OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Xorg In User, xorg pb
flux
post Nov 1 2007, 02:54 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 104
Joined: 14-August 06
Member No.: 10,798



hello, excuse me to start a new topic ;
i installed debian on c3100 with the method without network (...)
http://www.bigbridgezau.sakura.ne.jp/dev/debian/

i have 2.6.20-cpufreq kernel
dist-upgrade to sid
apt-get install xserver-xorg-video-fbdev laptop-detect xbase-clients fluxbox (...)

in root : startx works -> i arrive under fluxbox.

in user : startx
i get a library pb (from /opt/kdrive/libts-0.0.so.0 , it can't open this file)
and a /tmp write error.
i did : chmod 1777 /tmp -> no more /tmp error, but still the libts-0.0.so.0 pb

i tried to ln -s this library to /usr/bin -> doesnt work.
then :
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/kdrive startx -> gives me a ld-linux.so.3 pb (can't open the file)

so my question : is there another way to be able to startx in user ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jpmatrix
post Nov 1 2007, 03:08 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,019
Joined: 15-February 05
From: France
Member No.: 6,477



try to follow this guide :

http://inv2004.googlepages.com/z1000_debian.txt

just after the line "couse standart Xorg is too hard for zaurus we'll try to install kdrive"


i remember i suceed but that was not easy. i remember i had to grab some files from angstrom then i was able to launch X with my default user.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
flux
post Nov 1 2007, 03:51 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 104
Joined: 14-August 06
Member No.: 10,798



i followed instructions, changing for my system ...
cp /opt/kdrive/libts-0.0.so.0.1.1 /usr/local/lib
ln -s
ldconfig

(same for /usr/local/bin/Xfbdev) (and for the $HOME/.xserverrc...)

after that, i still had the same problem, as if ldconfig didn't work
i did a : ln -s /usr/local/lib/libts.0.0.so.0.1.1 /usr/lib/libts.0.0.so.0

with it, i'm on a new error :

/usr/local/bin/Xfbdev: lib/libgcc_s.so.1: version 'GCC_3.5" NOT FOUND (required by /usr/local/bin/Xfbdev)
/usr/local/bin/Xfbdev: /lib/libdl.so.2: version "BLIBC_2.4" not found (required by /urs/lib/libts-0.0.so.0)



before posting here, i had tried to echo /opt/kdrive >> /etc/ld.so.conf && ldconfig
-> i had to reinstall, because library versions pb for all program....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
flux
post Nov 1 2007, 04:12 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 104
Joined: 14-August 06
Member No.: 10,798



and now, i :
ln -s both library i told in the precedent post...
that made me the same error as when i had /opt/kdrive in ldconfig....
don't have any more program workin on bash
reboot -> kernel panic
-> reinstall.

but... tell me guys... are you all working on X under root ? there is no easy way (automatic way) to startx as a user (even in xdm, i could not log while i was "user"...) i can't believe it...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dlj0
post Nov 1 2007, 06:30 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 219
Joined: 3-March 06
Member No.: 9,282



QUOTE(flux @ Nov 1 2007, 06:54 PM) *
hello, excuse me to start a new topic ;
i installed debian on c3100 with the method without network (...)
http://www.bigbridgezau.sakura.ne.jp/dev/debian/

i have 2.6.20-cpufreq kernel
dist-upgrade to sid
apt-get install xserver-xorg-video-fbdev laptop-detect xbase-clients fluxbox (...)

in root : startx works -> i arrive under fluxbox.

in user : startx
i get a library pb (from /opt/kdrive/libts-0.0.so.0 , it can't open this file)
and a /tmp write error.
i did : chmod 1777 /tmp -> no more /tmp error, but still the libts-0.0.so.0 pb

i tried to ln -s this library to /usr/bin -> doesnt work.
then :
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/kdrive startx -> gives me a ld-linux.so.3 pb (can't open the file)

so my question : is there another way to be able to startx in user ?


I think the LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/kdrive command makes that the _only_ place it looks for libraries.

