OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> 2.6 Kernel And Opie 3.5.4.1 Killed My Poodle, Poodle stops charging after 2.6 install
hakujin
post Aug 13 2006, 08:40 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 30-May 06
Member No.: 10,013



I was running Hentges 2.6 kernel and Opie 3.4.5.1 with a cardfs installed to my SD. After about 2 weeks my poodle has stopped charging. I put it in the cradle to charge the charge LED comes on and then goes right back out. If I reset my Z it gets all the way up until it displays the Opie desktop and then the screen goes blank and it will not turn on anymore. I tried to reflash with the same image and the flash went fine but the same issue cropped up right away. About 4 days ago it started just going dead. I was in the middle of playing some MP3s using xmms and it would just cut out and die. I would hit the on button and it would come on but then would die right away again. I would plug it in to my car charger and then it would come on again and work for a while but today it would not come on at all. Funny thing is if I rebooted (reset) and then stopped Opie from loading and went to a command line it would stay on as long as I wanted.But if I let Opie start it would croak again. I thought it might be the battery but as a last resort I reflashed 3.5.4 with the 2.4 kernel and it is working fine. Anyone have any ideas? Should I forward this as a bug to the developers?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Aug 13 2006, 10:15 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(hakujin @ Aug 14 2006, 02:40 PM)
I was running Hentges 2.6 kernel and Opie 3.4.5.1 with a cardfs installed to my SD. After about 2 weeks my poodle has stopped charging. I put it in the cradle to charge the charge LED comes on and then goes right back out. If I reset my Z it gets all the way up until it displays the Opie desktop and then the screen goes blank and it will not turn on anymore. I tried to reflash with the same image and the flash went fine but the same issue cropped up right away. About 4 days ago it started just going dead. I was in the middle of playing some MP3s using xmms and it would just cut out and die. I would hit the on button and it would come on but then would die right away again. I would plug it in to my car charger and then it would come on again and work for a while but today it would not come on at all. Funny thing is if I rebooted (reset) and then stopped Opie from loading and went to a command line it would stay on as long as I wanted.But if I let Opie start it would croak again. I thought it might be the battery but as a last resort I reflashed 3.5.4 with the 2.4 kernel and it is working fine. Anyone have any ideas? Should I forward this as a bug to the developers?
*


maybe its a sign for you to ditch your Z and spend more time with your wife tongue.gif the Z might come back to live again once you spend sufficient time with your wife smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Aug 14 2006, 03:35 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



This may be a charging/battery reporting issue. Can you ssh in? If so, look at the battery percentage and voltages under /sys (don't have my Z with me atm I'm afraid) and see whether it actually appears to charge.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hakujin
post Aug 15 2006, 08:36 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 30-May 06
Member No.: 10,013



QUOTE(lardman @ Aug 14 2006, 04:35 AM)
This may be a charging/battery reporting issue. Can you ssh in? If so, look at the battery percentage and voltages under /sys (don't have my Z with me atm I'm afraid) and see whether it actually appears to charge.


Si
*

the only problem with that is that in order for me to ssh in I have to modprobe the g_ether module (I haven't figured out how to get it to load automatically yet, is it in modules.conf?) and I can't access the terminal. sad.gif I fit was a battery reporting issue would it still work under text mode log in? Also I reloaded 3.5.4 and it seems to work fine other than the fact that I can't seem to get any of the progs to install from the feed.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Aug 16 2006, 04:26 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Yes, text mode logon would work, or you could modprobe the g_ether module.

Sounds rather strange that it works when Opie's not running, does it charge okay, or does it just stay on if it's attached to mains power?


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hakujin
post Aug 16 2006, 12:47 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 30-May 06
Member No.: 10,013



QUOTE(lardman @ Aug 16 2006, 05:26 AM)
Yes, text mode logon would work, or you could modprobe the g_ether module.

Sounds rather strange that it works when Opie's not running, does it charge okay, or does it just stay on if it's attached to mains power?


Si
*

I am not sure if it is charging or not because the charge LED goes out. I think it must be because text mode works. But even if I have it connected to mains power If I let Opie load the screens went black and I would have to rest it to get any action out of it at all. The really weird thing is it didn't do this right away it started doing it after a while after I had loaded the 2.6 kernel.
And it didn't do it all at once it just shut off one time and wouldn't come back on until I plugged it in but then it worked fine for a couple of days and then it ultimately died and I had to reflash 2.4. I also noticed popping and skipping while playing back mp3s using xmms-smebedded. I just did a NAND restore wtih the 2.6 NAND back up from hentges. I then installed the 2.6 kernel again and this time I put GPE on it and it is working but I can't suspend it. It locks up if I try and then I have to reset it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hakujin
post Nov 5 2006, 10:28 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 30-May 06
Member No.: 10,013



I think I may have found out what the issue was. I surfed around various doc sites and apparently if you flash and then don't format the user data portion of the flash ram you get weird issues and eventually a broken install. I flashed sharp rom and haven't had the same problem ever since and I have been using the same battery since so it was not a battery or charger issue.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st April 2014 - 04:11 AM