaking jerk! He kept on saaying that I should just buy the phone and use it for 15 days and I can return it within that time. So my mom and I said goodbye and we walked out. Verizon wireless sucks. lol.

Nextel isn't an option in my area... no reception.

Any ideas? What can I do? I'll go with anything.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Mar 11 2006, 04:05 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(Legodude522 @ Mar 12 2006, 09:42 AM)
Is it possible to use bluetooth cell phone with Zaurus[BT card] and use it for internet?

I got a clean slate, my cell phone[Cingular] contract expired. 

The Cingular guy told me that it probably won't work but told me to check what people have done because my handheld runs Linux.  Open source rocks smile.gif  He was saying something how it needed a certain chip in the handheld which I dobut hte Zaurus has but hopefully there is some sort of way to emulate this chip.

I went to Verizon Wireless store, I talked to the salesman about data plans and using internet with devices and he said you can't unless I got a Treo or Blackberry and tethered.  He was a freaking jerk!  He kept on saaying that I should just buy the phone and use it for 15 days and I can return it within that time.  So my mom and I said goodbye and we walked out.  Verizon wireless sucks.  lol.

Nextel isn't an option in my area... no reception.

Any ideas?  What can I do?  I'll go with anything.
*


It certainly works provided you got a GPRS enabled data plan for your bluetooth enabled phone. All you need then is a bluetooth cf or usb dongle.
Configuring it is not that hard. see http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/cus...html#networking or search the forums for gprs.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Mar 11 2006, 04:54 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



if it has a data cable or bluetooth and can be used as a modem then it will work

if it dosent have a data cable then you just have to find where to wire up a serial cable smile.gif

so basically thats 99.999% of phones out there
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bluedevils
post Mar 11 2006, 08:51 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 31-January 04
From: Vancouver, BC -> NYC, NY
Member No.: 1,633



Here's the deal. Both Cingular and Verizon discourage you and disable most of their phones from using BT DUN. I just switched from cingular to sprint for this very reason. Verizon has just allowed phone as a modem, but only through a usb cable and not Bluetooth. My sprint phone came with BT DUN enabled and there were two phone as a modem data packages to choose from. I chose the unlimited data at $39.99 a month. I hear t-mobile is unlimited, but their network is supposedly really slow.

As to the zaurus, it wasn't too hard with the cacko rom and the right BT card. There's a degree of freedom to be able to connect to the internet at an OK speed, but without looking for a hotspot or without configuring for each wifi connection.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Legodude522
post Mar 12 2006, 08:12 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 130
Joined: 8-February 06
From: Jackson, NJ
Member No.: 9,097



Can I use an ISP such as NetZero on the Zaurus? So I can just dial through the cell phone.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bluedevils
post Mar 12 2006, 01:13 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 31-January 04
From: Vancouver, BC -> NYC, NY
Member No.: 1,633



I do not know for sure, but I have never heard of someone doing that. I wouldn't imagine that the phone can do that. It is probably only designed to access only the telco's data network.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Mar 12 2006, 01:33 PM
Post #7





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(Legodude522 @ Mar 12 2006, 05:12 PM)
Can I use an ISP such as NetZero on the Zaurus?  So I can just dial through the cell phone.
*


When you make a data call using GSM, there's *no* modem inside the phone, it emulates a modem, and the data call is actually made on your behalf by a device at the cellular operator. THis is how they can stop you doing it.

To call any old data number means using the same data channel which basic GSM standard uses for voice channel, which is usually 9600 bits/sec, some times you can achieve as much as 14400 depending on the compatibility between phone and operator, and what operator allows you to do.

Some operators provide HSCD, others provide GPRS and even EDGE. It's too technical to go into, but these are locked down to only allow data access via the cellular operator, and are natted, filtered, proxied and only any good for a bit of web and email!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cmonex
post Mar 12 2006, 07:07 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 92
Joined: 4-March 06
Member No.: 9,288



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Mar 12 2006, 11:33 PM)
Some operators provide HSCD, others provide GPRS and even EDGE. It's too technical to go into, but these are locked down to only allow data access via the cellular operator, and are natted, filtered, proxied and only any good for a bit of web and email!
*


sounds like my country is more liberal, gprs and edge isnt locked to just a bit of web... that would be called wap laugh.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Legodude522
post Mar 12 2006, 09:13 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 130
Joined: 8-February 06
From: Jackson, NJ
Member No.: 9,097



Hey peeps. I got my new phone from Cingular and another 2 year contract. It has BT and IR. Thread on it here.

