OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Freeciv Questions
uMP2k
post Oct 2 2006, 07:15 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 79
Joined: 7-June 06
From: Perth - Sunny Oz
Member No.: 10,104



I have succesfully managed to get the older version of freeciv (1.14.2) running on my C1000 (thanks to anunakin for the port and the help with how to start a single player game) but so far have not been able to get the 2.1.0beta2 version to work.

After setting up a 16MB swapfile on my card (see discussion HERE for all the help I got with that smile.gif ) I can now start the civserver and the client when in matchbox/openbox but it still seems to run out of memory when I try to join the game I have started and freeciv either freezes or gets killed.

Just wondering if anybody has been able to run this successfully?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
desertrat
post Oct 2 2006, 10:16 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 742
Joined: 15-October 05
From: Gulag, Siberia
Member No.: 8,322



QUOTE(uMP2k @ Oct 3 2006, 03:15 AM)
Just wondering if anybody has been able to run this successfully?

Works fine (using 256MB swap wink.gif ) The graphics on v2 looks gorgeous.

I haven't seriously played a game yet, I just played a few turns putting my units into auto-explore mode.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
uMP2k
post Oct 2 2006, 10:42 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 79
Joined: 7-June 06
From: Perth - Sunny Oz
Member No.: 10,104



Okay - looks like it is time to increase the size of my swap file and see how things go!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
uMP2k
post Oct 3 2006, 06:28 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 79
Joined: 7-June 06
From: Perth - Sunny Oz
Member No.: 10,104



QUOTE(uMP2k @ Oct 3 2006, 04:42 PM)
Okay - looks like it is time to increase the size of my swap file and see how things go!
*


Success - well sort of.....

I have increased my swapfile to 96MB and am now able to run Freeciv, although it takes a very very very long time to start up!

The graphics and sounds in the new version are excellent - way better than in 1.14.2.

The only problem I am having now (apart from the time it takes to start a game) is keymapping within the game. I can move diagonally with the cursor pad but can not work out how to move in a straight line. In the older version keys 1,3,7 and 9 were mapped to move in straight lines, but I cannot work out how to do it in this version.

Any ideas?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
anunakin
post Oct 4 2006, 03:46 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 340
Joined: 22-August 04
From: Belem, Brasil
Member No.: 4,358



QUOTE(uMP2k @ Oct 4 2006, 02:28 AM)
QUOTE(uMP2k @ Oct 3 2006, 04:42 PM)
Okay - looks like it is time to increase the size of my swap file and see how things go!
*


Success - well sort of.....

I have increased my swapfile to 96MB and am now able to run Freeciv, although it takes a very very very long time to start up!

The graphics and sounds in the new version are excellent - way better than in 1.14.2.

The only problem I am having now (apart from the time it takes to start a game) is keymapping within the game. I can move diagonally with the cursor pad but can not work out how to move in a straight line. In the older version keys 1,3,7 and 9 were mapped to move in straight lines, but I cannot work out how to do it in this version.

Any ideas?
*



- I using a 128MB swap partition, remember this is a beta, is normal to a beta eat so much of RAM
- My Freeciv 2.1beta2 have a nice load time, about 5 seconds, but I using pdaXrom 1.1.0r121
- I go make a new package with Cxx00 CFLAGs.. and O3 and some insane CFLAGs
- When new official release goes up... (2.1.0 final release) I go work in a new key mapping for Zaurus, but for now not, use "G" and stylus for "GO" to any place
- I have played for 2 hours without any crash.

Really this new SDL interface is very rich and more fast then older GTK2 version, I have tried compiled SDL in old freeciv 1.14 and 2.0.8, but without sucess...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
uMP2k
post Oct 4 2006, 06:46 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 79
Joined: 7-June 06
From: Perth - Sunny Oz
Member No.: 10,104



Anunakin - I have now spent a couple of hours myself playing the beta release and can confirm that it is running fine without any crashes using a 96MB swap file on my SD Card.

The graphics really are pretty amazing and once the game is loaded it is no slower than the 1.14 version.

All I can say is "great work" and thanks for the help getting it going!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
anunakin
post Oct 4 2006, 07:52 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 340
Joined: 22-August 04
From: Belem, Brasil
Member No.: 4,358



QUOTE(uMP2k @ Oct 4 2006, 02:46 PM)
Anunakin - I have now spent a couple of hours myself playing the beta release and can confirm that it is running fine without any crashes using a 96MB swap file on my SD Card.

The graphics really are pretty amazing and once the game is loaded it is no slower than the 1.14 version.

All I can say is "great work" and thanks for the help getting it going!
*

I just compiled a Cxx00 version, this is more fast then generic, try it!
freeciv-cxx00_2.1.0-beta2_armv5tel.ipk

Flags used:
CFLAGS="-mtune=iwmmxt -march=iwmmxt -mcpu=iwmmxt -fsigned-char -O3 -pipe"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
raduga
post Oct 4 2006, 08:34 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 132
Joined: 2-March 04
Member No.: 2,125



QUOTE(anunakin @ Oct 4 2006, 03:46 AM)
[
- I using a 128MB swap partition, remember this is a beta, is normal to a beta eat so much of RAM
- My Freeciv 2.1beta2 have a nice load time, about 5 seconds, but I using pdaXrom 1.1.0r121
- I go make a new package with Cxx00 CFLAGs.. and O3 and some insane CFLAGs
- When new official release goes up... (2.1.0 final release) I go work in a new key mapping for Zaurus, but for now not, use "G" and stylus for "GO" to any place
- I have played for 2 hours without any crash.

Really this new SDL interface is very rich and more fast then older GTK2 version, I have tried compiled SDL in old freeciv 1.14 and 2.0.8, but without sucess...
*


I've been poking at key-mapping for some time-
I've ended up just patching the source.

What I use is:

map F1-F10 to number keys: 1-0
map u/d/l/r to N/S/E/W
map shift-up/shift-down/shift-left/shift-right to NW/SE/SW/NE

Not perfect, but it works pretty well.

Also, for a GUI game-startup (and other bits like civpedia)
its helpful to keep a copy of the GTK client handy-
its rather more awkward to actually play with, but still has lots of things
that havent been implemented in the SDL client yet.

After the next release, I'll be investigating one of two paths:
revisiting the 640x480 hack, to make the GTK client fit on zaurus screen
or implementing some of the missing features in SDL,
and also an "official" Zaurus keymap patch.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th December 2014 - 09:30 AM