OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Challenge, c1000 troubles
Rino
post Feb 2 2006, 06:45 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 7-January 06
Member No.: 8,874



Recently I posted already a topic for some help. Untill now I am no step further. But reading al the topics (it took me a while) I can't imagine that there is no-one out there who can't help me out.

I have the following problem:

I got a c1000 from a friend, but he suggested to do a restore because he had some software troubles (programs which did't worke like the use to do, stuff like that).

I went to the TRI-soft.de site and downloaded everything I need.
I followed the manual and dit a NAND-restore, because the simple-restore didn't work.
Got into the diagnostic/service menu and the NAND-restore did his work.
However the system did not reboot from itself (stays in the diagnostic-screen), so I did what the manual said and pressed the hard-reset button.
But this doesn't work and the only way I can get out of the service menu is (after the green bar is finished) and the message on screen is OK by boot to command-line, is by doing this:

'pressing B+D en while repowering the Zaurus' (u get a Sharp - Japanese - screen which scrolls up and shows several messages), which are:

INIT: version 2.78 booting
sl_time nand_read_time
touch: /home/sharp/etc/rtc_reset: No such file or directory
INIT: Enetering runlevel 4

INIT: sending processes the TERM signal

Lineo uLinux
Kernel 2.4.20 on armv5tel

Zaurus login:

Then the manual tells me to login as 'zaurus' or 'root'
When I type 'root' I get

login[175]: root login on 'ttul1'
#
Where to go from here........?

When I type 'zaurus' I get
password:
what do i fill in because the old password doesn't work?

I checked it with the manual from TRIsoft and the only difference is the folling lines:
sl_time nand_read_time
touch: /home/sharp/etc/rtc_reset: No such file or directory
which doesn't appear in the manual but only on my screen.

Can it be that I am missing the file or a directory to make a hard-reset? (Maybe that’s why the reset button doesn't work).

I have been surfing around the forums and everyone is talking about using the Cacko-ROM, so I thought lets try this.

I followed the instructions (release notes), but I can’t do step 2 till 5 because I am right back in the service/diagnostic-screen.

Could someone please tell me (Linux-dummy) step by step what to do?

Needles to say that I am hoping u can really help me out because as a LINUX-dummy I am really grasping for straws………….


Thanx already for making my day.


Rino
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tml
post Feb 2 2006, 07:00 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 105
Joined: 3-August 05
Member No.: 7,766



QUOTE(Rino @ Feb 2 2006, 04:45 PM)
Got into the diagnostic/service menu and the NAND-restore did his work.
However the system did not reboot from itself (stays in the diagnostic-screen), so I did what the manual said and pressed the hard-reset button.
*


Did you remove the battery & disconnect the power adapter when doing the hard reset button?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rino
post Feb 2 2006, 07:17 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 7-January 06
Member No.: 8,874



I did and still no luck.
The main question is if there is a possibility to do anything by the 'commandscreen' or must the Zaurus reset by the hard-reset button?

Rino
QUOTE(tml @ Feb 2 2006, 04:00 PM)
QUOTE(Rino @ Feb 2 2006, 04:45 PM)
Got into the diagnostic/service menu and the NAND-restore did his work.
However the system did not reboot from itself (stays in the diagnostic-screen), so I did what the manual said and pressed the hard-reset button.
*


Did you remove the battery & disconnect the power adapter when doing the hard reset button?
*

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TRIsoft
post Feb 2 2006, 08:21 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 332
Joined: 6-June 04
From: Hannover, Germany
Member No.: 3,587



Rino,

if your Zaurus runs into the diagnostics menu every time
you turn it on, the reason may be a so-called "diag flag".

While in the diag mode, look at the table in the lower area
of the display:
Under the line "NAND DIAG Ver.x.x.x" there is a field
"BootFlg:". This should say "----" and not "DIAG".
If you read "DIAG", clear it as follows:
On page 3, select the "EXTRA MENU" and press "OK"
Then select "Clear Diag Flag" and press "OK"
Confirm the "Flag = none" message with "Cancel"

The field "BootFlg:" should now bet set to "----".
Remove battery. Tick the reset switch. Put battery back
in and turn the Zaurus on.
---> Normal Boot !

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rino
post Feb 2 2006, 11:23 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 7-January 06
Member No.: 8,874



Marc,

i will try this.

I get back to you if it's works.

Thanx
QUOTE(TRIsoft @ Feb 2 2006, 05:21 PM)
Rino,

if your Zaurus runs into the diagnostics menu every time
you turn it on, the reason may be a so-called "diag flag".

While in the diag mode, look at the table in the lower area
of the display:
Under the line "NAND DIAG Ver.x.x.x" there is a field
"BootFlg:". This should say "----" and not "DIAG".
If you read "DIAG", clear it as follows:
On page 3, select the "EXTRA MENU" and press "OK"
Then select "Clear Diag Flag" and press "OK"
Confirm the "Flag = none" message with "Cancel"

The field "BootFlg:" should now bet set to "----".
Remove battery. Tick the reset switch. Put battery back
in and turn the Zaurus on.
---> Normal Boot !

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rino
post Feb 5 2006, 09:11 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 7-January 06
Member No.: 8,874



Marc,

Thanx for you advise, the Zaurus is back to his working state.
It was indeed the so called 'diag flag'.

Thanx again,

Rino
QUOTE(TRIsoft @ Feb 2 2006, 05:21 PM)
Rino,

if your Zaurus runs into the diagnostics menu every time
you turn it on, the reason may be a so-called "diag flag".

While in the diag mode, look at the table in the lower area
of the display:
Under the line "NAND DIAG Ver.x.x.x" there is a field
"BootFlg:". This should say "----" and not "DIAG".
If you read "DIAG", clear it as follows:
On page 3, select the "EXTRA MENU" and press "OK"
Then select "Clear Diag Flag" and press "OK"
Confirm the "Flag = none" message with "Cancel"

The field "BootFlg:" should now bet set to "----".
Remove battery. Tick the reset switch. Put battery back
in and turn the Zaurus on.
---> Normal Boot !

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2014 - 11:05 PM