OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Compuserve Classic Dialup With Pdaxrom Pppd, Solved. See post #4.
daniel3000
post Sep 11 2006, 01:43 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 1,002
Joined: 28-April 05
From: Germany
Member No.: 7,027



Hello folks,

did anyone successfully configure a CS Classic dialup account via modem (using pppd and chat) under pdaXrom?

CS needs a special chat script.
Default pdaXrom method is to include the chat script into the chat command line within the peers file for the dialup account.
I ave seperated the chat script now fro the peers file but it doesn't work.
The PPP dialer does nothing on "connect". The PPP dialer window remains empty.
owever, ps -ax shows a pppd and chat running.
What am I doing wrong?
Is there anywhere a log or something pof PPP dialer which may show error messages?

Here is what I have done:


1. Create normal PPP modem dialup with Compuserver ID and password.

2. Edit the file with the same name as the configuration in PPP dialer
under /etc/ppp/peers:

modify connect line to:
connect "/usr/sbin/chat -v -t 240 -f /etc/ppp/chat-compuserve"

3. Create file /etc/ppp/chat-compuserve:
CODE
ABORT 'BUSY'
ABURT 'NO CARRIER'
''     ATZ
OK     ATDT0191930
CONNECT ""
ame:
CIS
ID:
nnnnnn,nnnn/GO:PPPCONNECT
sword: xyz
PPP


4. chmod 600 /etc/ppp/chat-compuserve
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
desertrat
post Sep 11 2006, 01:56 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 742
Joined: 15-October 05
From: Gulag, Siberia
Member No.: 8,322



Wow, Compuserve is still around? I thought it died a quick and horrible death with the advent of the internet. Maybe the so called "Web 2.0" will kill it off tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
daniel3000
post Sep 11 2006, 02:08 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,002
Joined: 28-April 05
From: Germany
Member No.: 7,027



QUOTE(desertrat @ Sep 11 2006, 11:56 AM)
Wow, Compuserve is still around? I thought it died a quick and horrible death with the advent of the internet. Maybe the so called "Web 2.0" will kill it off  tongue.gif
*


I was also surprised to hear that the account is still active.
The big advantage are the international dial-in nodes which provide local numbers in almost every area. And despite of the special dial-in script needed it is a normal Internet access method just as any other dialin or DSL provider.

And finally I can use my Pretec CF modem (HP labeled) which I never got to work with Cacko or Sharp ROM, but which works beautifully under pdaXrom! biggrin.gif

daniel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
daniel3000
post Sep 11 2006, 11:12 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,002
Joined: 28-April 05
From: Germany
Member No.: 7,027



Solved.
Don't really know why, but now it works.
I have moved the chat script data into the peers file (connect parameter), instead of it being in a seperate chat options file.

Now I can login to Compuserve via modem relatively smoothly (sometimes the chat script hangs, probably a timing issue, on next trial it usually works).

Here is my /etc/ppp/peers/Modem_CSClassic:

CODE
/dev/ttyS3
115200
connect '/usr/sbin/chat -s -v ABORT "BUSY" \
ABORT "NO CARRIER" ABORT "NO DIALTONE" "" ATZ OK ATDT<dial-in number> \
CONNECT "" ame: CIS ID: nnnnnn,nnnn/GO:PPPCONNECT \
sword: xyz TIMEOUT 30 PPP ""'
crtscts
noipdefault
modem
user "nnnnnn,nnnn"
usepeerdns
defaultroute
connect-delay 31000
remotename Modem_CSClassic


Replace:
nnnnnn,nnnn with your Compuserve ID (attention: two occurrences - probably not necessary but it works),
xyz with your Compuserve password and
<dial-in number> with the color of your cat. wink.gif

daniel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd December 2014 - 12:26 AM