OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Angstrom Status On Tosa, Updated March 12, 2008
speculatrix
post Nov 21 2008, 07:50 AM
Post #31





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(LeTic @ Nov 21 2008, 01:24 PM) *
Sorry to post on a dead post but I just wanted to let you know that after lots of debugging from Dmitry he finally manage to solve the 2.6.24 bug on the tosa kernel.

It is available here : http://tosa.lumag.spb.ru/uploads/tosa-stable-images/debug/

So now Angström is booting back with the r19 image. But with that image the backlight doesn't seems to work on my tosa. I haven't tried other images yet though to check.

Discussion on the topic can be found here : http://lists.linuxtogo.org/pipermail/angst...ber/002737.html

More information on Dmitry's tosa page : http://tosa.lumag.spb.ru/news/17/55/Status-update.html


good news late is still good news! does that means the backlight is stuck ON or OFF?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
LeTic
post Nov 21 2008, 08:54 AM
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 4-July 05
From: Dublin, Ireland
Member No.: 7,521



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Nov 21 2008, 03:50 PM) *
good news late is still good news! does that means the backlight is stuck ON or OFF?

Hey Speculatrix,

It was always stuck off, that's why it was unusable wink.gif Anyway while I was posting this, Dmitry released a new kernel with a fix at the same place so now you can test the latest Angstrom on the tosa.

Honestly I haven't had the time to try anything on it yet, so I can't tell you if it's good or not but it's still means a working 2.6.24 kernel on tosa !

Anyway if people could have a go with it, I bet Dmitry could do with more tosa users testings.


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Nov 23 2008, 03:18 PM
Post #33





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



http://www.angstrom-distribution.org/relea...2007.12/images/
doesn't seem to list tosa at all! where can I find a tosa firmware image I can flash please?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
LeTic
post Nov 24 2008, 02:04 AM
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 4-July 05
From: Dublin, Ireland
Member No.: 7,521



Hey Speculatrix,

Sorry I should have specified smile.gif

Tosa hasn't been a supported plateform during the latest stable release for lack of maintainers to solve the tosa specific issues. But you can find the 2007.12 r8 images here :
http://www.angstrom-distribution.org/unstable/images/tosa/ which are the last know working images with 2.6.23 kernels. The 2007.12 r9 marked the switch to 2.6.24 and a massive tosa breakage that has just been solved by Dmitry.

You can find all images incudling the new OPIE images here : http://www.angstrom-distribution.org/unsta...autobuild/tosa/ (use the installkits)

It seems the new kernel from Dmitry hasn't been committed yet so you will find the zimage from here : http://tosa.lumag.spb.ru/uploads/tosa-stable-images/debug/

I know you don't need the instructions as you are an experienced tosa users wink.gif but in case somebody needs them :

1. For GPE download : http://www.angstrom-distribution.org/unsta...-installkit.tgz
For OPIE download : http://www.angstrom-distribution.org/unsta...-installkit.tgz
2. Download the alternative kernel from Dmitry : http://tosa.lumag.spb.ru/uploads/tosa-stab...zImage-tosa.bin
3. Rename it to zimage.bin
4. Extract the installkit
5. Replace the zimage.bin by the one from Dmitry
6. Put the files on a FAT formatted CF or SD
7. Reset with the stylus.
8. Press OK while pressing the ON button
9. Choose Update and then CF or SD
10. After the flashing it should reboot automatically
11. Test Angstrom

Let me know if you have any issues
LeTic
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
undrwater
post Nov 24 2008, 11:00 AM
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 232
Joined: 26-September 03
Member No.: 500



OK...I had forgotten about the autobuild directory. I tried the new kernel with the older installkits, so I'm assuming that's why things like sound and backlight are not impacted by Opie or GPE.

Aside from that, things look REALLY good! Response is very snappy, boot time is short, suspend works (though needs "Menu | Suspend" to go into suspend, button brings out of suspend). Today I'll try the autobuild rootfs's to see what the difference is.

Excellent work Dmitri!! smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Nov 24 2008, 03:02 PM
Post #36





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



first time it booted, it stuck on the line printed before INIT, but this time looks better.

--edit-- hm, doesn't seem to suspend. is that normal?


memo to self: fix wonky LCD cable!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
undrwater
post Nov 24 2008, 03:21 PM
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 232
Joined: 26-September 03
Member No.: 500



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Nov 24 2008, 03:02 PM) *
--edit-- hm, doesn't seem to suspend. is that normal?


It suspended for me using the menu (QPE, or Opie); not with the button. Comes out of suspend via the button, however.

