OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Drive Permissions
Johnnas
post Feb 20 2008, 11:46 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 4-February 08
Member No.: 21,334



I am setting up a DSL rig. I have sorted out most of the problems that I have been having (thx in part to the people on this forum). My biggest issue right now is that I don't understand why my floppy drive (/dev/fd0) and my hard drive (/dev/hda1) are write protected, and my flash drive (/dev/sda1) is not. They all have similar permissions as set through chmod, they all have the same file type (buffered/blocked), and the owners for all of them and the groups for all of them are the same.

What I am trying to do is use the floppy as my removeable media. How can I change its write protected status?

Thx in advance
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
InSearchOf
post Feb 20 2008, 12:15 PM
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,210
Joined: 20-January 06
From: York, Pennsylvania
Member No.: 8,961



QUOTE(Johnnas @ Feb 20 2008, 02:46 PM) *
I am setting up a DSL rig. I have sorted out most of the problems that I have been having (thx in part to the people on this forum). My biggest issue right now is that I don't understand why my floppy drive (/dev/fd0) and my hard drive (/dev/hda1) are write protected, and my flash drive (/dev/sda1) is not. They all have similar permissions as set through chmod, they all have the same file type (buffered/blocked), and the owners for all of them and the groups for all of them are the same.

What I am trying to do is use the floppy as my removeable media. How can I change its write protected status?

Thx in advance


What is on the drive? (/hda1) is it an NTFS partition? if so... I know in the earlier verisons of DSL it wouldnt mount NTFS partitions due to possible corruption.
But this was about 1yr 1/2 ago and the NTFS drivers have greatly enhanced...

Now if it is a linux partition... do a "mount" and see if it is set at RO from being mounted... in /etc/fstab... from there you can just mount it again rw with -o rw

Late
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
InSearchOf
post Feb 20 2008, 12:17 PM
Post #3





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,210
Joined: 20-January 06
From: York, Pennsylvania
Member No.: 8,961



or... if you are building from an DSL CD or installed a version of DSL... the root partition (maybe hda1) is prolly readonly for a reason.

Late
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th September 2014 - 07:00 PM