OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> X/qt Installed, Sort Of, still have a few issues
PaulBx1
post Mar 29 2006, 12:39 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 26-February 06
Member No.: 9,234



I decided to go ahead and try a cramfs install on my C1000 even though I'm not sure of some issues. It works in some respects (I can get the xwindow running), however:

1) Cacko 1.23 seemed to have some sort of automount facility already before starting this. At least, when I took the SD card out or put it in, it automatically mounted it. I tried installing X/QT without Meanies automounter, thinking this other one might work. No. Then I tried installing automounter. Now I don't know which is working, but I still don't get the cramfs automatically mounted, my guess is automounter still is not working (if I type "automounter" it says "command not found"). I have to do the mount manually (e.g. after boot) to get it up. No swap either. <later> This appears to be a problem of definition (link?) of "automounter" because if I go to /etc/rc.d/init.d I find mntloop and if I invoke it with "status" it shows me the loop devices including xqt.

2) Not sure what the swap situation for X/Qt is supposed to be on a C1000 anyway. My sd card is 256MB...

3) I get lots of error messages on boot. First is "cramfs: wrong magic" and then "FAT: bogus logical sector size 381". Then a whole pile of complaints like:

pxa_sd_wait_id_response: responce time out (cmd=01 MMC_STAT=0x2142)

4) I neglected to do a "tee" or whatever one does to capture the output when running xqt-install.sh; is there any log lying around to look at?

5) Oh, I unzipped these packages on my windoze box, where I had downloaded them; was that a mistake? I noticed the script handled unzipping. I guess I needed to unzip the script if nothing else.

6) I noticed in one thread Cresho had a recipe for this install:
QUOTE
install--needed files or it will not work
----------------------------------------
automounter-c3000_0.4.5_arm.ipk
sudo_0.1_arm.ipk
zlib_1.2.3-1_arm.ipk
qconsole(disable magnifyby holding down with stylus and removing check)
...

http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=13011&st=390
sudo is there but I don't know if zlib is, or how to tell. I'm just using the regular QKonsole that came with Cacko.

My efforts to search for answers to these on the forum were not fruitful.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bam
post Mar 29 2006, 12:55 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



1) Cacko 1.23 seemed to have some sort of automount facility already before starting this. At least, when I took the SD card out or put it in, it automatically mounted it. I tried installing X/QT without Meanies automounter, thinking this other one might work. No. Then I tried installing automounter. Now I don't know which is working, but I still don't get the cramfs automatically mounted, my guess is automounter still is not working (if I type "automounter" it says "command not found"). I have to do the mount manually (e.g. after boot) to get it up. No swap either.

*you do not need automounter with cacko, I am running the squashfs just fine

2) Not sure what the swap situation for X/Qt is supposed to be on a C1000 anyway. My sd card is 256MB...

*at least a 64mb swap would be recommended

3) I get lots of error messages on boot. First is "cramfs: wrong magic" and then "FAT: bogus logical sector size 381". Then a whole pile of complaints like:

pxa_sd_wait_id_response: responce time out (cmd=01 MMC_STAT=0x2142)

*this has always been there, just it was covered by the "Sharp" logo

4) I neglected to do a "tee" or whatever one does to capture the output when running xqt-install.sh; is there any log lying around to look at?

*I dont think so, havent looked at the script extensively

5) Oh, I unzipped these packages on my windoze box, where I had downloaded them; was that a mistake? I noticed the script handled unzipping. I guess I needed to unzip the script if nothing else.

