OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Latest Zlib (sharp Rom), ipk
koan
post Feb 28 2009, 08:22 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 328
Joined: 25-February 04
From: UK
Member No.: 2,025



Hi

I was using zlib (AKA libz) and I realised I was still using 1.1.5 that I must have downloaded via the old ZSI. On the zlib homepage you can see that several security vulnerabilities have since been fixed and the current version 1.2.3 is almost 4 years old!

Maybe other people have a more up to date version installed but I didn't find any ipks so I cross compiled and made an ipk. Please find the libz 1.2.3 ipk at my homepage.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Mar 27 2009, 04:04 PM
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



yeah, we really need someone who has time to "take apart" the cacko rom and rebuild it using as far as possible the latest versions of all the apps, for stability and security as well as features. it'd be cool if a later version of 2.4 could be used as its basis, and even using unionfs instead of all the nasty symlinking. but hey, I can dream, can't I?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
koan
post Mar 29 2009, 06:12 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 328
Joined: 25-February 04
From: UK
Member No.: 2,025



I don't think that is going to happen, unfortunately.

I did search for an up to date zlib but didn't find it. Since I made this ipk I noticed Frederic Bergeron had also made it available via his toMOTko project some time ago. Oh well.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
koan
post Apr 27 2010, 01:30 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 328
Joined: 25-February 04
From: UK
Member No.: 2,025



In the last few months two (!) new versions of zlib were released.
1.2.4 quickly followed by 1.2.5. I almost didn't notice. The fixes are mainly
housekeeping so that it can be compiled for multiple platforms but 2
memory leaks were fixed. This makes it worthwhile to update to the latest version.

libz for Zaurus
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
duo
post Apr 29 2010, 07:32 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 20-August 08
Member No.: 22,227



QUOTE(koan @ Apr 27 2010, 04:30 PM) *
In the last few months two (!) new versions of zlib were released.
1.2.4 quickly followed by 1.2.5. I almost didn't notice. The fixes are mainly
housekeeping so that it can be compiled for multiple platforms but 2
memory leaks were fixed. This makes it worthwhile to update to the latest version.

libz for Zaurus


I'm running 1.2.2, i tried to install in cacko thru the add/remove and thru 'ipkg install' and it doesn't work.
are these meant for the sharp/cacko rom or another distro? Cuz if so, I don't think that you have them packaged correctly.
They appear to be packaged for a debian based distro.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
koan
post Apr 30 2010, 12:11 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 328
Joined: 25-February 04
From: UK
Member No.: 2,025



QUOTE(duo @ Apr 30 2010, 01:32 PM) *
i tried to install in cacko thru the add/remove and thru 'ipkg install' and it doesn't work.


IIRC ipk format is the same as a debian package. I am using the ipkg-build.sh script, I don't know anything about debian packages.

The ipk installs the library to /opt/Qtopia/lib and sets up the required links. It installs fine on my SL-C750 with original Sharp ROM and I tested it using a test program that comes with libz called "minigzip" so I know that it works.

Please can you be more specific than "it doesn't work". Were there any error messages and what were they ? Can you see the file /opt/Qtopia/lib/libz.so.1.2.5 after installing ?

I don't have Cacko but I would have thought that the path /opt/Qtopia exists... or does it not ?

Did you download the ipk properly ? Maybe there was an error. I just checked the file on the webserver, it looks OK to me. I downloaded myself to check and my browser un-gzipped it when it shouldn't have. I suspect this is what happened to you. Was your download 50 KB or 43 KB ?

I have added a MIME type to the server so it should download without decompressing now. Please try downloading it again.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xamindar
post Apr 30 2010, 08:49 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 803
Joined: 30-March 04
From: California
Member No.: 2,368



He means it doesn't work in the gui installer. I have not bothered installing this package yet for the same reason. I was going to dissect it to make sure it was safe and then install it.

Problem is, you open it up in the gui installer and it doesn't show at all. Something is missing from this package. It probably installs fine from the command line and I will install it that way after inspecting it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
koan
post Apr 30 2010, 10:02 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 328
Joined: 25-February 04
From: UK
Member No.: 2,025



QUOTE(xamindar @ May 1 2010, 02:49 AM) *
Problem is, you open it up in the gui installer and it doesn't show at all.


OK. If you check the size of the ipk I am confident you will find that it is 50 KB instead of 43 KB because of the aforementioned web server/gzip problem. You can either gzip it and rename it to libz_1.2.5_arm.ipk or download it again.

I have confirmed that if you un-gzip an ipk, rename it to something.ipk, then the installer will not see it but it will appear with an installer icon next to it in the files tab.

By the way, I can assure you that it really is only the libz shared object plus installer scripts for setting up links and removing them. If you don't trust the file you just downloaded from some random guy's website then getting it installed is the least of your worries tongue.gif You can always cross compile it yourself...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
duo
post Apr 30 2010, 11:25 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 20-August 08
Member No.: 22,227



No worries, I know that it was clean, i looked at the files on my laptop first.
Problem is exactly as you say, they need to be gziped then renamed ipk.
Did that and it installed from command line. Also show up in gui.

QUOTE
I downloaded myself to check and my browser un-gzipped it when it shouldn't have. I suspect this is what happened to you.


Strange, it is possible that my browser did that, yet why would it not do that to other packages that i've downloaded?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
koan
post May 1 2010, 04:17 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 328
Joined: 25-February 04
From: UK
Member No.: 2,025



QUOTE(duo @ May 1 2010, 05:25 PM) *
Strange, it is possible that my browser did that, yet why would it not do that to other packages that i've downloaded?


HTTP 1.1 supports serving of compressed files. Either my webserver saw the file is gzipped so served it with that Content-encoding header or your browser assumed it was compressed purely for transmission and un-gzipped it for you. No one has ever mentioned this problem to me before; maybe my ISP changed the default configuration that accounts locally inherit. I added a line to my .htaccess file to associate application/octet-stream with .ipk files.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th December 2014 - 02:13 AM