OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V  « < 2 3 4 5 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> C860 Charging Problem (not Battery), weird voltage measured on the terminals
daniel3000
post Mar 8 2006, 07:02 AM
Post #46





Group: Members
Posts: 1,002
Joined: 28-April 05
From: Germany
Member No.: 7,027



Did anyone locate the fuses of a SL-C3000 yet?
Not that I have problems with them, but whenever I have, I'd like to be prepared.

Thanks
daniel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
albertr
post Mar 8 2006, 07:18 AM
Post #47





Group: Members
Posts: 535
Joined: 7-March 04
Member No.: 2,195



Shouldn't be a problem to locate. Let me know if/when you blow yours, and I'll take a look.
-albertr
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cgrieves
post Mar 16 2006, 02:45 PM
Post #48





Group: Members
Posts: 91
Joined: 28-April 04
From: Guildford, UK
Member No.: 3,047



Well, at last my C860 is fixed.

My .750mA fuses arrived yesterday and this evening I took the whole thing apart. Breaking the case open wasn't pleasant as I wasn't sure where the clips were. I ended up sliding my thumbnail along the joins.

On mine, the 2A fuse was fine, but the .630mA was blown. When removing the old fuse I was worried that I had broken the solder tag for one end off the PCB. Just to be sure, I added some extra solder to the pad on the new fuse (I lost four fuses just trying to get them out of the packaging!). I then spent about an hour convinced that I had run solder onto the neighboring components as they seemed to have continuity with the fuse. Then I realise that they're probably the components that the fuse protects, so of course they're going to be connected! Just to be sure I took a hi-res photo with my Digicam in macro mode, which convinced me that the soldering was good.

One word of advice to C760/860 owners. I disconnected the wide ribbon cable as I didn't want to stress it. I recommend you don't do this as it's a real b*stard to get back in the socket!

So at last after 2 years of owning a dud Zaurus (it was sold to me as working by an ex forum member!) it's now sitting there happily charging away. Now I've got it working I have no idea what I'm going to do with it, but I guess that's the fun part smile.gif

Many sincere thanks to Maslovsky in particular for making this repair possible.....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Totesz
post May 3 2006, 03:36 AM
Post #49





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 3-May 06
From: Budapest, Hungary
Member No.: 9,757



I just got my z apart, and the 630mA fuse is blown. sad.gif I ordered the fuses from the K.. sg. web site (mentioned on the previous pages), hope they'll arrive in a few weeks.
Anyway, thanks to this topic, there is still hope, that i don't have to send my z to service... smile.gif
Thanks a lot!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
seva
post May 21 2006, 06:29 PM
Post #50





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 26-May 04
Member No.: 3,455



QUOTE(Totesz @ May 3 2006, 03:36 AM)
I just got my z apart, and the 630mA fuse is blown. sad.gif I ordered the fuses from the K.. sg. web site (mentioned on the previous pages), hope they'll arrive in a few weeks.
Anyway, thanks to this topic, there is still hope, that i don't have to send my z to service... smile.gif
Thanks a lot!
*


Did you order the fuses to Hungary? Will they actually ship there? If not, PM me your address.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Totesz
post May 21 2006, 11:39 PM
Post #51





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 3-May 06
From: Budapest, Hungary
Member No.: 9,757



QUOTE(seva @ May 22 2006, 03:29 AM)
QUOTE(Totesz @ May 3 2006, 03:36 AM)
I just got my z apart, and the 630mA fuse is blown. sad.gif I ordered the fuses from the K.. sg. web site (mentioned on the previous pages), hope they'll arrive in a few weeks.
Anyway, thanks to this topic, there is still hope, that i don't have to send my z to service... smile.gif
Thanks a lot!
*


Did you order the fuses to Hungary? Will they actually ship there? If not, PM me your address.
*



Yeah they ship to Hungary and they have some representatives in Hungary too. They wrote that they will ship out the samples this week so thanks for your offer very much but i hope i will get the samples soon. Btw i got a mail from a representative asking about my company... I hope it doesn't affect shipping if i don't write back. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Totesz
post Jun 4 2006, 03:51 PM
Post #52





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 3-May 06
From: Budapest, Hungary
Member No.: 9,757



My fuses arrived a few days ago, i just put one of them into the Z, and now it works fine, charges the battery. smile.gif
Now there is only one thing left to do: buy a better charger - this one is only 500mA, and the Voltage is really crazy one. smile.gif
I've got an adapter that can produce 3, 4.5, 6 V outputs, but at 3 V i can measure 5.5 V. With this voltage, the Z only charges the battery to 50%. With the next step, at 4.5 V i can measure 7 V, and if i put this voltage in the Z, the charging led blinks.
Anyone idea? unsure.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
seinfield
post Jun 14 2006, 11:34 AM
Post #53





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 8-February 05
From: Mexico
Member No.: 6,436



Never use that kind of adapters on your zaurus, the charger circuit is very sensible.

The output of that kind of adapters depends on the AC input, that´s why when it is at 3v it gives you 5v ....
Those only has a little transformer (many outputs selectable) with a diode and a cap, so i do not recomend you to use it, there is no regulator.

I have tested some cell phone chargers that gives 5.2v DC. Like Samsung and LG litium chagers and they work perfectly with may zaurus C700. This kind of chagers use a circuit to giveyou exactly 5.2v DC no matter the AC voltaje Input (>100vAC).

Never try a nokia charguer because they use a square wave +10v (As i remember the graphic on the Osciloscope) to charge their batts.

