OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> C3000 Won't Turn On
totsubo
post Apr 11 2005, 11:58 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 60
Joined: 12-February 05
Member No.: 6,461



I had my Z C3000 with me at the office today and was using it fine. When I came back home I tried but couldn't turn it on. At first I though the battery was dead so I plugged in the charger but still I can't turn it on. The charging light is one so I dunno what's up.

I tried removing the battery for a few seconds and putting it back in but that didn't help.

Any ideas?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mulveyr
post Apr 12 2005, 05:07 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 21-March 05
Member No.: 6,684



QUOTE(totsubo @ Apr 12 2005, 03:58 AM)
I had my Z C3000 with me at the office today and was using it fine. When I came back home I tried but couldn't turn it on. At first I though the battery was dead so I plugged in the charger but still I can't turn it on. The charging light is one so I dunno what's up.

I tried removing the battery for a few seconds and putting it back in but that didn't help.

Any ideas?
*



Did you try a reset?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
totsubo
post Apr 12 2005, 05:46 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 60
Joined: 12-February 05
Member No.: 6,461



Reset by pushing the reset button and lose my data? No.

My Z is up and working now. I guess there must be a minimum level the battery must be at, even with the charger plugged in, for the Z to come up. After letting it charge for an hour it booted up fine.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nilch
post Apr 12 2005, 05:55 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 668
Joined: 3-December 03
From: US
Member No.: 1,034



You are not going to lose data by resetting - thats the beauty of the Zaurus (the recent ones).

Yes it takes a considerable charge to fire it up again.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bluedevils
post Apr 12 2005, 07:20 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 31-January 04
From: Vancouver, BC -> NYC, NY
Member No.: 1,633



Yes Lithium Ion batteries have circuitry to prevent over charging. If there is not enough power for that circuitry, the Z won't power on.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
totsubo
post Apr 12 2005, 04:24 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 60
Joined: 12-February 05
Member No.: 6,461



I didn't check but I thought resetting would undo revert the Z back to factory settings, no?

Thanks for the info on the battery! Makes it a bit annoying though when your battery runs out ... even though the Z is plugged into the wall it won't start sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bluedevils
post Apr 12 2005, 06:31 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 31-January 04
From: Vancouver, BC -> NYC, NY
Member No.: 1,633



no, the newer Zs are more like a normal computer (especially the 3000 with a HDD). The information is not wiped out with loss of power (unless you are in the middle of editting something).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AndyTiedye
post Apr 12 2005, 11:20 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 16-March 05
Member No.: 6,650



QUOTE(totsubo @ Apr 12 2005, 05:24 PM)
I didn't check but I thought resetting would undo revert the Z back to factory settings, no?
*


That's a different "reset" involving navigating some menus in Japanese.

Just pulling the battery and pressing the reset button won't revert to factory settings.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th December 2014 - 08:34 AM