OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Hsdpa Modem ?, Huawei E220 HSDPA USB Modem
craigtyson
post Oct 30 2007, 03:10 AM
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 464
Joined: 15-June 04
Member No.: 3,698



QUOTE(jpmatrix @ Oct 29 2007, 07:04 AM) *
QUOTE(craigtyson @ Oct 28 2007, 12:37 AM) *
No such luck.

It works great on my UBUNTU laptop, but no joy on the Z

C


what distro do you have on your zaurus ?and which kernel ?


SLC-1000 CACKO 1.23 lite, with whatever kernel CACKO 1.23 comes with.

C
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jpmatrix
post Oct 30 2007, 03:21 AM
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 1,019
Joined: 15-February 05
From: France
Member No.: 6,477



QUOTE(craigtyson @ Oct 30 2007, 12:10 PM) *
QUOTE(jpmatrix @ Oct 29 2007, 07:04 AM) *
QUOTE(craigtyson @ Oct 28 2007, 12:37 AM) *
No such luck.

It works great on my UBUNTU laptop, but no joy on the Z

C


what distro do you have on your zaurus ?and which kernel ?


SLC-1000 CACKO 1.23 lite, with whatever kernel CACKO 1.23 comes with.

C


oh i see...
could you try on a "modern" distro with a modern kernel, like angstrom or debian eabi ? please smile.gif
there's a good chance that it works see that it is supposed to on kernels > 2.6.19...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Wildherb
post Jan 5 2008, 03:55 PM
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 92
Joined: 9-January 06
Member No.: 8,887



QUOTE(craigtyson @ Oct 28 2007, 12:37 AM) *
No such luck.

It works great on my UBUNTU laptop, but no joy on the Z

C


Can you please document what you've tried in terms of physical cables and settings within Cacko?

I've just acquired a Huawei modem on the 3 network and it works right out of the box with my new Asus eeePC (great device but no plans to ditch the Z just yet!). It would be great to get it working on my 3100 as the modem will just squeeze into the top of my Piel Frama Z case! I'm currently back on Cacko after flirting with BSD and OZ. Angstrom was too bleeding-edge last time I looked but migth be prepared to give it another go if I can get some time.


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
craigtyson
post Jan 7 2008, 03:33 AM
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 464
Joined: 15-June 04
Member No.: 3,698



Cable wise used the cable that came with my C1000 from Trisoft. I dont seem to be able to create a USB serial port. but I dont seem to be able to get a USB mouse working either so I might have cocked up my USB support (I have installed all the USB drivers from the CACKO feed though)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jan 7 2008, 02:23 PM
Post #35





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(craigtyson @ Jan 7 2008, 11:33 AM) *
Cable wise used the cable that came with my C1000 from Trisoft. I dont seem to be able to create a USB serial port. but I dont seem to be able to get a USB mouse working either so I might have cocked up my USB support (I have installed all the USB drivers from the CACKO feed though)


what do "dmesg | tail -100" and "tail -100 /var/log/messages" say
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
laan
post Jan 9 2008, 10:41 AM
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 29-December 07
From: Spain
Member No.: 21,128



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Jan 7 2008, 11:23 PM) *
QUOTE(craigtyson @ Jan 7 2008, 11:33 AM) *
Cable wise used the cable that came with my C1000 from Trisoft. I dont seem to be able to create a USB serial port. but I dont seem to be able to get a USB mouse working either so I might have cocked up my USB support (I have installed all the USB drivers from the CACKO feed though)


what do "dmesg | tail -100" and "tail -100 /var/log/messages" say

I am on eabi debian, without powered hub the huawei turns on but as it was said it seems not to get enough power and is not correctly detected, with a powered usb hub it is correctly detected, I will keep you informed if I get it working.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
laan
post Jan 9 2008, 02:04 PM
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 29-December 07
From: Spain
Member No.: 21,128



ok after some problems with usb being detected as scsi cdrom it's working with wvdial perfectly happy.gif

now i will try to make the free vodafone applet to work:

https://forge.vodafonebetavine.net/projects/vodafonemobilec/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jpmatrix
post Jan 9 2008, 11:28 PM
Post #38





Group: Members
Posts: 1,019
Joined: 15-February 05
From: France
Member No.: 6,477



QUOTE(laan @ Jan 9 2008, 11:04 PM) *
ok after some problems with usb being detected as scsi cdrom it's working with wvdial perfectly happy.gif

now i will try to make the free vodafone applet to work:

https://forge.vodafonebetavine.net/projects/vodafonemobilec/


whow! that's a terrible news for me ! i think i'll buy one today ! wink.gif
thank you for reporting back !

by the way where did you buy yours ? i'd need one unsimlocked to work with french Orange provider
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
laan
post Jan 10 2008, 05:17 AM
Post #39





Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 29-December 07
From: Spain
Member No.: 21,128



QUOTE(jpmatrix @ Jan 10 2008, 08:28 AM) *
whow! that's a terrible news for me ! i think i'll buy one today ! wink.gif
thank you for reporting back !

by the way where did you buy yours ? i'd need one unsimlocked to work with french Orange provider


vodafone applet is too slow to load, not worthy imho.