Regards
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Totesz
post Jun 19 2006, 09:05 AM
Post #54





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 3-May 06
From: Budapest, Hungary
Member No.: 9,757



QUOTE(seinfield @ Jun 14 2006, 08:34 PM)
I have tested some cell phone chargers that gives 5.2v DC. Like Samsung and LG litium chagers and they work perfectly with may zaurus C700. This kind of chagers use a circuit to giveyou exactly 5.2v DC no matter the AC voltaje Input (>100vAC).


Thanks for your help, i will buy a phone charger.

Btw, what about USB? smile.gif It's voltage is 5V and devices can draw 400-500 mA current from a USB port, but correct me if im wrong.

Toto
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jman
post Dec 29 2006, 05:12 AM
Post #55





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 29-December 06
Member No.: 13,533



QUOTE(seinfield @ Jun 14 2006, 11:34 AM)
Never use that kind of adapters on your zaurus, the charger circuit is very sensible.

The output of that kind of adapters depends on the AC input, that´s why when it is at 3v it gives you 5v ....
Those only has a little transformer (many outputs selectable) with a diode and a cap, so i do not  recomend you to use it, there is no regulator.

I have tested some cell phone chargers that gives 5.2v DC. Like Samsung and LG litium chagers and they work perfectly with may zaurus C700. This kind of chagers use a circuit to giveyou exactly 5.2v DC no matter the AC voltaje Input (>100vAC).

Never try a nokia charguer because they use a square wave +10v (As i remember the graphic on the Osciloscope) to charge their batts.

Regards
*


I recently bought a second hand c760 and when in need of an external charger I just went straight for a generic one, which can produce 3v, 4.5v, 5v and so on..., but I took care and instead of buying one among the cheaper chargers, which will definitely produce higher voltages than they claim to, I got one which claimed to provide a stable voltage and that also claims to be protected. Now I charge the Zaurus with it set at 5v and it works like a charm, as its also 1.0A, just the same as the original Japanese charger for the 760.

I've also heard about people using a generic charger for the PSP which looks like it's also 5v 1.0A, but you never know. In case you need a good charger, just take your time and look for one that is good and not only cheap. And its better if the charger is 5v 1.0A, so you'll never have problems. My Zaurus always charges upto 100% without complaining
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jman
post Dec 29 2006, 05:21 AM
Post #56





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 29-December 06
Member No.: 13,533



QUOTE(Totesz @ Jun 19 2006, 09:05 AM)
QUOTE(seinfield @ Jun 14 2006, 08:34 PM)
I have tested some cell phone chargers that gives 5.2v DC. Like Samsung and LG litium chagers and they work perfectly with may zaurus C700. This kind of chagers use a circuit to giveyou exactly 5.2v DC no matter the AC voltaje Input (>100vAC).


Thanks for your help, i will buy a phone charger.

Btw, what about USB? smile.gif It's voltage is 5V and devices can draw 400-500 mA current from a USB port, but correct me if im wrong.

Toto
*



When I got my second hand c760, I also got a USB sync/charge cable, which works perfectly. The guy who sold the Zaurus to me got the cable from http://www.serialio.com. It's called "ZthinCable USB" and you can find more details at http://serialio.com/products/adaptors/ZThinCableUSB.php

The exact model you need is the "ZThinCable USB-A-6", which you can buy online from serialio.com store for $29.95. It's quite expensive for a USB cable, but it works perfectly, it's USB 2.0, and, besides being a charger, you can also avoid buying a synchronization cradle, since you can also sync the Zaurus with it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
louigi600
post Mar 31 2007, 06:59 AM
Post #57





Group: Members
Posts: 474
Joined: 21-May 06
Member No.: 9,928



QUOTE(maslovsky @ Jul 11 2005, 10:55 PM)
Sorry for some delay - my rfiend only recently found sometime to take my zaurus apart to try to fix fix sound problem. He told me he was going to take some picctures of the board and provide some instructions about what needs to be fixed for the charging problem...
*


Hi maslovsky ...
Did your friend have any luck in fixing sound ?
I've a c760 with broken audio. I've checked and it's not just the plug.
I'd love to get some soud out of it ...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
danr
post May 30 2007, 06:40 AM
Post #58





Group: Members
Posts: 138
Joined: 12-February 04
Member No.: 1,830



Looks like my charging fuse has gone as well. Does anyone have a spare 630mA fuse which they would be willing to send to me in the UK? Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
louigi600
post Jul 7 2007, 12:08 AM
Post #59





Group: Members
Posts: 474
Joined: 21-May 06
Member No.: 9,928



Whatever you do ... do not whaste your time with koaspeer: they had me waiting more then 2 months, and after initially having told me that they would ship they changed their mind and told me that they would no longer send me the samples.

As you can see from this thread I ended up working aroud the problem in a rather odd way (driven by frustration) !!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pelrun
post Jul 7 2007, 01:28 AM
Post #60





Group: Members
Posts: 369
Joined: 6-September 04
From: Brisbane, Australia
Member No.: 4,488



QUOTE(danr @ May 30 2007, 02:40 PM)
Looks like my charging fuse has gone as well.  Does anyone have a spare 630mA fuse which they would be willing to send to me in the UK?  Thanks.
*


I've still got spare fuses left over from my 860 repair; I can throw a couple in an envelope if you PM me your address. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

5 Pages V  « < 2 3 4 5 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2014 - 11:48 PM