*yup
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cresho
post Mar 29 2006, 12:57 AM
Post #3





Group: Moderators
Posts: 1,619
Joined: 29-October 03
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 809



its easy. took me a while to get the right combination together. perhaps i can post something here to help.

some of my notes.

install
----------------------------------------
automounter-c3000_0.4.5_arm.ipk
sudo_0.1_arm.ipk
zlib_1.2.3-1_arm.ipk
qconsole(disable magnifyby holding down with stylus and removing check)

placed all crams images in /mnt/card/QtPalmtop/xqt
then
su
cd /mnt/card/QtPalmtop/xqt
then
./xqt-install.sh

fn stylus right click.....
menu and hit fullscreen for fullscreen

unmount before backing up or restoring
mount

always su before
su


to stop processess before backup, do this
/etc/rc.d/init.d/mntloop stop
and then you can backup.
to start up processess
/etc/rc.d/init.d/mntloop start
use mount to see the mounted stuff.
reboot when necessery cuz it leaves a bunch of
virtual drives in the file manager or you can try and unmount

if you need to eject the sd card, su then /etc/rc.d/init.d/mntloop stop then
umount /mnt/card
to remount if you did not reboot, mount /mnt/card
type mount for status of mounted files.

cd /mnt/card/QtPalmtop/xqt is the location where i have it stored.

if you are having issues with memory running out, i also have a solution for that.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Mar 29 2006, 06:28 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



It took me awhile, but I got the xqt-gtk-jumbo.cramfs and xqt-apps.cramfs setup on a SD card and the install went smoothly.
I installed it on a ext2 formatted SD card. This was a week½ ago.
(My main reason for posting this is about the automounter).

I won't go into all the details here, but I figured out that I didn't need sudo because I use Cacko.
I did install the automounter and have zlib installed for other reasons.
I had most of the apps running with no problems but they run slowly.
My concern is that my Qtopia desktop seemed to run slower.
What I mean is the applications installed in Cacko, ran slower.
So I uninstalled the whole thing, (xqt-gtk-jumbo and xqt-apps), using the GUI uninstaller.
I started having problems immediatly after I uninstalled automounter-c3000_0.4.5
I rebooted completely, and got an error message about needing to use fsck on the ext3 partition because of too many mount points.
(I don't remember the exact error message, this was over a week ago, and I didn't use fsck on the ext3 partition).
Also when rebooting, the Cacko background was gone. It booted from a black screen straight to the desktop.
Another problem I noticed just after uninstalling the automounter is,
My external USB hard drive was no longer mounted by Cacko like it should be, when I plugged it in.
I've since reflashed Cacko Lite and restored a known clean backup of my Qtopia backup/restore file, and my Cacko apps and desktop is snappier/quicker.
I hope nobody that reads this thinks I'm complaining,
and I think Meanie's setups and configurations are a great contribution to the Zaurus community.
The Xqt setup just isn't for me at the moment.
I really liked having access to Gimp and pdaXrom apps, that seem to NOT be available under Cacko, but the slowdown caused me to uninstall everything.

Jon
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PaulBx1
post Mar 29 2006, 08:02 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 26-February 06
Member No.: 9,234



QUOTE
I started having problems immediatly after I uninstalled automounter-c3000_0.4.5
...
Another problem I noticed just after uninstalling the automounter is,
My external USB hard drive was no longer mounted by Cacko like it should be, when I plugged it in.

This was what had me worried, that automounter would somehow interfere with the native Cacko automount facility, or they would trip over each other. Looks like that's the case. Glad I have a backup...

BTW, I don't notice my Cacko stuff running any slower so far. Jon-J, note Meanie's warning about uninstalling X/Qt on this page (in a section that is for some reason separate from his other notes about installing X/Qt):
QUOTE
Installing X/Qt

This can be a quite simple and straightforward task or a messy and frustrating experience. If you are lucky, everything just installs and you got X/Qt up and running in no time at all. However, if you are unlucky, then troubleshooting a broken installation can be a challenging and frustrating process. I've sucessfully installed the latest version of X/QT, but I have noticed that some X/Qt packages do not uninstall cleanly and will confuse reinstalls or other packages that have dependancies on them.

http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/custom.html#essential

I don't know if the warning also applies to the Jumbo-packaged X/Qt.


QUOTE
*you do not need automounter with cacko, I am running the squashfs just fine

bam, I decided to put it in because the cramfs was not being mounted by the Cacko automount facility in my case. Seeing the troubles Jon-J ran into with automounter, maybe I should have tried working with Cacko's first! dry.gif

BTW Cresho, you might modify your notes that sudo and automounter are not required or maybe even not recommended with Cacko users. At least at the moment.