Mine is from vodafone, have been using on laptop for a while but for sure ebay is your friend on it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Wildherb
post Jan 10 2008, 04:22 PM
Post #40





Group: Members
Posts: 92
Joined: 9-January 06
Member No.: 8,887



QUOTE(laan @ Jan 9 2008, 07:41 PM) *
QUOTE(speculatrix @ Jan 7 2008, 11:23 PM) *
QUOTE(craigtyson @ Jan 7 2008, 11:33 AM) *
Cable wise used the cable that came with my C1000 from Trisoft. I dont seem to be able to create a USB serial port. but I dont seem to be able to get a USB mouse working either so I might have cocked up my USB support (I have installed all the USB drivers from the CACKO feed though)


what do "dmesg | tail -100" and "tail -100 /var/log/messages" say

I am on eabi debian, without powered hub the huawei turns on but as it was said it seems not to get enough power and is not correctly detected, with a powered usb hub it is correctly detected, I will keep you informed if I get it working.


cool! what cables are you using? The E220 modem has a USB mini-B socket and I guess you need the Z to be in USB host mode, hence a USB mini-A to mini-B is what is needed.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
laan
post Jan 14 2008, 12:50 AM
Post #41





Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 29-December 07
From: Spain
Member No.: 21,128



QUOTE(Wildherb @ Jan 11 2008, 01:22 AM) *
QUOTE(laan @ Jan 9 2008, 07:41 PM) *
QUOTE(speculatrix @ Jan 7 2008, 11:23 PM) *
QUOTE(craigtyson @ Jan 7 2008, 11:33 AM) *
Cable wise used the cable that came with my C1000 from Trisoft. I dont seem to be able to create a USB serial port. but I dont seem to be able to get a USB mouse working either so I might have cocked up my USB support (I have installed all the USB drivers from the CACKO feed though)


what do "dmesg | tail -100" and "tail -100 /var/log/messages" say

I am on eabi debian, without powered hub the huawei turns on but as it was said it seems not to get enough power and is not correctly detected, with a powered usb hub it is correctly detected, I will keep you informed if I get it working.


cool! what cables are you using? The E220 modem has a USB mini-B socket and I guess you need the Z to be in USB host mode, hence a USB mini-A to mini-B is what is needed.


I use host cable to connect to powered HUB and connect modem to HUB, needing a powered HUB ties you to a power source if you don't have a battery powered HUB (each day harder to find sad.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Mar 15 2008, 06:24 AM
Post #42





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



unfortunately we've now got an on-call scheme at work, but it does mean we have a 3G modem - it's the Vodafone-UK branded Huawei thumb-stick one:
http://www.automatedhome.co.uk/images/news...afone_modem.jpg
which is the Huawei E172.

when I insert into laptop ... I see this in lsusb- evidently the device tables don't know much about it...
Bus 001 Device 006: ID 12d1:1003

I get this in /var/log/messages:
Mar 15 14:24:59 merton kernel: usb 1-1: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 6
Mar 15 14:24:59 merton kernel: usb 1-1: new device found, idVendor=12d1, idProduct=1003
Mar 15 14:24:59 merton kernel: usb 1-1: new device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=0
Mar 15 14:24:59 merton kernel: usb 1-1: Product: HUAWEI Mobile
Mar 15 14:24:59 merton kernel: usb 1-1: Manufacturer: HUAWEI Technologies
Mar 15 14:24:59 merton kernel: usb 1-1: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
Mar 15 14:24:59 merton kernel: option 1-1:1.0: GSM modem (1-port) converter detected
Mar 15 14:24:59 merton kernel: usb 1-1: GSM modem (1-port) converter now attached to ttyUSB0

however, I cannot make it work, using minicom or pppd dialler. odd. anyway, I've only had it a a few hours so when I've made some progress I can then try using zaurus and a powered hub! I will also try putting the SIM into my audiovox CF gprs card too wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
laan
post Mar 15 2008, 09:43 AM
Post #43





Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 29-December 07
From: Spain
Member No.: 21,128



which is your script? I usually need to remove PIN from cards on Linux, hope it helps
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Mar 18 2008, 05:03 AM
Post #44





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



This is the script I am trying to use:
CODE
TIMEOUT        5
ECHO        ON
ABORT        '\nBUSY\r'
ABORT        '\nERROR\r'
ABORT        '\nNO ANSWER\r'
ABORT        '\nNO CARRIER\r'
ABORT        '\nNO DIALTONE\r'
ABORT        '\nRINGING\r\n\r\nRINGING\r'
REPORT        CONNECT
TIMEOUT        60
SAY        'Sending AT'
''        '\r\r'
''        AT
SAY        'Sending ATZ'
OK        ATZ
SAY        'Sending ATE1'
OK        'ATE1'
SAY        'Sending AT&F'
OK        'AT&F'
SAY        'Sending ATQ0...'
OK        'OK ATQ0V1E1S0=0&C1&D2'
SAY        'Checking if PIN needed'
OK        'AT+CPIN?'
SAY        'Requesting for networks'
OK        'AT+COPS?'
SAY        'Requesting signal strength'
OK        'AT+CSQ'
SAY        'Specifying vodafone APN'
OK        'AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","internet"'
SAY        'Changing timeout to 30'
TIMEOUT        30
SAY        'Requesting connection'
OK        'ATD*99***1#'



here's the /etc/ppp/vodafone-usb file
CODE
/dev/ttyUSB0
debug
debug
nodetach
230400
noipdefault
usepeerdns
defaultroute
persist
noauth
user        Anyname
password    Anypassword
connect        '/usr/sbin/chat -v -f /etc/ppp/chat-vodafone'


siorry for the bad spacing, tab char has been stripped
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Mar 18 2008, 05:06 AM
Post #45





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



I found a couple of websites about the huawei e172 and its brethren:

http://the.taoofmac.com/space/Huawei/E220

http://oozie.fm.interia.pl/pro/huawei-e220/

a colleague has tried the e172 in his ubuntu laptop and it recognised it as four devices - one USB cdrom, and three tty/serial devices - ttyUSB{0,1,2}. he was able to mount the usb cdrom and see the windows install files, not sure he's got the modem side to work.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st September 2014 - 02:07 AM