OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Suspend Crashes, Does suspend work for you on OpenBSD?
fquindos
post May 20 2006, 11:20 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 10-May 06
Member No.: 9,826



Hello. I have consistent crashes when suspending for more than a few minutes. It doesn't matter if I click the power button, use "apm -S", "zzz" or close the lid with lidsuspend=1. Pressing the power button after it has been suspended for a short while works, but I get console messages saying, for example

wd0e: aborted command writing fsbn 5248 of 5248-5251 (wd0 bn 1562608; cn ...
wd0: soft error (corrected)

However, if I let the Zaurus sleep for 15 - 30 minutes, after pressing the power button the disk drive (green led) comes up, but the display remains black and the keyboard doesn't work. I need to do a reset.

Does anyone have any suggestion? Does it work for you?

By the way, I have a 3200 and an OpenBSD 3.9 snapshot. It also happened with 3.9-release and a prerelease snapshot.

Thank you,
Francisco
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TronDD
post May 20 2006, 04:36 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 6-January 05
Member No.: 6,137



Same here on a 3000 with 3.9 snapshot. I've been leaving the Z running all the time.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iamasmith
post May 21 2006, 11:24 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,248
Joined: 6-July 04
Member No.: 3,928



I have only had the problem with suspending where it doesn't resume once. There is a seperate suspend issue where it won't resume after being charged if it has gone into a 'panic suspend' state due to low battery which may be resolved by resuming the unit a couple of times after plugging in the charger though.

The error that you receive is normal on the Zaurus and it just reflects that OpenBSD is writing the unflushed data that it needed to write but that was interrupted by the suspend sequence.

-Andy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sequethin
post May 24 2006, 10:28 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 72
Joined: 12-December 04
Member No.: 5,903



QUOTE(iamasmith @ May 21 2006, 03:24 PM)
I have only had the problem with suspending where it doesn't resume once. There is a seperate suspend issue where it won't resume after being charged if it has gone into a 'panic suspend' state due to low battery which may be resolved by resuming the unit a couple of times after plugging in the charger though.

The error that you receive is normal on the Zaurus and it just reflects that OpenBSD is writing the unflushed data that it needed to write but that was interrupted by the suspend sequence.

-Andy
*



I've also had the "panic suspend" issue on my 3000 where even after a charging the z wont turn on. eventually it did turn on after removing the battery, plugging/unplugging the power. I wish the z didn't lose charge so fast. I try to keep it plugged in when possible but it seems wrong that it would lose it's charge after a day of not being plugged in.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iamasmith
post May 24 2006, 12:44 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1,248
Joined: 6-July 04
Member No.: 3,928



QUOTE(Sequethin @ May 24 2006, 06:28 PM)
QUOTE(iamasmith @ May 21 2006, 03:24 PM)
I have only had the problem with suspending where it doesn't resume once. There is a seperate suspend issue where it won't resume after being charged if it has gone into a 'panic suspend' state due to low battery which may be resolved by resuming the unit a couple of times after plugging in the charger though.

The error that you receive is normal on the Zaurus and it just reflects that OpenBSD is writing the unflushed data that it needed to write but that was interrupted by the suspend sequence.

-Andy
*



I've also had the "panic suspend" issue on my 3000 where even after a charging the z wont turn on. eventually it did turn on after removing the battery, plugging/unplugging the power. I wish the z didn't lose charge so fast. I try to keep it plugged in when possible but it seems wrong that it would lose it's charge after a day of not being plugged in.
*



I would suggest cycling the unit at least once a month... full charge and let it run to panic suspend.

This helps to condition the battery. I do this and can reliably get 3 hours runtime (remember the hd is constantly active) and charge every 3 days or so if I'm using the unit infrequently.

