OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Sl-c3200 Full Hd “openbsd Hallelujah”, Andy Installation Guide C3200 Version
hus
post Jul 10 2006, 04:01 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 18-June 06
From: Saudi Arabia/Riyadh
Member No.: 10,193



Ok I got my new AmbiCom WL1100C-CF Wireless card and it works fine except something I would like you guys comment on it “ This Card gets over heated!“ in a way that’s really can’t hold it, I used to wireless cards heat, but not like this I feel it’s malfunction or something, would like to hear from you guys.

Anyway here the way to get Andy Full HD install for SL-C3200, basically following Andy installation guide as it is Andy Whole HD Guide

I replaced the kernel with tetsu kernel Tetsu 18h SL-C3200 Kernel also i replaced the updater.sh with this one
Attached File  updater.sh.txt ( 4.6K ) Number of downloads: 91


So the files now looks like this
CODE
fdisk
initrd.bin
zImage.bin  <==--- Replaced by Tetsu Kernel
updater.sh   <==--- Replaced by Updater.sh above


Following the guide as it is and after installing OpenBSD and before booting it there is another modification, i used the same method to log to emergency screen using B+D and insert the CF card and preform the following:
CODE
mkdir /mnt/mtdflash
mount /dev/mtdblock2 /mnt/mtdflash
cp /mnt/mtdflash/etc/pcmcia/config /mnt/cf


in your regular Linux/BSD computer (Or Windows with UltraEdit Text Editor) open the file that we just copy it, and replace all ide-cs pattern to be ide_cs.

replace the old file with the one you edit it (cp /mnt/cf/config /mnt/mtdflash/etc/pcmcia/config) now boot the new FULL HD OpenBSD

i hope this will help someone.

and yeah Andy could you plz release full HD image for SL-C3200? you start this guide it will be great to take it to another level, and thank you for all the information you share it with us.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mathemajikian
post Jul 10 2006, 10:00 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 304
Joined: 8-July 06
From: United Kingdom for now....
Member No.: 10,349



Thanks for writing this up!



QUOTE(hus @ Jul 10 2006, 12:01 PM)
Ok I got my new AmbiCom WL1100C-CF Wireless card and it works fine except something I would like you guys comment on it “ This Card gets over heated!“ in a way that’s really can’t hold it, I used to wireless cards heat, but not like this I feel it’s malfunction or something, would like to hear from you guys.

Anyway here the way to get Andy Full HD install for SL-C3200, basically following Andy installation guide as it is Andy Whole HD Guide

I replaced the kernel with tetsu kernel Tetsu 18h SL-C3200 Kernel also i replaced the updater.sh with this one
Attached File  updater.sh.txt ( 4.6K ) Number of downloads: 91


So the files now looks like this
CODE
fdisk
initrd.bin
zImage.bin  <==--- Replaced by Tetsu Kernel
updater.sh   <==--- Replaced by Updater.sh above


Following the guide as it is and after installing OpenBSD and before booting it there is another modification, i used the same method to log to emergency screen using B+D and insert the CF card and preform the following:
CODE
mkdir /mnt/mtdflash
mount /dev/mtdblock2 /mnt/mtdflash
cp /mnt/mtdflash/etc/pcmcia/config /mnt/cf


in your regular Linux/BSD computer (Or Windows with UltraEdit Text Editor) open the file that we just copy it, and replace all ide-cs pattern to be ide_cs.

replace the old file with the one you edit it (cp /mnt/cf/config /mnt/mtdflash/etc/pcmcia/config)  now boot the new FULL HD OpenBSD

i hope this will help someone.

and yeah Andy could you plz release full HD image for SL-C3200? you start this guide it will be great to take it to another level, and thank you for all the information you share it with us.
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Jul 10 2006, 10:28 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



QUOTE(hus @ Jul 10 2006, 03:01 AM)
Ok I got my new AmbiCom WL1100C-CF Wireless card and it works fine except something I would like you guys comment on it “ This Card gets over heated!“ in a way that’s really can’t hold it, I used to wireless cards heat, but not like this I feel it’s malfunction or something, would like to hear from you guys.



