OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How do I connect to a wireless lan??
Stegnation
post May 23 2004, 12:33 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 31-December 03
Member No.: 1,317



Hi, I just purchased a D-LINK DFC-660W.

I've installed Kismet and it works fine. I don't have my own access point, but Kismet finds a few APs and Probes. What are the probes? Antennas?

But how on earth do I connect to one of these APs?

I'm running SharpROM 3.10
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
doseas
post May 24 2004, 11:28 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 207
Joined: 7-July 03
From: Thousand Oaks, CA
Member No.: 9



A probe is basically a device looking for another device.

You can only easily connect to an access point that isn't WEP encrypted and isn't using MAC access control.

If you can see an IP address for the AP, then it isn't MAC controlled.

I've setup a Wireless LAN configuration (using the Network Setup applet) called "Public WAN" with these parameters:
Non-specific ESSID ("ANY")
WEP disabled
Obtain TCP/IP automatically
Obtain DNS automatically
No proxy

This allows me to connect to most open APs that I've found.

Once you've set up the WLAN config, select it from the list using the "globe" icon that appears on the taskbar when you insert your WLAN card, then select "connect".
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stegnation
post May 25 2004, 03:46 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 31-December 03
Member No.: 1,317



Finally I found a connection that works 8)

But what if a connection has no ESSID and no WEP, but I can see the ip address. Is it possible to connect?

It shows 192.168.2.3 as its ip address.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st October 2014 - 11:08 AM