OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Swap On Sd - Is It Possible?, SD hangs and remount.
new2006
post Aug 3 2006, 12:17 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 1-August 06
Member No.: 10,593



Hi All,

I am a new happy owner of the C1000. The OS is Cacko 1.23.
So, to use as a storage I bought a new SD card Transcend - 1GB. It works. What is the next step? Sure, I tried create a swap on the card. First try was with the memory plugins. There was no reaction for a long time. Just the battery went down slowly. Then everything has aborted. I checked the mount options - SD card is mounted read-only! unsure.gif Second, third try - all the same. My battery was already empty. Recharged and again - the same. Then I decided make everything manually and started "dd". The same. The card in SysInfo is recignised as "Hitachi". Of course I have rebooted or remounted the card every time.
Could anybody advise me something to create a swap on the SD?

Thanks in advance!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cresho
post Aug 3 2006, 04:10 PM
Post #2





Group: Moderators
Posts: 1,619
Joined: 29-October 03
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 809



cacko has a memory applet.

click on it on lower right corner. highlight sd and create sd swap file. after it is created, highlight sd again and say "ON" and you have more memory.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
new2006
post Aug 4 2006, 01:38 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 1-August 06
Member No.: 10,593



QUOTE(Cresho @ Aug 4 2006, 01:10 AM)
cacko has a memory applet.

click on it on lower right corner.  highlight sd and create sd swap file.  after it is created, highlight sd again and say "ON" and you have more memory.
*


Thank for the answer, but in what I described in the first message, the memory applet named I "memory plugins". All the first hang problems had I with the try to create the SD swap file. sad.gif And, as I see, it is not an applet problem, cose the same is with the ordinary "dd". sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Aug 5 2006, 02:44 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



use
dd if=/dev/zero of=<path to sd card>/swapfile bs=1024k count=<size in MB>
mkswap <path to sd card>/swapfile
swapon <path to sd card>/swapfile

changing anything inside <> to what it specifies
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
new2006
post Aug 6 2006, 04:02 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 1-August 06
Member No.: 10,593



QUOTE(Da_Blitz @ Aug 5 2006, 11:44 AM)
use
dd if=/dev/zero of=<path to sd card>/swapfile bs=1024k count=<size in MB>
mkswap <path to sd card>/swapfile
swapon <path to sd card>/swapfile

changing anything inside <> to what it specifies
*


I used it, like described at the first message. During the dd command my Zaurus hanged ande the power (battery charge) went down. Some time later (any timeout?) the card was mounted read-only. And the size of the created file was some hundred K only. So it looks very similar the reaction of the system to the swap creation tries by applet and from terminal emulator.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
new2006
post Aug 22 2006, 12:49 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 1-August 06
Member No.: 10,593



Hmmm... Interesting. This brandname "transcend" was enough to play. At last I bought another SD-card. Noname 1GB for 19.90. And it works. Perfect. I could create 2 slices, make a swap and so on. Is it true, that cheaper card is better? blink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Aug 22 2006, 06:08 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(new2006 @ Aug 23 2006, 06:49 AM)
Hmmm... Interesting. This brandname "transcend" was enough to play. At last I bought another SD-card. Noname 1GB for 19.90. And it works. Perfect. I could create 2 slices, make a swap and so on. Is it true, that cheaper card is better?  blink.gif
*


made in Taiwan is good, everything else is crap smile.gif
seriously, nowadays, the quality of most electronics is quite good that the expensive brands only differentiate themselves through better marketing and higher prices, but quality and support wise, they aren't much better....
For SD cards, they may be faster, but the Zaurus does not care so the cheaper the better...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th November 2014 - 06:34 PM