Mine gets pretty hot too. Not you can't hold it hot, but pretty hot.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hus
post Jul 10 2006, 06:29 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 18-June 06
From: Saudi Arabia/Riyadh
Member No.: 10,193



QUOTE(BarryW @ Jul 11 2006, 04:28 AM)
Mine gets pretty hot too.  Not you can't hold it hot, but pretty hot.
*


Thanks for reply, well that's mean no malfunction with the card then
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mathemajikian
post Jul 11 2006, 02:26 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 304
Joined: 8-July 06
From: United Kingdom for now....
Member No.: 10,349



What ROM are you running to boot? pdaxrom, cacko, OZ? Or is this installed during the full disk installation? I dont want to waste any room on the hard drive to a linux installation.




QUOTE(hus @ Jul 10 2006, 12:01 PM)
Ok I got my new AmbiCom WL1100C-CF Wireless card and it works fine except something I would like you guys comment on it “ This Card gets over heated!“ in a way that’s really can’t hold it, I used to wireless cards heat, but not like this I feel it’s malfunction or something, would like to hear from you guys.

Anyway here the way to get Andy Full HD install for SL-C3200, basically following Andy installation guide as it is Andy Whole HD Guide

I replaced the kernel with tetsu kernel Tetsu 18h SL-C3200 Kernel also i replaced the updater.sh with this one
Attached File  updater.sh.txt ( 4.6K ) Number of downloads: 91


So the files now looks like this
CODE
fdisk
initrd.bin
zImage.bin  <==--- Replaced by Tetsu Kernel
updater.sh   <==--- Replaced by Updater.sh above


Following the guide as it is and after installing OpenBSD and before booting it there is another modification, i used the same method to log to emergency screen using B+D and insert the CF card and preform the following:
CODE
mkdir /mnt/mtdflash
mount /dev/mtdblock2 /mnt/mtdflash
cp /mnt/mtdflash/etc/pcmcia/config /mnt/cf


in your regular Linux/BSD computer (Or Windows with UltraEdit Text Editor) open the file that we just copy it, and replace all ide-cs pattern to be ide_cs.

replace the old file with the one you edit it (cp /mnt/cf/config /mnt/mtdflash/etc/pcmcia/config)  now boot the new FULL HD OpenBSD

i hope this will help someone.

and yeah Andy could you plz release full HD image for SL-C3200? you start this guide it will be great to take it to another level, and thank you for all the information you share it with us.
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hus
post Jul 11 2006, 04:45 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 18-June 06
From: Saudi Arabia/Riyadh
Member No.: 10,193



QUOTE(mathemajikian @ Jul 12 2006, 08:26 AM)
What ROM are you running to boot? pdaxrom, cacko, OZ? Or is this installed during the full disk installation? I dont want to waste any room on the hard drive to a linux installation.
*


Hi mathemajikian

this is full HD install means all the hard drive OpenBSD.

The linux used here only the kernel and the small initrd (both in flash) just to boot the OpenBSD, you have to read Andy Installation Guide, what's in this post is to make it work with SL-C3200

iamsmith [Openbsd On Whole Disk Sl-c3000]
http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=17213

[Not using any other rom, this is tiny rom to boot OpenBSD]
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mathemajikian
post Jul 25 2006, 01:53 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 304
Joined: 8-July 06
From: United Kingdom for now....
Member No.: 10,349



Ugg!!! I have had my zaurus for one night have have already crashed the crappy qtopia OS! It would just keep rebooting itself and never get past the boot upscreen. Stuck at runlevel 5. So then I went into the system restore menu and selected clear hdd. Now I get a HDD 1 error and it will not boot at all. So now that my assumptions that linux is crap I am ready to put on old faithful. BSD! So should I just be able to copy the files in this post and follow the guide written by andy or is the hdd error going to give me headaches? If so what do I need to do to correct the HDD error so I can install openbsd?

Thanks!


QUOTE(hus @ Jul 10 2006, 12:01 PM)
Ok I got my new AmbiCom WL1100C-CF Wireless card and it works fine except something I would like you guys comment on it “ This Card gets over heated!“ in a way that’s really can’t hold it, I used to wireless cards heat, but not like this I feel it’s malfunction or something, would like to hear from you guys.

