OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Can I Run A Python Script As An Opie Application?
reklov
post Jan 9 2006, 06:55 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 5-November 04
Member No.: 5,345



Is it possible to run a Python-PyQt script as an Opie application?

So far my script runs from the console. But while it is running I can't launch another programm without killing it.

Can someone help me with some URLs to special guides to get me going?

Zaurus 5500G, OpenZaurus 3.5.3, Opie 1.2.0

Thanks
Volker
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DrWowe
post Jan 9 2006, 08:46 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 696
Joined: 17-January 04
Member No.: 1,468



Did you try running it from the launcher?

Just go to the /home/QtPalmtop/apps/Applications/ directory and create a launch icon. You can use the other files in that directory as a template.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
reklov
post Jan 10 2006, 03:56 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 5-November 04
Member No.: 5,345



QUOTE(DrWowe @ Jan 9 2006, 04:46 PM)
Did you try running it from the launcher?

Just go to the /home/QtPalmtop/apps/Applications/ directory and create a launch icon.  You can use the other files in that directory as a template.
*


Well, I did, and I don't get any icon displayed, even after system restart.

The directory proper in my settings is /media/card/opt/QPalmtop/apps/Games.

My bht.desktop:

[Desktop Entry]
Name=Bht
Icon=gaim
Exec=bht
Comment=Program to record Bridge Home Tournaments
Comment[de]=Programm zur Protokollierung von Bridge-Heimturnieren
Type=Application
Type[de]=Anwendung

As a picture I borrowed some other already there (.../QPalmtop/pics/gaim.png) for the time being, only to test.
In .../QPalmtop/bin/ I put the symlink "bht" to my script "bht.py", which is executable.

What is wrong or missing?
Volker
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nilch
post Jan 10 2006, 11:52 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 668
Joined: 3-December 03
From: US
Member No.: 1,034



I don't know exactly for Opie - but the stepe are more or less the same as on a Sharp ROM.

A few steps necessary

1) copy the .py file to /home/QtPalmtop/bin and make it executable
(you did a symlink - probably that might work as well)

2) make a .desktop file under /home/QtPalmtop/apps/<whichever tab you want>

as

[Desktop Entry]
Exec = file.py
Categories=
MimeType = application/python
Icon = <graphics file under /home/qtpalmtop/pics>
Name = <whatever app>
Type = Application
Display

3) edit the /home/QtPalmtop/etc/mime.types file and add a mime type for python
(this may not be necessary if you set the mimetypes in the .desktop file).

4) Restart Qtopia

That should put your application icon on the desktop.
Remember - for desktop apps - all scripts have to be in /home/QtPalmtop/bin

Hope this works...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
reklov
post Jan 10 2006, 10:41 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 5-November 04
Member No.: 5,345



QUOTE(nilch @ Jan 10 2006, 07:52 PM)
I don't know exactly for Opie - but the stepe are more or less the same as on a Sharp ROM.

A few steps necessary

1) copy the .py file to /home/QtPalmtop/bin and make it executable
      (you did a symlink - probably that might work as well)

2) make a .desktop file under /home/QtPalmtop/apps/<whichever tab you want>

as

[Desktop Entry]
Exec = file.py
Categories=
MimeType = application/python
Icon = <graphics file under /home/qtpalmtop/pics>
Name = <whatever app>
Type = Application
Display

3) edit the /home/QtPalmtop/etc/mime.types  file and add a mime type for python
(this may not be necessary if you set the mimetypes in the .desktop file).

4) Restart Qtopia

That should put your application icon on the desktop.
Remember - for desktop apps - all scripts have to be in /home/QtPalmtop/bin

Hope this works...
*


Thank you for clarification. But I can see no difference to my settings but for the different /home/ in my Hentges-ROM.

Well, I tried the MimeType line. Still no icon displayed. And for the symlink: there are a lot of other symlinks in my .../QPalmtop/bin/ - and they work.

Volker
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
reklov
post Jan 11 2006, 06:32 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 5-November 04
Member No.: 5,345



It works.

Thank you for your help.

Volker
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th September 2014 - 07:36 PM