OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> DIY RAM upgrade on C700, soldering iron job
edwinbradford
post Aug 25 2004, 02:13 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 25-July 04
Member No.: 4,099



Having used my C700 for a while now and had to switch between twin evils of Swap file problems and out of memory messages I'm prepared to have a go at physically upgrading the RAM memory. I've soldered two games consoles with microscopic solders so I know what's involved and the risks but I'm up to the challenge and I've got the equipment.

I can't find much about it online but I know that it can be done because PocketPC Tech in the US offer the service but unfortunately being in the UK they charge the same cost again for postage and it's just not viable, hey for that much I could just buy a used later model.

Can anyone put me in touch with someone that's done it or any online info? I think there are a couple of guys here who've tried it and got it working: Brendan I've emailed and Yamaken I can't find contact details for? Anyone else?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zbones
post Aug 26 2004, 12:40 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 459
Joined: 9-December 03
From: Leeds, England
Member No.: 1,114



I did see a japanese page telling you how to do this, loads of pictures etc.

I have tried for the past 30 mins to find it again for you, but I can't.

Not much help, but it is possible.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
edwinbradford
post Aug 26 2004, 01:10 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 25-July 04
Member No.: 4,099



Thanks for trying, I think the one you're looking for is linked to from http://tuxmobil.org/disassembly_pda.html It's not possible for some reason to convert the language easily online but I did a cut and paste into an online translator and it seems to be a lot of information about dissassembly but I don't think much on RAM replacement. Another thing I'll try doing is emailing or even ringing PocketPC Tech, maybe they're nice people and they'll offer advice.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zbones
post Aug 26 2004, 10:48 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 459
Joined: 9-December 03
From: Leeds, England
Member No.: 1,114



That wasn't the one I found before.

The guy had also upgraded the cpu to a pxa255 from the 250.

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
edwinbradford
post Aug 26 2004, 11:28 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 25-July 04
Member No.: 4,099



Now that's interesting, I thought I'd searched pretty much everywhere, I guess being in Japanese I could have missed it or just not seen it. I'll try a google myself...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zbones
post Aug 26 2004, 11:43 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 459
Joined: 9-December 03
From: Leeds, England
Member No.: 1,114



translated through excite

No translation


and the cpu swap I mentioned earlier

translated by excite

no translation


It does seem to be all there, and very very detailed, including the info to change the kernel and other settings so it will actually use the extra ram.

The question now is with a pidgeon-english translation, are you brave enough?
I know I wouldn't have the balls to attempt it
blink.gif

I will give you a tip though, I think a "tip" is a "chip", but then again I could be wrong.

Good Luck, and don't blame me if you reduce your Z to a pile of smouldering stuff.

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
edwinbradford
post Aug 26 2004, 01:38 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 25-July 04
Member No.: 4,099



Wow. Did you look at how complicated that is? I've soldered points on my games consoles that are only visible with a magnifying glass but THIS is unbelievable and as you say the pigeon English makes it even worse. "No way Hosé" comes to mind, I was going to be brave and give it a go but even if I could understand completely what's going on I think it's just beyond me. Still, very interesting and thanks a bundle for the link.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zbones
post Aug 26 2004, 02:20 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 459
Joined: 9-December 03
From: Leeds, England
Member No.: 1,114



QUOTE(edwinbradford @ Aug 26 2004, 09:38 PM)
I was going to be brave and give it a go but even if I could understand completely what's going on I think it's just beyond me.

If my ram chip died, or perhaps it was an upgrade of a c760 to 1gb ram then I may be tempted biggrin.gif

But he does take his 700 up to 128mb ram, double that of the c760/c860.

You have got to have total respect for the guy!!

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Aug 27 2004, 03:04 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Not directly related but someone upgraded the RAM on his 5000D (it might have been an iPAQ though). This is somewhere on the devnet with photos etc.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
technojunkie
post Sep 12 2004, 11:17 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 172
Joined: 11-September 04
Member No.: 4,547



WOW that would be cool if I owned a 760. But seeing as how I don't I am looking for info on upgrading my 5500 anybody run across info to do that?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
edwinbradford
post Sep 23 2004, 02:11 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 25-July 04
Member No.: 4,099



A very nice man sent me this link which I'm adding for completeness sake. Amazing. http://www.excite.co.jp/world/english/web/..._co=excitejapan

If anybody ever does it I'd like to hear from you. Good luck.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2014 - 03:05 AM