Anyway here the way to get Andy Full HD install for SL-C3200, basically following Andy installation guide as it is Andy Whole HD Guide

I replaced the kernel with tetsu kernel Tetsu 18h SL-C3200 Kernel also i replaced the updater.sh with this one
Attached File  updater.sh.txt ( 4.6K ) Number of downloads: 91


So the files now looks like this
CODE
fdisk
initrd.bin
zImage.bin  <==--- Replaced by Tetsu Kernel
updater.sh   <==--- Replaced by Updater.sh above


Following the guide as it is and after installing OpenBSD and before booting it there is another modification, i used the same method to log to emergency screen using B+D and insert the CF card and preform the following:
CODE
mkdir /mnt/mtdflash
mount /dev/mtdblock2 /mnt/mtdflash
cp /mnt/mtdflash/etc/pcmcia/config /mnt/cf


in your regular Linux/BSD computer (Or Windows with UltraEdit Text Editor) open the file that we just copy it, and replace all ide-cs pattern to be ide_cs.

replace the old file with the one you edit it (cp /mnt/cf/config /mnt/mtdflash/etc/pcmcia/config)  now boot the new FULL HD OpenBSD

i hope this will help someone.

and yeah Andy could you plz release full HD image for SL-C3200? you start this guide it will be great to take it to another level, and thank you for all the information you share it with us.
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hus
post Jul 25 2006, 08:06 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 18-June 06
From: Saudi Arabia/Riyadh
Member No.: 10,193



if you want to go for OpenBSD you don't need to restore the HD just follow the guide. if you want to use Sharp Rom or Cacko you need to restore the HDD just search the forum.

OZ, pdaXrom and OpenBSD no need to restore the HD.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mathemajikian
post Jul 25 2006, 09:45 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 304
Joined: 8-July 06
From: United Kingdom for now....
Member No.: 10,349



Thanks hus! I can't beleave the Qtopia rom crashed like that. I just tried to install mplayer from the killz.de site and the next thing I know it rebooted itself automagically and would just sit there and hang on runlevel 5.



QUOTE(hus @ Jul 26 2006, 04:06 AM)
if you want to go for OpenBSD you don't need to restore the HD just follow the guide. if you want to use Sharp Rom or Cacko you need to restore the HDD just search the forum.

OZ, pdaXrom and OpenBSD no need to restore the HD.
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hus
post Jul 27 2006, 05:23 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 18-June 06
From: Saudi Arabia/Riyadh
Member No.: 10,193



QUOTE(mathemajikian @ Jul 26 2006, 03:45 PM)
Thanks hus! I can't beleave the Qtopia rom crashed like that. I just tried to install mplayer from the killz.de site and the next thing I know it rebooted itself automagically and would just sit there and hang on runlevel 5.
*


anytime,

well crashes happen all the time smile.gif for example you will find the suspend within OpenBSD somehow not stable on C32000, since yestrday i had crashes when it resume (i'm using the latest snapshots)

i'm trying to test that without the HD softdep,noatime stuff to see, oh yeah i also tunned many things to get some speed plus the set to 520MHz maybe they are responsible of the crash :/

hope you will enjoy your new Zaurii cool.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mathemajikian
post Jul 27 2006, 07:19 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 304
Joined: 8-July 06
From: United Kingdom for now....
Member No.: 10,349



well I tried to install obsd but I can not seem to make it boot. I get to the point where it is asking

disk:
then >boot but it cannot find /bsd
not sure what the deal is? I did full install on wd0a but it seems to be looking for hd0a? Any ideas?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hus
post Jul 27 2006, 04:30 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 18-June 06
From: Saudi Arabia/Riyadh
Member No.: 10,193



QUOTE(mathemajikian @ Jul 28 2006, 01:19 AM)
well I tried to install obsd but I can not seem to make it boot. I get to the point where it is asking

disk:
then >boot but it cannot find /bsd
not sure what the deal is? I did full install on wd0a but it seems to be looking for hd0a? Any ideas?
*


did you start emergency boot ( the D + B) and edited the pcmcia config file?
like the following:

