OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

21 Pages V  « < 18 19 20 21 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Watapon ROM, New custom ROM, for the 5600
Chaos
post Sep 27 2005, 04:48 PM
Post #286





Group: Members
Posts: 197
Joined: 11-August 04
From: BC, Canada
Member No.: 4,255



Terribly sorry for my recent 'disappearance'... :/ I've been hellishly busy.

I've been working on other things, but I've decided to try to put those on hold for a while (various websites, other minor non-paying projects), and concentrate on this. Other than one particular website I have to design, Watapon is my main project now.

First, I'll work on 1.6 and give it a final cleanup, fixup, and re-release for the PIM things, etc. Maybe release it as 1.8.

Next, I'll work on version 2. Which will be a basically from-scratch Sharp ROM-style (i.e. RO filesystem with symlinks, GCC 2.95, etc.), using Opie instead of Qtopia.

I'll look into the IR problems in 1.6, but I can't guarantee anything, as my selection of IR devices is rather limited (i.e. a few people with Palms I know)... If someone else can figure out a fix, I'll incorporate it.

For 2, I'll look into the hostap drivers heavily, along with everything else. I also plan to use a custom-compiled 'special kernel' style kernel - but of course you can always use your kernel of choice, as always.

So, with any luck I'll get that clean up of 1.6 done in a week or so, and 2.0 coming along pretty well in a month or so.



As to the PayPal question... Sorry, I don't have any accounts. Maybe I'll look into it when I finish 2. As then I'll actually have something other than just a Sharp ROM-based thing... Something that not just anyone could do easily. tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xamindar
post Oct 2 2005, 08:29 PM
Post #287





Group: Members
Posts: 803
Joined: 30-March 04
From: California
Member No.: 2,368



QUOTE(Chaos @ Sep 27 2005, 04:48 PM)
I'll look into the IR problems in 1.6, but I can't guarantee anything, as my selection of IR devices is rather limited (i.e. a few people with Palms I know)... If someone else can figure out a fix, I'll incorporate it.


Oh cool, I was just going to post about that. I tried sending an address from my dad's 5600 (on the stock sharp rom) to mine but the IR on my zaurus with watapon didn't even try to recieve anything. Good luck and thanks for all the work on the 5600. I would also love to donate money for 2.0 biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wenlez
post Oct 22 2005, 03:58 PM
Post #288





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 17-September 05
Member No.: 8,136



does the Sandisk CF 128MB + Wifi card works in this ROM?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dante
post Nov 4 2005, 09:49 AM
Post #289





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 1-November 05
Member No.: 8,438



Thank you very much for this superb rom =)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
x1134
post Nov 13 2005, 11:48 AM
Post #290





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 3-November 05
Member No.: 8,455



QUOTE(radonsg @ May 5 2005, 08:43 AM)
ppl, is there any ebook reader to recomend? Thanks.
*


Sorry, if I am blind, but I never saw this question get answered. This is the one thing I miss from my old handspring (palm os). I used to us isilo. Are there any good doc readers for the zaurus, specifically that work with watapon?

Never mind... I found OpieReader on http://www.elsix.org/ It seems to work without problem.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
grog
post Dec 7 2005, 10:08 AM
Post #291





Group: Members
Posts: 692
Joined: 27-January 04
From: Canada
Member No.: 1,564



Hi all. Back on watapon (at least for a while). Any update on 1.6.2 or 2.0/opie?

Anyway, the real reason for my post. Anybody else experience power management not working when they're wifi card is active? My Z suspends and or goes into lo-mode (depending on whether it's cradled or not) fine EXCEPT when my wifi card is active. Then it'll never suspend.

Any ideas for a fix? thks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chaos
post Dec 7 2005, 12:21 PM
Post #292





Group: Members
Posts: 197
Joined: 11-August 04
From: BC, Canada
Member No.: 4,255



Sorry, nothing new... I've been really busy. It always happens when I try to do something. sleep.gif

And are you sure that it not suspending when the wifi card is active (which I take to mean connected) isn't what's supposed to happen? Because it seems logical that it'd not suspend when it's connected, to me...

If it's not suspending when it's simply in the Z then there's something unusual...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
grog
post Dec 8 2005, 04:55 AM
Post #293





Group: Members
Posts: 692
Joined: 27-January 04
From: Canada
Member No.: 1,564



QUOTE(Chaos @ Dec 7 2005, 02:21 PM)
Sorry, nothing new... I've been really busy. It always happens when I try to do something. sleep.gif

Hey, no worries. I know *exactly* what you mean smile.gif. I am primarily curious about getting a ROM with working hostap drivers for my WEP connection @ home. I have to leave the router open to allow my Z in. I do have an access control list of hw addresses enabled, so at least that's some security.

QUOTE
And are you sure that it not suspending when the wifi card is active (which I take to mean connected) isn't what's supposed to happen? Because it seems logical that it'd not suspend when it's connected, to me...

Now that you put it that way, it _does_ make sense. I just found it annoying that I can be surfing the net on my couch, put the Z down for a while & find that it's still wasting battery life. I guess I'll just have to remember to suspend it when not in use.

QUOTE
If it's not suspending when it's simply in the Z then there's something unusual...
*

Nope. When the network is disconnected & the card off (but still inserted), it suspends just fine.