Looks like automounter is useful enough generally that it should be installed by the xqt-install script if it is not already there, and (optionally) cleaned up by the xqt-cleanup - after the snafu with Cacko is sorted out. Why? To make the X/Qt install more idiot-proof for noobs like me. smile.gif

Where does "automounter" get defined? I have the automounter scripts, but the definition apparently does not exist yet for me.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cresho
post Mar 29 2006, 08:21 AM
Post #6





Group: Moderators
Posts: 1,619
Joined: 29-October 03
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 809



thanks---i did not realize you ran cacko. I use sharprom. forgot to look at your sig.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Mar 29 2006, 04:46 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



automounter is version 0.4.7 already. the 0.4.5 version had a few small problems

basically, the automounter packages has two components:

1. usbstorage hotplug script

This script mounts USB storage devices when they are plugged in automatically. The stock Sharp ROM does not have this script so automounter delivers one. Cacko has this usbstorage script so USB storage devices are automatically detected and mounted in Cacko. The script in Cacko simply mounts the first partition of the plugged in disk. Most devices have a single primary partition and Cacko can mount those successfully. However, USB harddisks may have been partitoned with an extended partition. My usbstorage script attempts to mount both type of partitions. It can also automount USB Zip drives. In addition, my script assumes that there is the possibility of four USB harddrives being plugged in using a USB hub.


2. mntloop rc script

During boot up and shutdown, the mntloop rc script is called to mount and unmount loop devices such as cramfs, squashfs and ext2/ext3 images. By default, entries in /etc/fstab are mounted during boot, but since there are only 2 default loop devices, any additional images will fail to mount. mntloop will create additional loop devices and scan /etc/fstab to mount the remainning loop devices that have not been mounted yet. It will only look for loop devices with extensions of .cramfs, .squashfs, .ext2 and .ext3. In addition, it will also enable a swap file if it is called swapfile and located on either /hdd3, /mnt/card or /mnt/cf. It will also disable them before shutdown if they were enabled. On Sharp ROM, I also modified the sd and cf control scripts to enable/disable the swapfile when the card is inserted/ejected and it also automatically unmounts any loop devices mounted on the card. It does not do this on Cacko. There is also a symlink to mntloop called automounter. And finally, the mntloop script also mounts hdd4 if it exist.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PaulBx1
post Mar 30 2006, 11:45 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 26-February 06
Member No.: 9,234



Hi Meanie. I have the 0.4.6 automounter. The cramfs is listed in my /etc/fstab.

My sd card is FAT formatted, that's not an issue, when I install off it, is it? Or when I put a swap file on it?

I found the mntloop script in /etc/rc.d/init.d. I didn't find the usbstorage script; it's weird, the Cacko file search application doesn't seem to reliably find things I know are there. Where would that be located?

Can you tell me where the automounter link should be located? Maybe I need to remove automounter and re-install it, but I'm nervous about that after all the problems Jon_J ran into. Should I need to remove it, or can I just reinstall again on top of what's there?

It's funny, I was trying to get more info about the automounter package, and did "ipkg files" etc. and got nothing from that. When I tried "ipkg depends", it complained: "ipkg_depends: ERROR: Package name automounter-c3000_0.4.6_arm.ipk contains illegal characters (should be [a-zA-Z0-9.+-])" Looks like it's complaining about the underscores, which are not unknown in file names. rolleyes.gif

QUOTE
On Sharp ROM, I also modified the sd and cf control scripts to enable/disable the swapfile when the card is inserted/ejected and it also automatically unmounts any loop devices mounted on the card. It does not do this on Cacko.


Do you mean, it does not need to do this on Cacko, because Cacko handles it already? Or do you mean we have to get in and modify the sd and cf scripts ourself to handle this? If so, where are they, and do you have any hints how to?

On another issue, do I need zlib, or is that only for sharp rom users? I don't know how to tell if Cacko has it or not. I got a copy from here to use if I need it, hope that's a good place to get it:
http://club.h14m.org/kenji/zaurus/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd September 2014 - 10:21 PM