CODE
1 - Log to emergency boot (D+B)
2 - mkdir /mnt/flash
3 - mount /dev/mtdblock2 /mnt/flash
3 - cp /mnt/flash/etc/pcmcia/config /mnt/cf      # copy to cf/sd card the /mnt/flash/etc/pcmcia/config to edit it
4 - open the file by any editor and change all "ide-cs" to be "ide_cs"
5 - copy back the file to zaurus
cp /mnt/cf/config /mnt/flash/etc/pcmcia/config


The reson to copy that file to edit it externaly because vi will crash if u tryed to edit it within zaurus.

enjoy OBSD
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mathemajikian
post Jul 28 2006, 05:53 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 304
Joined: 8-July 06
From: United Kingdom for now....
Member No.: 10,349



I mounted the location liked you stated but I could not find /mnt/flash/etc/pcmcia to copy the config. There was a pcmcia config but it was not in the directory stated. It was already edited in the form you mentioned when I did a 'more' on it. Atleast it looked like it had been edited already. Is that the reason why it would not boot? If so I will try again. I restored the hdd1 hdd2 and hdd3 and installed cacko. Works like a champ, but I want to try bsd sense thats what I am used to. The cool thing about cacko is that it has opera preinstalled!I also tried out pdaXrom but suspend would not work correctly.I would suspend the zaurus but it would not wake back up? Have you corrected the suspend problems you are having?

Mathemajikian

QUOTE(hus @ Jul 28 2006, 12:30 AM)
QUOTE(mathemajikian @ Jul 28 2006, 01:19 AM)
well I tried to install obsd but I can not seem to make it boot. I get to the point where it is asking

disk:
then >boot but it cannot find /bsd
not sure what the deal is? I did full install on wd0a but it seems to be looking for hd0a? Any ideas?
*


did you start emergency boot ( the D + cool.gif and edited the pcmcia config file?
like the following:

CODE
1 - Log to emergency boot (D+B)
2 - mkdir /mnt/flash
3 - mount /dev/mtdblock2 /mnt/flash
3 - cp /mnt/flash/etc/pcmcia/config /mnt/cf      # copy to cf/sd card the /mnt/flash/etc/pcmcia/config to edit it
4 - open the file by any editor and change all "ide-cs" to be "ide_cs"
5 - copy back the file to zaurus
cp /mnt/cf/config /mnt/flash/etc/pcmcia/config


The reson to copy that file to edit it externaly because vi will crash if u tryed to edit it within zaurus.

enjoy OBSD
*

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hus
post Jul 28 2006, 10:42 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 18-June 06
From: Saudi Arabia/Riyadh
Member No.: 10,193



QUOTE(mathemajikian @ Jul 28 2006, 11:53 PM)
I mounted the location liked you stated but I could not find /mnt/flash/etc/pcmcia to copy the config. There was a pcmcia config but it was not in the directory stated. It was already edited in the form you mentioned when I did a 'more' on it. Atleast it looked like it had been edited already. Is that the reason why it would not boot?


i just check it, mount the /dev/mtdblock2 and you will find /etc/pcmcia/config

yes no boot because the IDE module didn't load up which result the internal HD not exist.

QUOTE
If so I will try again. I restored the hdd1 hdd2 and hdd3 and installed cacko. Works like a champ, but I want to try bsd sense thats what I am used to. The cool thing about cacko is that it has opera preinstalled!I also tried out pdaXrom but suspend would not work correctly.


i like cacko too, regard pdaxrom suspend it's ok with me i have no problem with it.

QUOTE
I would suspend the zaurus but it would not wake back up? Have you corrected the suspend problems you are having?


Still not looking at it, so busy lately, but there is a good news the version 4 showd up on the snapshots, we will see good things next days. (i hope)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mathemajikian
post Jul 29 2006, 01:39 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 304
Joined: 8-July 06
From: United Kingdom for now....
Member No.: 10,349



cacko mounts /dev/mtdblock2 to / according to fstab. I cd /etc/pcmcia and did a 'more config'. I looked over everything that had ide mentioned and everything was already edited? There was nothing in the form ide-cs.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st August 2014 - 03:58 PM