OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> New 8gb Microdrive, Useable with Zaurii
gary
post Mar 20 2006, 04:50 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 1-March 06
From: Worcester, UK
Member No.: 9,255



I found this on amazon today: Seagate 8GB CF Microdrive

Is there any reason why it wouldn't work in my Zaurus CF slot? Feeling mighty tempted...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gary
post Mar 20 2006, 07:17 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 1-March 06
From: Worcester, UK
Member No.: 9,255



This post tells me that it will work, and that I can buy one cheaper from ebay biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DaemonsGR
post Mar 20 2006, 07:27 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 237
Joined: 28-December 05
Member No.: 8,801



http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16822147005

Do you think that this is OK with c3100? Its 105Euros after rebate.
(I have someone in US to buy it smile.gif )
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Mar 21 2006, 01:54 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



should work with no problems, after all it is only a CF slot, the c3k is harder scince you have to prep the drive so you can boot off it, preping for the c3100 is just a matter of partioning it up
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DaemonsGR
post Mar 21 2006, 03:40 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 237
Joined: 28-December 05
Member No.: 8,801



Maybe I said it wrong! I dont want to replace the 4g hd with the 6g one! I want to use 6gb on the CF connector as extra space! (the external CF)
Is this ok?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kurochka
post Mar 21 2006, 10:18 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 303
Joined: 6-February 04
Member No.: 1,740



QUOTE(DaemonsGR @ Mar 21 2006, 03:40 AM)
Maybe I said it wrong! I dont want to replace the 4g hd with the 6g one! I want to use 6gb on the CF connector as extra space! (the external CF)
Is this ok?
*


I think it would work. I have never heard that CF slots (either internal or external) on Zaurus have problems with large drives (unlike SD slot).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Mar 22 2006, 02:46 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



yep the 6gb or 8gb cards mentioned here have been reported as working by members on this fourm
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
0xDEADBEEF
post Apr 6 2006, 02:11 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 4-December 05
Member No.: 8,660



I just upgraded my C3100 to 8GB Seagate microdrive from Amazon. It works like charm. Seagate announced 12GB microdrives recently but I think only for embedded applications - only with TrueIDE mode.

I got burned once when I bought 8GB Memorex microdrive USB drive and tried to use the drive in Zaurus - it is crippled 8GB Seagate, TrueIDE only.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Apr 6 2006, 03:00 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 1,015
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Hi 0xDEADBEEF,

Was thinking about doing the same upgrade to my C3100....

Have you noticed any difference in battery usage or performance???

Was it difficult to swapout drives??

How did you prep the new 8GB MD?

Thanks,

Mark

QUOTE(0xDEADBEEF @ Apr 6 2006, 03:11 PM)
I just upgraded my C3100 to 8GB Seagate microdrive from Amazon. It works like charm. Seagate announced 12GB microdrives recently but I think only for embedded applications - only with TrueIDE mode.

I got burned once when I bought 8GB Memorex microdrive USB drive and tried to use the drive in Zaurus - it is crippled 8GB Seagate, TrueIDE only.
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
0xDEADBEEF
post Apr 6 2006, 04:37 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 4-December 05
Member No.: 8,660



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Apr 6 2006, 04:00 PM)
Hi 0xDEADBEEF,

Was thinking about doing the same upgrade to my C3100....

Have you noticed any difference in battery usage or performance???

Was it difficult to swapout drives??

How did you prep the new 8GB MD?


I did just couple hours ago. Performance seems to be about the same but i didnt perform any tests. The power specs for the drive are about the same as Hitachi MD so I wouldnt worry about battery either.

As for the preparation. I already had my original HDD repartitioned (128MB swap on partition 2 and the rest for ext2 on partition 1) so I did the same on new HDD, mkswap, mke2fs, mount and then
cd /mnt/ide
cp -a bin etc home usr tmp and whatever /mnt/cf
and thats it

Replacing the drive involves

- shutdown -h now
- unplug power
- remove the battery, cf and sd cards, stylus
- unscrew 6 screws on the back (one is covered by stylus!)
- remove the back cover
- be careful with battery compartment lock, it can fall of the back cover so place it back where it belongs
- unscrew 4 screws with -> arrows from the mobo
- remove sync port cover
- remove motherboard, be careful here there are two flex connectors going to keyboard and display, either disconnect them or manipulate the board with them and top half of zaurus attached
- on the other side of the board unscrew 2 screws and remove sd card reader
- remove plastic bracket that holds the microdrive (2 clips on each side of the board)
- remove old microdrive
- insert new microdrive (add foam pads like on original drive or something for shock protection, i used 5 layers or isolation tape, be careful not to cover the vent on the back of the drive)

- and now do everything in reverse order ;-)

thats it
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Apr 6 2006, 05:39 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 1,015
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Gee, 0xDEADBEEF, that sounds simple enough.... blink.gif

Thanks for such a detailed informative reply!

Tempting to be brave and try it.....

wink.gif

Mark


QUOTE(0xDEADBEEF @ Apr 6 2006, 05:37 PM)
QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Apr 6 2006, 04:00 PM)
Hi 0xDEADBEEF,

Was thinking about doing the same upgrade to my C3100....

Have you noticed any difference in battery usage or performance???

Was it difficult to swapout drives??

How did you prep the new 8GB MD?


I did just couple hours ago. Performance seems to be about the same but i didnt perform any tests. The power specs for the drive are about the same as Hitachi MD so I wouldnt worry about battery either.

As for the preparation. I already had my original HDD repartitioned (128MB swap on partition 2 and the rest for ext2 on partition 1) so I did the same on new HDD, mkswap, mke2fs, mount and then
cd /mnt/ide
cp -a bin etc home usr tmp and whatever /mnt/cf
and thats it

Replacing the drive involves

- shutdown -h now
- unplug power
- remove the battery, cf and sd cards, stylus
- unscrew 6 screws on the back (one is covered by stylus!)
- remove the back cover
- be careful with battery compartment lock, it can fall of the back cover so place it back where it belongs
- unscrew 4 screws with -> arrows from the mobo
- remove sync port cover
- remove motherboard, be careful here there are two flex connectors going to keyboard and display, either disconnect them or manipulate the board with them and top half of zaurus attached
- on the other side of the board unscrew 2 screws and remove sd card reader
- remove plastic bracket that holds the microdrive (2 clips on each side of the board)
- remove old microdrive
- insert new microdrive (add foam pads like on original drive or something for shock protection, i used 5 layers or isolation tape, be careful not to cover the vent on the back of the drive)

- and now do everything in reverse order ;-)

thats it
*

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
InSearchOf
post Apr 6 2006, 06:03 PM
Post #12





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,209
Joined: 20-January 06
From: York, Pennsylvania
Member No.: 8,961



ArchiMark, We told you to get the SD card! LOL

j/k


0xDEADBEEF, Good to see your install went fine... So you say the power specs are about the same on both... I knew there was a difference but I didnt know how much... Do you remember them off hand?

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Apr 6 2006, 06:06 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 1,015
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



I was being somewhat facetious, InSearchOf.....

wink.gif

Mark

QUOTE(InSearchOf @ Apr 6 2006, 07:03 PM)
ArchiMark, We told you to get the SD card! LOL

j/k

*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th July 2014 - 11:52 AM