Still no access to increasing / decreasing backlight via settings on either opie or gpe, haven't tested sound through alsa(mixer, player, etc...), but wifi is working (open network at least)!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Nov 25 2008, 03:26 PM
Post #38





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



thanks for that. my frankenzaurus has a loose connection somewhere and the video display has gone funny- upside down and scaled wrongly, so I will open up and have a poke!

computer hardware's been a PITA of late, my wireless NAS's wifi is bust, my sony laptop fan is failing, and my UPS has developed a death-rattle when its fans kick in.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lumag
post Dec 2 2008, 05:23 AM
Post #39





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 19-November 07
From: Russia, SPb
Member No.: 20,962



QUOTE(undrwater @ Nov 25 2008, 02:21 AM) *
QUOTE(speculatrix @ Nov 24 2008, 03:02 PM) *
--edit-- hm, doesn't seem to suspend. is that normal?


It suspended for me using the menu (QPE, or Opie); not with the button. Comes out of suspend via the button, however.


I'll have to look upon this.

QUOTE(undrwater @ Nov 25 2008, 02:21 AM) *
Still no access to increasing / decreasing backlight via settings on either opie or gpe, haven't tested sound through alsa(mixer, player, etc...), but wifi is working (open network at least)!


I've committed the fix for the opie to .dev branch to support backlight setting. I'll have to look into GPE, but that may need time, as I'm more dedicated to opie for now. The patch should be
pretty easy though (check opie commit).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hakujin
post Dec 2 2008, 10:45 PM
Post #40





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 30-May 06
Member No.: 10,013



This may be a bit off topic but I was testing Angstrom on my Tosa but when I tried to reflash my NAND backup it turned out the the backup was bad. Unfortuantely the only NAND backups I have been able to find are Japanese and while that looks cool and all my Japanese is not really up to par. Anyone have a good NAND backup they would be willing to share? Oh yeah also my update menu is still in Japanese even after flashing Angstrom.Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lumag
post Dec 3 2008, 05:37 AM
Post #41





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 19-November 07
From: Russia, SPb
Member No.: 20,962



QUOTE(hakujin @ Dec 3 2008, 09:45 AM) *
Unfortuantely the only NAND backups I have been able to find are Japanese and while that looks cool and all my Japanese is not really up to par.


There are several topics about NAND backups on this forum. Also the page about tosa on www.oesf.org should contain a link to SL-6000 NAND backup. Please take care to check.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lumag
post Dec 3 2008, 05:42 PM
Post #42





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 19-November 07
From: Russia, SPb
Member No.: 20,962



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Dec 4 2008, 02:46 AM) *
I'm not sure you can ever change the update menu, there's an immutable block of flash for recovery, this is why zaurus is hard to brick.


There is a "diagnostic" menu in ROM, which can not be removed. OTOH "update" menu lies just in bare NAND and can easily be removed (e.g. by installing u-boot).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hakujin
post Dec 3 2008, 07:20 PM
Post #43





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 30-May 06
Member No.: 10,013



QUOTE(lumag @ Dec 3 2008, 05:37 AM) *
QUOTE(hakujin @ Dec 3 2008, 09:45 AM) *
Unfortuantely the only NAND backups I have been able to find are Japanese and while that looks cool and all my Japanese is not really up to par.


There are several topics about NAND backups on this forum. Also the page about tosa on www.oesf.org should contain a link to SL-6000 NAND backup. Please take care to check.


Unfortuantely I have checked and all the links I have been able to find to the sl-6000L NAND backup are broken. I was hoping someone else might have squirreled one away just in case.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hakujin
post Dec 3 2008, 07:21 PM
Post #44





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 30-May 06
Member No.: 10,013



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Dec 3 2008, 03:46 PM) *
I'm not sure you can ever change the update menu, there's an immutable block of flash for recovery, this is why zaurus is hard to brick.

trisoft IIRC had downloads of various roms.


Well I have done it. My update menu was in English before but now it is Japanese.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lumag
post Dec 4 2008, 08:00 AM
Post #45





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 19-November 07
From: Russia, SPb
Member No.: 20,962



QUOTE(lumag @ Dec 2 2008, 04:23 PM) *
QUOTE(undrwater @ Nov 25 2008, 02:21 AM) *
QUOTE(speculatrix @ Nov 24 2008, 03:02 PM) *
--edit-- hm, doesn't seem to suspend. is that normal?


It suspended for me using the menu (QPE, or Opie); not with the button. Comes out of suspend via the button, however.


I'll have to look upon this.

Today the fix went in in the .dev branch. It was just two missed lines in defconfig-tosa. I'll still have to check the keys mappings, check GPE problems etc.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th December 2014 - 09:58 PM