-Andy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sequethin
post May 25 2006, 11:33 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 72
Joined: 12-December 04
Member No.: 5,903



now in regards to a full charge... there's an orange led when the unit is charging, which is normal... my powerbook does the same. orange for charging, green for charged. there are times that apm will report the unit as 100% charged, but the light remains on. In fact, if I listened to apm's stats I'd probably never have a fully charged zaurus because it will report 100% charged after an hour or so when the light will actually remain orange for much longer - never timed it but 3-5 hours?

is this just my z or is it across the board?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TronDD
post May 25 2006, 01:09 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 6-January 05
Member No.: 6,137



Yes, I see that, too. Apm almost always tells me it's 100% charge. I've had the Zaurus off the charger for as long as an hour and apm tells me it's 90% I guess I get kickin' battery life.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sequethin
post May 26 2006, 07:26 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 72
Joined: 12-December 04
Member No.: 5,903



QUOTE(TronDD @ May 25 2006, 05:09 PM)
Yes, I see that, too.  Apm almost always tells me it's 100% charge.  I've had the Zaurus  off the charger for as long as an hour and apm tells me it's 90%  I guess I get kickin' battery life.
*



right...except that it will take an hour go from from 100% to 90% and then 10 minutes to go from 75% to 0% sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fquindos
post May 26 2006, 07:56 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 10-May 06
Member No.: 9,826



Yes, apm charge not 100% means the battery is almost empty smile.gif

I get more than 3 h, and that would be good enough if I could suspend.
But I can't. I need to shutdown because it is faster to restart with clean
filesystems. I was wondering what could be different between my setup,
that crashes always on suspend, and the setup of some of you, that only
crashes from time to time.

Any idea?

QUOTE(Sequethin @ May 26 2006, 05:26 PM)
QUOTE(TronDD @ May 25 2006, 05:09 PM)
Yes, I see that, too.  Apm almost always tells me it's 100% charge.  I've had the Zaurus  off the charger for as long as an hour and apm tells me it's 90%  I guess I get kickin' battery life.
*



right...except that it will take an hour go from from 100% to 90% and then 10 minutes to go from 75% to 0% sad.gif
*

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ddpbsd
post May 27 2006, 07:54 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 27-May 06
Member No.: 9,982



Suspend was working VERY well for me until recently. I'm not sure if it was something that has changed in recentish snapshots or just the face I've been running on the "cool" apm setting.
I haven't been in a convenient place to record the ddb info though.

I'm reinstalling with the latest snapshot today to see if that helps.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sylvain
post Jun 16 2006, 08:49 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 6-March 06
Member No.: 9,300



Does anyone have some news about this crash ? or knows a way to avoid it (other than never suspending) ?

The two latests snapshots works worst on this issue and seems not to be able to resume after a suspend (the bug is systematic).

(my zaurus is a C3100)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ddpbsd
post Jun 20 2006, 04:31 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 27-May 06
Member No.: 9,982



I've got it working on my C3000, mostly. I'm using a recent snapshot (June 12). apmd is NOT running, and I use the power button (hold it in for 2s) to suspend. I haven't done extensive testing, but I remember having issues when running at 90mhz, but 208 has been working just fine.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ddpbsd
post Jun 20 2006, 11:12 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 27-May 06
Member No.: 9,982



http://marc.theaimsgroup.com/?l=openbsd-cv...82806831678&w=2

Looks like it's been fixed...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sylvain
post Jun 21 2006, 09:45 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 6-March 06
Member No.: 9,300



QUOTE(ddpbsd @ Jun 20 2006, 11:12 AM)

Yep, it seems fixed in the 3.9 stable. But it looks like there is a new bug introduced in snapshot.

However, hugs to the guy that fixed it smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jpmatrix
post Oct 19 2006, 04:53 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 1,019
Joined: 15-February 05
From: France
Member No.: 6,477



QUOTE(sylvain @ Jun 21 2006, 07:45 PM)
Yep, it seems fixed in the 3.9 stable. But it looks like there is a new bug introduced in snapshot.



yes,
i've installed latest snapshot and the suspend bug is still there...
did someone find a proper method to suspend ?

mine for now is to boot qtopia then suspend.........

except from that i'm totally happy about OpenBSD on my Z ! keep up the good work!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

5 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd September 2014 - 02:20 PM