OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Virtual Box For The Zaurus?
Neverwinter
post Aug 15 2007, 10:05 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 122
Joined: 24-November 04
Member No.: 5,594



Does anyone think Virtual Box can be ported to any of the Zauruses?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
alexl
post Jan 23 2015, 01:52 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 18-July 04
Member No.: 4,030



Technically, any computing device can emulate any other, so the Zaurus (various models) could emulate others - but the limitations are storage and processing speed. With a big enough CF or SD card, storage need not be a problem, but the low processing speed limits the complexity of the emulation - plus, you'd be emulating the hardware as well. I doubt whether VirtualBox could run on a Z, but highly-optimised emulations - i.e. CPU emulation core written in ARM assembler - might work. UAE runs quite well on my SL-5500, and it's written in C (note, I have not tried FS-UAE, but am using the old UAE).

I use the following rule: if the system to be emulated was made before 1990, it might work on the SL-5500. SIMH works well because it is not too resource-hungry (apart from the VAX).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Feb 25 2015, 03:06 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,036
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Wow!

Only took 8 years to get a reply....

smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 5th September 2015 - 04:19 AM