Thanks for the reply Chaos. be happy.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
edoc
post Dec 24 2005, 07:49 PM
Post #294





Group: Members
Posts: 64
Joined: 24-December 05
From: West Central Florida
Member No.: 8,784



QUOTE(grog @ Dec 7 2005, 02:08 PM)
Hi all. Back on watapon (at least for a while). Any update on 1.6.2 or 2.0/opie?


Wow! I just read through all 20 pages and what a ride! Made Christmas Eve exciting!

The only tech forum that compares to this, of which I am aware, is the Puppy Linux one.

It occurs to me that there may be a possible symbiotic relationship between watapon and Puppy as Puppy is also optimized for small, simple, effective, and quick while still providing a robust OS. http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/

Puppy also has some parallel development and forked versions for specialized users, e.g. one for those needing an emphasis on graphics apps.

I am considering the purchase of a 5600 (I do have a little used 5500 I will then sell) and am very encouraged by what I am reading here.

One question I have never read on any of thr several dozen sites and threads I have read about the 5600 is re. printing. Is there any way that a file may be sent directly to a printer from the 5600 or must it first go to a PC and then to a printer?

Thanks! doc
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chaos
post Jan 31 2006, 08:29 PM
Post #295





Group: Members
Posts: 197
Joined: 11-August 04
From: BC, Canada
Member No.: 4,255



To all using Watapon... I'm sorry. I just don't have the time to continue it's development currently.

I have left the most recent 1.4 and 1.6 versions available on Watapon's website along with the rootfs used to build it, if anyone's interested in trying their hand at it. Those will stay there for as long as I can possibly keep them there (probably a very long time).

If someone's interested, then feel free to download that, poke around a bit, and maybe send me an e-mail if you don't understand how to build or use something there. If you can continue the project, go for it. I would, but I'm sorry... I just don't have the time.

Thanks to everyone's support... It's been fun, and a good experience for me. Maybe next project I work on will be one when I have more time on my hands...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
grog
post Feb 1 2006, 04:01 AM
Post #296





Group: Members
Posts: 692
Joined: 27-January 04
From: Canada
Member No.: 1,564



QUOTE(Chaos @ Jan 31 2006, 10:29 PM)
To all using Watapon... I'm sorry. I just don't have the time to continue it's development currently.
*

I hope I can speak for all of us when I extend my thanks for the work you've done. It is much appreciated. Don't feel bad, I'm sure someone will pick up the torch. You concentrate on your 'real' life now smile.gif

take care
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mongoosefred
post Feb 1 2006, 05:10 AM
Post #297





Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 18-September 04
From: London
Member No.: 4,639



QUOTE(grog @ Feb 1 2006, 12:01 PM)
QUOTE(Chaos @ Jan 31 2006, 10:29 PM)
To all using Watapon... I'm sorry. I just don't have the time to continue it's development currently.
*

I hope I can speak for all of us when I extend my thanks for the work you've done. It is much appreciated. Don't feel bad, I'm sure someone will pick up the torch. You concentrate on your 'real' life now smile.gif

take care
*



I agree with Grog, thanks for a great ROM, now go have a life, you deserve it. biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hrw
post Feb 1 2006, 06:47 AM
Post #298





Group: Members
Posts: 1,376
Joined: 11-January 04
From: Poznań, Poland
Member No.: 1,413



too bad that another Zaurus distro goes into dust sad.gif

In OpenZaurus team we are unable to help poodle (sl-5600) users mainly due to lack of hardware (no device). We are trying to release images which work because it does not take much time but sooner or later it could finish in abadonland...

I hope that someone will take care of developing distros (Watapon or other) for poodle.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
loji
post Feb 6 2006, 08:44 PM
Post #299





Group: Members
Posts: 130
Joined: 11-May 04
Member No.: 3,244



I have assembled a Dev enviroment for anyone wanting to continue this ROM

It uses the Sharp SDK / DSL / and QEMU


You can use the DSL.iso image to boot directly off a CD
Or Qemu to run inside windows


I got the info here:
http://kopsisengineering.com/kopsis/SharpZaurusSdkDsl

^ Follow the instructions to make an ISO,
Download the DSL ISO here:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distri...ent/current.iso
and DL the Z-SDK tools here:
http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/pyqplay...sl.zip?download

Use a tool like Magic ISO to browse the current.iso image and copy the (unzipped) SDK tools to the root. now re-save the .iso

When you boot, be sure to use the boot command

"dsl mydsl"

^ the default path is the CD drive.


You should see it probing, and loading the mydsl modules. Once it's loaded fluxbox

USe
dsl@box:~$ . dev-x86-qpe.sh

to enter the enviroment.


Happy hacking :-) And Thanks Justin!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
phisch
post Feb 8 2006, 05:41 AM
Post #300





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 17-August 05
Member No.: 7,882



QUOTE(Hrw @ Feb 1 2006, 09:47 AM)
too bad that another Zaurus distro goes into dust sad.gif

In OpenZaurus team we are unable to help poodle (sl-5600) users mainly due to lack of hardware (no device). We are trying to release images which work because it does not take much time but sooner or later it could finish in abadonland...


Hopefully later. Hentges has recruited at least some level of beta testers for 3.5.4 and poodle (I was one of them). Seriously nobody on the OZ team has a poodle? Anyone have one to donate or want to pitch in to get them one?

I love OZ on my poodle, but for the life of me I cannot get my IrDA keyboard to work with it, and I've never met anyone that could. Perhaps we should donate one of these too?

-Phil
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

21 Pages V  « < 18 19 20 21 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 13th July 2014 - 02:47 AM