The X script in /opt/kdrive has that, but in the context of a script which says:

#!/bin/sh
export TSLIB_TSDEVICE=/dev/input/event1
if [ ! -e /etc/ts.conf ]; then
cp /opt/kdrive/ts.conf /etc/ts.conf
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/kdrive /opt/kdrive/ts_calibrate
fi
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/kdrive
exec /opt/kdrive/Xfbdev -screen 480x640@270 "$@"

Try that script, if you don't have it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
flux
post Nov 1 2007, 07:17 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 104
Joined: 14-August 06
Member No.: 10,798



ok...

from beginning : login as user.

su -
chmod 1777 /tmp
exit
cp /opt/kdrive/X .xserverrc && chmod 755 .xserverrc
startx
--> Fatal server error : Server must be suid root

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

su -
chmod 4755 /opt/kdrive/Xfbdev
exit
startx
---> /opt/kdrive/Xfbdev: error while loading shared libraries: libts-0.0.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory ; giving up
xinit: Connection refused (errno 111) : unable to connect to X server
xinit : No such process (errno 3): server error
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

chmod 4755 .xserverrc
startx
--> same as above

any idea ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dlj0
post Nov 1 2007, 08:55 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 219
Joined: 3-March 06
Member No.: 9,282



QUOTE(flux @ Nov 1 2007, 11:17 PM) *
ok...

from beginning : login as user.

su -
chmod 1777 /tmp
exit
cp /opt/kdrive/X .xserverrc && chmod 755 .xserverrc
startx
--> Fatal server error : Server must be suid root

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

su -
chmod 4755 /opt/kdrive/Xfbdev
exit
startx
---> /opt/kdrive/Xfbdev: error while loading shared libraries: libts-0.0.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory ; giving up
xinit: Connection refused (errno 111) : unable to connect to X server
xinit : No such process (errno 3): server error
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

chmod 4755 .xserverrc
startx
--> same as above

any idea ?


1) My server was not installed suid root.

2) When I kill my xdm, then exit X with a Ctrl-Alt-Backspace, I see the same behavior when running startx. When xdm starts, it starts as root (or suid root). So, it would seem that startx is not set up correctly to run from the console.

Try running xdm in startup... It's been a long time since I have run any computer without xdm or gdm. At first I hated it, but then I got used to it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
flux
post Nov 1 2007, 09:09 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 104
Joined: 14-August 06
Member No.: 10,798



ok, it works with xdm (that's weird, before the reinstall, it wasn't).
i wish i'll understand how to "startx" because i never be able to love *dm
thx you, if you have a clue that's come up for "startx", i'm listening and test. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jpmatrix
post Nov 1 2007, 10:08 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 1,019
Joined: 15-February 05
From: France
Member No.: 6,477



QUOTE(flux @ Nov 2 2007, 06:09 AM) *
ok, it works with xdm (that's weird, before the reinstall, it wasn't).
i wish i'll understand how to "startx" because i never be able to love *dm
thx you, if you have a clue that's come up for "startx", i'm listening and test. smile.gif



oooooh now i remember i had the same problem !!!! i could not login with my normal user without xdm !
launching xdm was the only solution i had...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
flux
post Nov 1 2007, 11:19 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 104
Joined: 14-August 06
Member No.: 10,798



a friend explained me that it was because the fb feature needs root privilege (i still don't understand why with chmod 4755 /opt/kdrive/Xfbdev, iwould'nt work... but .)

i wonder ... apt-get install xserver-xorg-video-fbdev xbase-clients xdm xserver-xorg-input-evtouch (...)
my pointer doesn't respond.
i can't launch : /opt/kdrive/ts_calibrate (same libts-0.0.so.0 error as above) this under root and user.
would you know what should i do to calibrate the pointer ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
flux
post Nov 2 2007, 12:15 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 104
Joined: 14-August 06
Member No.: 10,798



an other way to ask this question would be :

in /opt/kdrive/ts.conf

which "module_raw" should i choose, as i'm using a zaurus sl-c3100 ?
i tried the "corgi" one... but doesn't work. and i still can't calibrate the screen when i "rm /opt/kdrive/ts.conf"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chero
post Nov 2 2007, 09:10 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 1,141
Joined: 22-April 04
From: Belgium
Member No.: 2,962



