OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> X48 Ipk For Pdaxrom 1.10beta1, HP48 Emulator, working for pdaXrom
anunakin
post Jan 9 2006, 01:33 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 340
Joined: 22-August 04
From: Belem, Brasil
Member No.: 4,358



Feed: http://zaurus.vivaphp.net/pdaxrom/misc
IPK: http://zaurus.vivaphp.net/pdaxrom/misc/x48....3_armv5tel.ipk
Sources: http://zaurus.vivaphp.net/pdaxrom/misc/src...Xrom-src.tar.gz

Compiled with gcc 3.4.5 laugh.gif

Project:
http://developer.berlios.de/projects/x48/

HP48 ROM:
http://download.berlios.de/x48/x48-gxrom-r.tar.gz

More info:
http://sense.net/zc/x48/
http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=12349&st=0

Thx to Datajerk, for 640x480 patch
and W14 for font error solution

I made a new Makefile and compiled in my SL-C3100... and works great....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
aaaweez
post Feb 9 2006, 12:13 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 9-February 06
Member No.: 9,101



thanks for the work on this.

I managed after some minor trial and error to get it going, and it is great to have access to my trusty hp calculator without having to drag it along.

Briefly here is what I vaguely remember about some of the problems I ran into:
I had no idea where to put the rom, so I just tried running it. At first running it from the icon did nothing, so I opened a shell and ran it. It was complaining that it didn't have a .hp48 directory, and no rom.dump file I believe.

Creating a .hp48 directory and experimenting with rom.dump and rom for the filename was getting me nowhere, so I tried command line options instead. I ran it with "x48 -rom romfile", and then it complained about missing a medium font.

I opened xfontsel, and saw that the font it was looking for didnt seem to exist, so I looked around in the package feed to see if there were any packages I was missing. I could not find anything so I swapped around font specifier info on xfontsel until I found a font that rendered, and then plugged that into the mediumfont command line parameter (check help output for exact parameter). So the command I ran from command line was something like "x48 -rom romfile -mediumfont 'somestuff-charter-rest-same-as-error'". (the only part of my font name that changed was the charter part. everything else stayed the same).

It then complained about the large font missing. Same drill again, adding the large font specifier. In the end it ran, and everything works fine.

The icing on the cake is that somehow that config info got written to a file, because without any help from me, it now runs from the icon.

* end of rambling *

It works great on landscape mode, and fits perfectly on the screen. Anyone have any idea how much work it would be to make it rotate when the clamshell is rotated to portrait mode? I briefly looked at the source, and can only guess it would take some real trickery to pull it off without have to fix some of the assumptions there.

-aaaweez
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
anunakin
post Feb 9 2006, 12:38 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 340
Joined: 22-August 04
From: Belem, Brasil
Member No.: 4,358



aaaweez:
You using pdaXrom 1.10 beta1?

For works in portrait mode we need recompile... with a patch in .c files.... and some portions of HP48 keyboard goes out of screen ph34r.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
silencer51
post Feb 9 2006, 01:20 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 172
Joined: 9-November 05
From: Athens-Patras, Greece
Member No.: 8,504



This great anunakin! I installed the ipk succesfully, now if someone could please tell me where the .hp48 directory should go...

Also, it seems I am missing a library, libreadline. Where can i get this?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
anunakin
post Feb 9 2006, 03:26 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 340
Joined: 22-August 04
From: Belem, Brasil
Member No.: 4,358



QUOTE(silencer51 @ Feb 9 2006, 09:20 PM)
This great anunakin! I installed the ipk succesfully, now if someone could please tell me where the .hp48 directory should go...

Also, it seems I am missing a library, libreadline. Where can i get this?
*


You need put .hp48 in /home/root

And you need install readline package, this is on 7x0 feed...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
datajerk
post Feb 9 2006, 03:41 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 219
Joined: 14-February 04
Member No.: 1,861



QUOTE(silencer51 @ Feb 9 2006, 03:20 PM)
This great anunakin! I installed the ipk succesfully, now if someone could please tell me where the .hp48 directory should go...