I do not own a bluetooth CF card yet.

I used for my iBook via bluetooth which worked flawlessly. I did have to install the modem script.

I want to use my phone with my Zaurus via IrDA PPP. I have everything entered in correctly as far as login, DNS, #, and such. It isn't working. The only difference is that my iBook had the modem script which I installed an chose. The Zaurus does not. Is that the problem?

Cresho recommened that I leave the Init commands blank. I did that and still nothing.

I want to be able to confirm that I can use the same kind of connection with a BT CF card and my phone.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cresho
post Mar 12 2006, 10:12 PM
Post #10





Group: Moderators
Posts: 1,619
Joined: 29-October 03
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 809



yeah.. we spoke a bit and he is out of luck at the moment.

I recommend you try another time. I was out of data connection for 2 weeks. when i spoke with you, it was my first time trying to log into the net ever since my girlfriend lost connection 2 weeks ago waiting for me at the hospital parking lot browsing the net while i was looking for a few patients to take care of the next day for school. for 3 days streight, i did not have data connections. this may be the case. Also, i recommend talking to your service provider. call them and ask them how you can access the net with the irda from your device. If you tell them you have linux zaurus, most likely they will drop you and let you go but if you insist, they may help a good deal. It may be a init string you need to type in, it may be something else.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Legodude522
post Mar 12 2006, 10:32 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 130
Joined: 8-February 06
From: Jackson, NJ
Member No.: 9,097



QUOTE(Cresho @ Mar 13 2006, 02:12 AM)
yeah.. we spoke a bit and he is out of luck at the moment.

I recommend you try another time.  I was out of data connection for 2 weeks.  when i spoke with you, it was my first time trying to log into the net ever since my girlfriend lost connection 2 weeks ago waiting for me at the hospital parking lot browsing the net while i was looking for a few patients to take care of the next day for school.  for 3 days streight, i did not have data connections.  this may be the case.  Also, i recommend talking to your service provider.  call them and ask them how you can access the net with the irda from your device.  If you tell them you have linux zaurus, most likely they will drop you and let you go but if you insist, they may help a good deal.  It may be a init string you need to type in, it may be something else.
*

Why would BT work on my iBook but not IrDA on my Zaurus? It could be the init string.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Mar 12 2006, 10:58 PM
Post #12





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(cmonex @ Mar 13 2006, 04:07 AM)
QUOTE(speculatrix @ Mar 12 2006, 11:33 PM)

Some operators provide HSCD, others provide GPRS and even EDGE. It's too technical to go into, but these are locked down to only allow data access via the cellular operator, and are natted, filtered, proxied and only any good for a bit of web and email!
*


sounds like my country is more liberal, gprs and edge isnt locked to just a bit of web... that would be called wap laugh.gif
*



you misunderstand, I mean that the cellco provides the internet connection and thus can dictate exactly what you get to see - some will not let VPN, SSH and other traffic through for example... you can't connect to another ISP.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Legodude522
post Mar 14 2006, 06:30 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 130
Joined: 8-February 06
From: Jackson, NJ
Member No.: 9,097



Would it be reasonable if I just bought a Bluetooth CF card anyway? BT and my phone work on my iBook.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Mar 15 2006, 02:10 AM
Post #14





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(Legodude522 @ Mar 15 2006, 03:30 AM)
Would it be reasonable if I just bought a Bluetooth CF card anyway?  BT and my phone work on my iBook.
*


I bought a cheapio CF bluetooth card off ebay for a GBP10 (US$16). Just be sure to check the wiki for a list of compatible devices - most are, some aren't. Look at the device identifier on the back of the card as the branding on the front is no guide!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Mar 15 2006, 03:14 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



I remember there was a linux program that would let you tunnel data over DNS requests and another that did the same for http
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th July 2014 - 08:05 AM