OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> my 760 has no OS, apparently, and this is how much lick I've
jfweber
post Mar 31 2004, 08:29 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 31-March 04
Member No.: 2,577



ugh... after attempting twice to update my 760 w/ the tkc roms, and getting nowhere .. I tried both of cacko's updates, and well, I must have screwed *something* up, or I should be at least able to login.. right? The one frm the pdaxrom leaves me w/ a screen that has that accross the top of teh screen, but there was no calibration screen, and although a curser is blinking, I can type nada...
then I went back to an older one that was lying about on my HD, and that also doesn't give me a screen for calibrating nor will it accept anything typed.. so I'm left w/ a bright shiny 760 that is useless... and no I didn't install anything other than the three files that unpack, nothing else is mentioned in the readme to at least get me to a login and eventually via startx a desktop

HEEEEEEEEEELP!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Mar 31 2004, 08:37 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Try whipping the battery out for a few (6?) seconds, then plug back in and switch back on (hardware button), see if it works then.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jfweber
post Mar 31 2004, 09:21 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 31-March 04
Member No.: 2,577



QUOTE
Try whipping the battery out for a few (6?) seconds, then plug back in and switch back on (hardware button), see if it works then.


Si


ack... now I have a flashing sharp "wait" sign.. and some more blinking at bottom of screen.
At least part of the problem seeded to be an error in the rom, as a new one was released today... but I still don't have a useable Zaurus,,
grrrrr!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
padishah_emperor
post Mar 31 2004, 09:38 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 849
Joined: 6-March 04
Member No.: 2,180



Try and reflash a rom, try Cacko ROM 1.20, extract the three files onto a FRESHLY FORMATTED compact flash card, follow the instructions, I tend to remove the battery for 30 seconds, you must make sure you repartition to 26MB, after it reboots and you get the sharp logo, remove the battery again and repeat the process, install the new ROM and ensure you format the user flash area, after that reboot you should get the OS up, it takes a while to load. It will say 'Wait' and count down 5 to 1..
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
padishah_emperor
post Mar 31 2004, 09:39 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 849
Joined: 6-March 04
Member No.: 2,180



PS, provided you haven't tried a NAND restore and failed, it won't be bricked..
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th September 2014 - 05:41 PM