OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Screenshots Of Rc10 Running Kde 3.4 Here, come in and see ;)
chris08
post May 19 2005, 04:08 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 21-May 04
Member No.: 3,377



I took some shots of KDE running natively on the Z in pdaXrom. As always, my compliments to Sashz, Laze and the pdaXrom team!
Programms in KDE take some time to load, but once they are up, speed is quite tolerable.
Here are some pictures of KDE running on my 750 from SD card.

Take care
chris
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post May 19 2005, 04:51 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



SH*T! very cool.

How snappy is ist..compared to the default wm?

how did you get it loaded... i got a bunch of ./opt does not exist errors (maybe because I don't have /home?)

where does it load its files?

tell us more smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
badog
post May 19 2005, 05:41 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 248
Joined: 25-November 04
Member No.: 5,608



where is feeds of KED?
smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sashz
post May 19 2005, 07:48 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 388
Joined: 7-December 03
Member No.: 1,058



QUOTE(chris08 @ May 19 2005, 04:08 PM)
I took some shots of KDE running natively on the Z in pdaXrom. As always, my compliments to Sashz, Laze and the pdaXrom team!
Programms in KDE take some time to load, but once they are up, speed is quite tolerable.
Here are some pictures of KDE running on my 750 from SD card.

Take care
chris
*


for start on default (that will init kde right) from clean console:

ln -sf /usr/lib/kde/bin/startkde ~/.xinitrc
startx

smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hbo
post May 19 2005, 08:45 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 95
Joined: 5-March 05
Member No.: 6,576



KDE 3.4 Hmmm?

Runs knx, I presume??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
badog
post May 19 2005, 08:52 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 248
Joined: 25-November 04
Member No.: 5,608



software feed?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pgas
post May 19 2005, 09:28 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1,099
Joined: 17-December 03
From: Athens, Greece
Member No.: 1,210



http://212.10.30.205/rc10/Zaurus-7x0-860/feed/

kdelibs kdebase
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
badog
post May 19 2005, 10:32 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 248
Joined: 25-November 04
Member No.: 5,608



thank for your help.Mr. pqas

fn key is unable sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Laze
post May 20 2005, 10:23 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 704
Joined: 9-October 03
From: Denmark
Member No.: 20



ohhhh.. Did we forget to mention that ;-)

He he... Don't try to install to root btw.. :-)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chero
post May 21 2005, 10:40 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 1,141
Joined: 22-April 04
From: Belgium
Member No.: 2,962



QUOTE(badog @ May 20 2005, 07:32 AM)
thank for your help.Mr. pqas

fn key is unable sad.gif
*


Just "startx" - to start the default window manager
Then in an "aterm" : "startkde"

(The windows aren't as pretty, it uses a bit more memory, but the fn-key works for right click)
I think this is the way it was running on the screenshots in the first post.

Have fun
Chero.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jerrybme
post May 22 2005, 08:20 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 639
Joined: 4-September 03
From: Chicago
Member No.: 401



KDE does run surprizing well laugh.gif
Attached is couple of screenshots. pdaXrom is so great! I've got my choice of WMs by simply modifying my .xinitrc file:
CODE
#!/bin/sh
#sudo -u zaurus xscreensaver -nosplash&

##KDE
/mnt/card/usr/lib/kde/bin/startkde

##fvwm
#/home/root/.xinitrc.fvwm

#matchbox
#/usr/bin/mbsession

#Rox Pinboard
#/home/root/.xinitrc.mb

Attached File  screen1.png ( 99.83K ) Number of downloads: 1086

Attached File  screen2.png ( 86.16K ) Number of downloads: 1174


Thanks pdaXrom Team!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
auauhiro
post May 22 2005, 08:31 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 29-March 05
Member No.: 6,735



I tested KDE for RC10 on SL-C3000 running RC9 chrooted from Qtopia. The qt-mt-3.3 should be replaced additionally from the feed of RC10. It works much faster compared with the KDE works on SL-C3000 running debian chrooted from Qtopia.
biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ScottYelich
post May 23 2005, 06:48 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 992
Joined: 9-October 03
From: NYC
Member No.: 609



kde-feed mirrored here (as of time/date of this post)

http://zaurus.spy.org/feeds/cacko/pdaXrom/.../rc10/kde-feed/

Guys --

What's the memory footprint of this KDE vs the standard pdaXrom X env?

What's important to me is minimal X startup for maximum memory...

Scott
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jerrybme
post May 25 2005, 08:48 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 639
Joined: 4-September 03
From: Chicago
Member No.: 401



QUOTE(ScottYelich @ May 23 2005, 08:48 AM)
Guys --

What's the memory footprint of this KDE vs the standard pdaXrom X env?

What's important to me is minimal X startup for maximum memory...

Scott
*

Well, I'm not sure how practical using KDE as an interface is. It definately blows away my geek friends when I show them it can be done. To me it's more of a novelty than something I'll use very much. I still prefer ROX or fvwm, they are much easier on the memory and can be run from internal RAM instead of the slow SD.
CODE
Mem: 60236K used, 1772K free, 0K shrd, 804K buff, 31372K cached
Load average: 2.71, 2.59, 2.58    (State: S=sleeping R=running, W=waiting)

 PID USER     STATUS   RSS  PPID %CPU %MEM COMMAND
   3 root     RWN        0     1 91.1  0.0 kapm-idled
1743 root     R        10M     1  3.1 18.0 kdeinit
1760 root     R        14M     1  1.5 24.4 kdeinit
1770 root     R        12M  1735  1.5 19.9 kdeinit
1775 root     R        680  1771  1.1  1.0 top
1705 root     R <     3552  1704  0.7  5.7 X
  12 root     SW         0     0  0.3  0.0 kupdated
1756 root     S        10M  1735  0.1 18.0 kdeinit
1758 root     S        12M     1  0.0 20.7 kdeinit
1774 root     S        10M  1735  0.0 17.6 abiword
1762 root     S      10060     1  0.0 16.2 kdeinit
1755 root     S       9184     1  0.0 14.8 kdeinit
1752 root     S       9124     1  0.0 14.7 kdeinit
1738 root     S       8796     1  0.0 14.1 kdeinit
1740 root     S       8388  1735  0.0 13.5 kdeinit
1763 root     S       7960  1735  0.0 12.8 kdeinit
1735 root     S       7104     1  0.0 11.4 kdeinit
 309 root     S       3060   301  0.0  4.9 ntpd
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
scoutme
post May 26 2005, 02:03 PM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 579
Joined: 19-April 04
Member No.: 2,912



I backupped my .xinitrc, installed kde from the repository on my sd card (ext formatted), made the "ln -s" thing to let use /usr/lib/kde/bin/startkde as xinitrc, and added on top of the new xinitrc the xmodmap line you can find in the backupped xinitrc (the stock one).
Result: I'm using kde with fn key working as expected.
Really amazing
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th July 2014 - 02:42 AM