Also, it seems I am missing a library, libreadline. Where can i get this?
*

Create .hp48 in your home directory. Put the ROM image in there as 'rom'. That's it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
silencer51
post Feb 9 2006, 03:57 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 172
Joined: 9-November 05
From: Athens-Patras, Greece
Member No.: 8,504



Ok, that did it, thanks! :-)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
datajerk
post Feb 9 2006, 04:04 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 219
Joined: 14-February 04
Member No.: 1,861



The patch I created for the screen layout also has a few other minor fixes for the clock and performance. I think the performance/clock patch may be have been omitted. If the x48 recompile for pdaxrom using my patch does not perform at the same speed as a real hp48gx and/or has DST issues let me know (ask for timer.c and actions.c).

As for the readline issue, the version on http://sense.net/zc/x48/ does not require it. You can probably rebuild x48 without readline by editing the Makefile. It is used for debugging, something that you probably do not care about.

Lastly, portrait mode. x48 without the patch is in portrait, but is too tall for the screen (326x733). You need to shave off about 100 pixels. Shouldn't be too hard, but to get it to switch dynamically may be a pain. Since the hp48 retains state between power on/off (x84 close/open), I'd suggest that if someone wants to do this that closing and opening may be easier.

The 49g+ uses a 75MHz ARM9 processor, that I'd like to see on the Z.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
datajerk
post Feb 9 2006, 04:08 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 219
Joined: 14-February 04
Member No.: 1,861



A tip I should have mentioned. x48 can be controlled from the keyboard, but you need left and right shift keys mapped to get to all the keys. X/qt only has both shift mapped as left (or right, I cannot call). I could not find a way with X/qt to have the left shift mapped as left, right as right, so I mapped another key.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
datajerk
post Feb 9 2006, 04:15 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 219
Joined: 14-February 04
Member No.: 1,861



Unrelated, but I have also fixed cgoban for 640x480 screens if you want to create a pdaxrom version. http://sense.net/zc/go/.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
aaaweez
post Feb 9 2006, 09:47 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 9-February 06
Member No.: 9,101



QUOTE(anunakin @ Feb 9 2006, 12:38 PM)
aaaweez:
You using pdaXrom 1.10 beta1?

For works in portrait mode we need recompile... with a patch in .c files.... and some portions of HP48 keyboard goes out of screen  ph34r.gif
*


yes. I am using 1.1.0beta1. I am wondering if the problems I experienced had something to do with the fact that I was running it from a shell on my desktop. When I ran it just now from the desktop, here is what I had to run:
CODE
cd; cd .hp48
x48 -rom l48r -medium '-*-charter-bold-r-normal-*-15-*-*-*-*-*-iso8859-1' -large '-*-charter-bold-r-normal-*-20-*-*-*-*-*-iso8859-1'


oh wait. that would be the problem. Looking in the directory I see that I left a copy of the rom with the filename "rom". I thought I had moved the file everytime I tried a different filename, but evidently not. That is why it started working from the icon. Well, now everyone knows how to launch it on their desktop machine. Yay biggrin.gif

Out of curiosity, I checked out the screen running on my desktop and measured it using kruler. I was wondering if it would be possible to shave stuff off and make it fit in a 480x640 landscape mode. KDE reports the window size to be 640x425. If we simply stick the top half and bottom half back together into one bitmap, it would make a window size of around 320x850. As you said, this would definately not fit on the zaurus screen. However, if we were willing to shave off unused pieces of the display, it might just fit.

Measurements:
From top of calculator to top of LCD ~80 pixels
From bottom of LCD to top of A-F keys ~20 pixels
From bottom of A-F keys to bottom of screen ~90 pixels

If we shave all of that out of the bitmap, that saves ~190 pixels, which would make the window size 320x660.

I know I don't have the time to mess with doing this right now, but it is something I might pursue at some point, if no one beats me to it. In the meantime, I will just enjoy it in landscape mode tongue.gif .

-aaaweez
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th November 2014 - 09:10 PM