QUOTE(flux @ Nov 2 2007, 09:15 AM) *
an other way to ask this question would be :

in /opt/kdrive/ts.conf

which "module_raw" should i choose, as i'm using a zaurus sl-c3100 ?
i tried the "corgi" one... but doesn't work. and i still can't calibrate the screen when i "rm /opt/kdrive/ts.conf"


leave /opt/kdrive/ts.conf as is (it comes correct for C3X00) and "rm /etc/ts.conf" instead, then restart xdm -> you should be asked to do calibration.

I guess you could have even other problems :
xserver-xorg-video-fbdev and xserver-xorg-input-evtouch should be provided by installing zaurus-xserver from the titchy-repo ("neilandtheresa"). They are in /opt/kdrive. When installing them in /usr as well, I presume you could have created a mix that little Z doesn't like.

Just a tip : the way things are going right now, and since you installed through the rootfs-tarball, you could as well install the eabi version. Most users here seem to be going that way and you'd probably get more support. (some of the answers in this thread are for the eabi version).

Chero.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
flux
post Nov 2 2007, 11:41 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 104
Joined: 14-August 06
Member No.: 10,798



i finally get it worked. but at the price of a reinstall. for people who would follow this way... :
i installed debian on c3100 with the method without network (...), with the rootfs-tarball
http://www.bigbridgezau.sakura.ne.jp/dev/debian/
change in /etc/apt/source.list to "sid" then,

login : root
apt-get update && apt-get dist-upgrade
apt-get install xorg # whole xorg... many non needed... but this way, it worked
apt-get install xdm fluxbox
chmod 1777 /tmp
su - user
echo -e "xterm&\n fluxbox\n" > .xsession && chmod 755 .xsession
exit
xdm

then, the calibrate screen appears... and then xdm to log. if you doesn't "chmod 1777 /tmp", you won't be able to log as a user.

QUESTION : why /tmp isn't world-writable ? usually, it is, or am i dreaming ?

if anyone has a/some question(s), please ask !
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jpmatrix
post Nov 2 2007, 11:53 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 1,019
Joined: 15-February 05
From: France
Member No.: 6,477



QUOTE(flux @ Nov 2 2007, 08:41 PM) *
i finally get it worked. but at the price of a reinstall. for people who would follow this way... :
i installed debian on c3100 with the method without network (...), with the rootfs-tarball
http://www.bigbridgezau.sakura.ne.jp/dev/debian/
change in /etc/apt/source.list to "sid" then,

login : root
apt-get update && apt-get dist-upgrade
apt-get install xorg # whole xorg... many non needed... but this way, it worked
apt-get install xdm fluxbox
chmod 1777 /tmp
su - user
echo -e "xterm&\n fluxbox\n" > .xsession && chmod 755 .xsession
exit
xdm

then, the calibrate screen appears... and then xdm to log. if you doesn't "chmod 1777 /tmp", you won't be able to log as a user.

QUESTION : why /tmp isn't world-writable ? usually, it is, or am i dreaming ?

if anyone has a/some question(s), please ask !


whow!
this means you're using xorg and not kdrive if i understand well smile.gif
how is your memory ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
flux
post Nov 2 2007, 01:31 PM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 104
Joined: 14-August 06
Member No.: 10,798



nop... the problem was since the beginning "kdrive" and still is... i think it is automatically installed with zaurus-debian-hardware.deb or an other stuff... i don't know. but it's /opt/kdrive/Xfbdev that is launched.

i know kdrive is only 2Mo instead of 8 for xorg... but in order to use "startx" as a user, i'm still thinking if i wouldn't remove the kdrive... it would be such a mistake... maybe, probably, certainly.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

5 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th September 2014 - 04:54 PM