OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Another Wireless Issue, dlink dcf660w no worky
nailbunny
post Feb 27 2006, 07:06 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 30-December 05
Member No.: 8,818



howdy guys

so i got this dlink dcf 660 cf wifi card, a sl5500, and the sharp rom 3.10.

anyway, i had plug and play for this thing for a while. it worked fine. then after two weeks or so, it stopped working, and i'd have to unplug and replug it a couple of times to get it to recognise it as a wireless card. as time passed, the number of times that i had to do this before i was able to get it working got longer, to the point where i can't get it to work at all now.

what's up with this

also, assuming i get this thing to work, how do i get a list of available access points?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
brashley46
post Feb 27 2006, 07:10 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 277
Joined: 29-May 05
From: Toronto
Member No.: 7,227



... plug&play? Surely you weren't pulling it out without unmounting it first ...

QUOTE(nailbunny @ Feb 27 2006, 10:06 PM)
howdy guys

so i got this dlink dcf 660 cf wifi card, a sl5500, and the sharp rom 3.10.

anyway, i had plug and play for this thing for a while. it worked fine. then after two weeks or so, it stopped working, and i'd have to unplug and replug it a couple of times to get it to recognise it as a wireless card. as time passed, the number of times that i had to do this before i was able to get it working got longer, to the point where i can't get it to work at all now.

what's up with this

also, assuming i get this thing to work, how do i get a list of available access points?
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nailbunny
post Feb 28 2006, 08:30 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 30-December 05
Member No.: 8,818



QUOTE(brashley46 @ Feb 27 2006, 11:10 PM)
... plug&play? Surely you weren't pulling it out without unmounting it first ...


With unmouting, without unmounting. I've tried lots of both.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cstrand1
post Mar 1 2006, 07:09 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 30-April 04
Member No.: 3,066



QUOTE(nailbunny @ Feb 27 2006, 10:06 PM)
howdy guys

so i got this dlink dcf 660 cf wifi card, a sl5500, and the sharp rom 3.10.

anyway, i had plug and play for this thing for a while. it worked fine. then after two weeks or so, it stopped working, and i'd have to unplug and replug it a couple of times to get it to recognise it as a wireless card. as time passed, the number of times that i had to do this before i was able to get it working got longer, to the point where i can't get it to work at all now.

what's up with this

also, assuming i get this thing to work, how do i get a list of available access points?
*


I had that card and used it in my Poodle (5600). I had the same problem as you stated. It finally just stopped working. I would not recommend that card to anyone. I purchased a AmbiCom WL1100 and it works great and have not had a problem yet.

I remember other people commenting that the DLink card has had problems.

Hope that helps.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
craigtyson
post Mar 2 2006, 06:08 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 464
Joined: 15-June 04
Member No.: 3,698



Mine worked until I droped my Z and it landed on the card. But I have had similar problems with a Bluetake Bluetooth card.

Try using cardctl to eject, reset and insert the card it may be a timing thing or as I started to notice with my 5500 a battery problem. Do you get the same problems when on charge?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nailbunny
post Mar 3 2006, 01:18 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 30-December 05
Member No.: 8,818



QUOTE(craigtyson @ Mar 2 2006, 10:08 AM)
  Do you get the same problems when on charge?
*


mine's charging or plugged in at nearly all times, between my adapter, battery extender, and auto inverter, and it screws me anyway sad.gif

however, i've recently discovered that the card likes it when i push it back as i push it in. it's still a bastard, but at least it works again, every once in a while.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xamindar
post Mar 3 2006, 01:55 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 803
Joined: 30-March 04
From: California
Member No.: 2,368



I have had this same problem with two of my cards. Usually happens after I drop the Z and it lands on the card or if the card overheats. Usually, for a while I am still able to use it but I have to press back on the card while it tries to connect. But eventually in both cases I had to just buy a new card.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th August 2014 - 02:46 AM